We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family atmosphere and very clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean City Boardwalk

Ocean City Boardwalk
Ocean City, NJ 08226
609-399-1412
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 29 Activities in Ocean City
Type: Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With its quaint storefronts, amusement rides and Music Pier, Ocean City is everything you'd expect from the real Jersey shore. This family-friendly town boasts a two-mile boardwalk dotted with amusements, pizza parlors, and seaside stores.
Forked River, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great family atmosphere and very clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I really liked the cleanliness and newness of many of the businesses on the boardwalk. It is clearly a very family friendly place. There was a lot of duplication of businesses though. Several mini golf locations, multiple Kohrs custard shops, and many of the same types of places. Not much variety. Not as many games as the Seaside or Pt. Pleasant boardwalks. Parking is expensive ($1.50 for an hour). The beach is wide and spacious, but the sand is a darker color than beaches in central jersey. I wonder why?

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    152
    35
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Under the boardwalk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I grew up going to Ocean City. To us there is no other ! There is great food. Plenty to do and plenty to see. Ride the giant ferris wheel at Gillians. See the whole island from way up! Eat Fudge and Johnson's popcorn. Forget your woes!!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
538 reviews 538 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
“Americana”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is pure Americana. A boardwalk, the sun, the sand, carnival games, fast food and rides. It's great to walk on a warm summer night. This is true American boardwalk.
It's a little tacky, a little beat up and the food is really bad. The rides are not Disneyland or any other first rate amusement park, they are pure B list carnival rides.
You have the beach, the Atlantic Ocean and lots and lots of people. If you are at the shore, you have to do it - grab a piece of pizza from Manco & Manco, do a ride or two, have fun. This is the Jersey Shore.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were there before the tourist season began so not everything was open, and you really couldn't swim in the ocean. But we enjoyed strolling up and down the boardwalk enjoying the view, the fresh air, nice people, and some wonderful cafes and shops.
By happenstance, we were able to see the Doo-Dah parade; a very nice, though offbeat event.
We intend to go back when the weather warms! again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Vacation in 30 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Clean, friendly, incredibly clean beach and bathroom facilities, lots of food/amusement/shopping options, just the best place at the shore we have ever enjoyed!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean City Boardwalk also viewed

Ocean City, Jersey Shore
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Ocean City Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean City Boardwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.