We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family place to bring your young kids and Teenagers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean City Boardwalk

Ocean City Boardwalk
Ocean City, NJ 08226
609-399-1412
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With its quaint storefronts, amusement rides and Music Pier, Ocean City is everything you'd expect from the real Jersey shore. This family-friendly town boasts a two-mile boardwalk dotted with amusements, pizza parlors, and seaside stores.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Family place to bring your young kids and Teenagers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have been staying in Ocean City, NJ for about 29 years. It is the best NJ Family beach/boardwalk to bring your young Children/teenagers. The entire town of Ocean City is "DRY" No liquor stores or bars are on the boardwalk or town, which is fine, because there are NO bad crowds/drunks hanging out on the boardwalk. It is a Very safe town. we let our teenagers go up to the boardwalk by themselves, there are a lot of teens that go to the boardwalk and they are very nice kids. There are two huge liquor stores on your way into Ocean City, so we stock up on our way into Ocean City.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    153
    35
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“You just can't beat the Jersey Shore!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We've rented family homes every summer in Ocean City. Typically we bring teens as well as my Elementary age kids. OCNJ has it all. We love the beaches and the boardwalk is the best. It DOES get very crowded but if you aren't in a hurry it's a gret place to shop & people-watch!

Visited July 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading PA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Been going here since I was 5, a great Jewel by the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

If you are looking for a great place to take your kids, you have found it. I've been going here with my Parents/Grandparents since I was 5 years old. This is a dry town so it keeps the troublemakers off the boardwalk. Get a bite to eat or ride the rides, plenty to do on the boardwalk. Tip- if you know you are spending a week in OCNJ, you can get 1/2 price tickets at Christmas time and Easter for the rides, some online, some in person.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Simply charming!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

While passing through Ocean City on our way to Cape May, we decided to take a stroll along the boardwalk. What a surprise to find ourselves thrown back in time. The miniature golf and amusement rides were from a bygone era and the locally made treats were just as you remembered from your childhood. And everything was decorated for fall with mums and cornstalks. We can't wait to come back next summer to enjoy the beach!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“No fun in Ocean CIty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Well I will start by saying I had a terrible time at your beach this weekend! I went with a group including my two daughters, my grandson, my girlfriend and her two kids. We planned on spending the day in the water and then hitting the boardwalks and dining. Within minutes of entering the water, I was told that boogie boards are not allowed. That is the first beach I ever heard of this rule. Silly as it sounded, I proceeded to put the board away and swim…again the whistle blows and I am told that we can’t swim except within the green flagged area that was completely packed with people. So here is 1,000 feet of area for the 3 surfers in the water and a 100 foot section for the 500 swimmers in the water. I again listened and took the kids to the designated area…we had fun for about 10 minutes before the whistle blew again and I was told that after 5:30PM, we could only swim up to our knees…hardly fun for a guy of my age, never mind that my daughter pointed out it was only 5:00PM when everyone was called in. After deciding that this was the absolute worst beach I have ever visited, we left. On the way out I washed off and headed to the rest room to change back into clean dry clothes, only to be told “No changing in the rest room”!

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean City Boardwalk also viewed

 
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Ocean City Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean City Boardwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.