We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brown's on the Boardwalk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brown's Restaurant

Brown's Restaurant
Boardwalk & St Charles Place, Ocean City, NJ 08226-4227
609 3910677
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 136 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Restaurant details
Zionsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brown's on the Boardwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great place to have breakfast. Very friendly owners. You can see the ocean while you eat and oh don't forget to finish with a freshly made to order donut!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    6
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Everything was yummy, but the doughnuts are the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Brown's doughnuts are not to be beat! They are served so hot you have to wait for them to cool off! The rest my my breakfast year was very enjoyable as well. I could just see the ocean from our table and there are lots of windows to enjoy the sea breezes. Just be aware that unless it is a really off day or you get their super early, that you will have to wait. Totally worth the wait though.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooversville, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Donuts rule”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've never actually eaten a meal here, but I gained 3 pounds during our vacation week eating their hot cinnamon sugar donuts EVERY morning. I should have stopped with one, but you really have to eat two when they are hot and crispy right out of the fryer. Sigh ... heaven!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I ate here for breakfast one morning. We had the waffles and omelet and thought they were both very good. However, we ate at the OC Surf Cafe the next morning and thought that they (OC) were cheaper and had better food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“And I don't usually eat donuts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

While on a short getaway to Ocean City, my granddaughter & I walked on the beach early the first morning and came upon Brown's. I needed coffee, and she saw the word "donuts." Although I didn't order a donut the first day, I took a bite of hers (cinnamon-sugar) and was sold. The next two early mornings we were there at the window to buy my coffee and OUR donuts. The staff was a jolly, joking bunch. My only negative: the coffee was kinda weak.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown's Restaurant also viewed

Ocean City, Jersey Shore
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
 
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Brown's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.