We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EARLY BIRD OR AFTER 8” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spadafora's Down East Restaurant

Spadafora's Down East Restaurant
9th & Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226
609 398 6154
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 184 Restaurants in Ocean City
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“EARLY BIRD OR AFTER 8”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Specials are worth the buck but get there early cause they do run out of items especially on the weekends.
Like most restaurants at the shore you get better treatment if you are a local or repeat customer.
Small place a few tables outside ( not to comfy on hot & humid eves) tight fit no matter where you sit.
Soups and appys always very good.
Limited menu but enough choices as long as you don't' expect a 5 star dining experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    47
    18
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Food was good but small place to eat.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Was disappointed by the place itself. We should have eaten out on the porch. The tables inside were smashed together like sardines in a can. The A/C unit was right over our table and was dripping water down onto our table and onto one of the people in our party. Would not go here again. We would opt for their take out at their seafood market at 932 Haven Ave.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“clams only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We went for clams only - steamed and on the half shell. Nicely served, tasty, good service and nice atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really Deep fried...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our family went to Spadaforas after reading some glowing reviews. The food was Meh, the service slow, and the experience generally disappointing. My fried oysters were done in a thick breadcrumb coating, and oddly flattened. The coating was so dark, thick, and heavily crunchy that the oyster flavor was lost entirely. Next time we'll go somewhere else for our big seafood night out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious, fair priced, fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had clams and the flounder roll up. Absolutely delicious. The flounder was so fresh, I swear I could still taste the salt water in it. There was definitely enough butter, and it did not kill or cover the taste. We will make this a staple at every OCNJ trip!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spadafora's Down East Restaurant also viewed

Ocean City, Jersey Shore
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
 
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Spadafora's Down East Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spadafora's Down East Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.