We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Island Grill
100 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, NJ
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 136 Restaurants in Ocean City
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Ocean City is a dry town so there not many places with quality food. This little gem offers seafood and an extensive game menu. I am not much for sea food but my wife is and she loved her meal. They should warn you about the shrimp cocktail appetizer as it can easily serve two or three people. The first time we went this summer I couldn't finish it. There were about 16 shrimp! I had antelope fillet with caramelized onions that was to die for. On our next visit, I had the ribs--they were excellent.
My wife had shrimp and grits and loved it. I sampled it and it was delicious. The ambience is decent and there is al fresco dining. It's not cheap but it definitely worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We like island grill because they accept reservations and can always accommodate our bigger group. They have good seafood selections. The service is not the quickest.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food Good, Some Unusual Offerings....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We ate at this restaurant on Friday, July 18th. The place was crowded with about 20 people waiting for tables, but the wait was not too long and if it is a nice night, you can wait outside. We shared an appetizer of clams, that was very good, fresh and tasty. Salads came next, greens were crisp with fresh Jersey tomatoes! We each had a different entree; fried shrimp, lobster tail and salmon. All entrees were enjoyed, however, we had to track down our waitress after our food was delivered because we had not been given cocktail sauce for the shrimp or melted butter for the lobster. None of us had the courage to try it but on the night we were there they had gator, bison, emu and many other unusual choices. I would definately go back but would try to go at a time that was not quite so busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty food and plenty of it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Excellent swordfish with mango salsa. Family also enjoyed the Baja fish tacos, brisket, and crab cakes. Nice portions with salad (try the mango Caribbean dressing) and sides.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Busy because they are good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We ate there last summer and this summer and both times we all had very good meals. I would definitely return again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Grill also viewed

Ocean City, Jersey Shore
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
 
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.