We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean City's Island Grill Seafood & Steak House
Corner of 1st. & Atlantic Ave., 100 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226
+1 609-391-9616
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 184 Restaurants in Ocean City
Price range: $5 - $39
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Florham Park, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ok not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I had the buffalo steak. Very gristly. Vegetables over done. Chowder too thick. Husband had fried seafood platter that had generous portions but was overlooked. Probably won't go back based on this meal and price of food. Server was very pleasant and offered to take steak back, but had waited so long for meal I didn't want to wait any longer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    18
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Has run its course.......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had a pretty lousy meal last year, but have been going every year for a long time...we went back. My wife's blackened salmon was obviously frozen, lettuce was brown on the edges...she refused to send it back and just let it sit there. My brisket was fatty and the BBQ. Sauce was strange. My daughters chicken fingers were good. Service was good but I think the food has run its course...a couple we walked with to the boardwalk said their lobsters were terrible and overcooked. It's a shame this place used to be a "hard to get in". I thinks it's run it's course and we won't be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Neck, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OK Flies Win.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We ate here during restaurant week this past June. Its located in Ocean's city north end away from the hustle and noise of the boardwalk area. There is both inside and outside seating and on a picture perfect night we had a seven PM table waiting for us.We were seated and it was a few minutes before any wait staff came over to us.We were seated directly across from a bus boys station but took no notice of it.To make a long story short we could not enjoy our meals because of the many flies that were constantly buzzing around our table when our food started coming. They were on top of us and even in our food,it was impossible to eat.I even killed a couple to no avail.I said something to the waitress she seem to know of the problem but made no effort to move us to another table or inside. To make matters worse my wife ordered a shrimp gumbo dish that was not what she expected money wasted there. Finally we asked to be seated indoors, we were seated by the door and believe it or not the flies followed us in.Friends of ours said we should have gotten up and walked out period.It seems like a nice place and the waitress was an older women who was friendly and the setting is nice but watch those bugs.Flies hang out near garbage so watch out were your seated.The place is open for breakfast so maybe you have better luck in the early morning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Decent Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

It's tough to rate, as I think it deserves more than a 3, but not quite a 4.

Had the lobster bisque which was tasty but lacked lobster.
Had the mussels red, which tasted nice and fresh, but the sauce was a bit flat
Wife had the stuffed flounder which was good
I had the Elk Steak - ordered mid-rare per the 'chef's request' but it came out a cross between well on one end and mid on the other, so one end was kinda chewy, and the other good.

Prices were a little high, but with no alcohol in OC, I'm sure that plays a part. Service was very friendly, but also the food was coming out too quickly (all over the place, not just us)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We make sure to hit this place every year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

8 summers in OCNJ & we always eat at the Island Grill! Great food, excellent with kids. Only downside is parking. If you can, walk... Then you can walk off your great meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean City's Island Grill Seafood & Steak House also viewed

Ocean City, Jersey Shore
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
 
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Ocean City's Island Grill Seafood & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean City's Island Grill Seafood & Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.