We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny B Goode Ice Cream Parlors

Johnny B Goode Ice Cream Parlors
3339 West Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226
609-525-0648
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 184 Restaurants in Ocean City
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Hamburgers, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We enjoyed the nightly entertainment. It was a nice touch while relaxing with an ice cream. The prices were reasonable as far as ice cream parlors go, and there was a really good selection to ice cream treats.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cute Looking Place, Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The perpetual line outside this place is not an indication that the ice cream is worth the wait -- it's simply the result of the slowest service you can possibly imagine. Never in my life have I seen a walk-up window staffed by one person who takes one order at a time, closes the window, disappears for minutes, returns to take the next person's order, closes the window, etc. The first members of each group literally finish their ice cream before the last one even gets served and the bill gets totaled. I ordered a single scoop of vanilla with hot fudge, and the girl gave me soft serve instead of ice cream. At that point, I took it anyway so we could escape and ended up throwing it out because it wasn't nearly as good as DQ. My brother's order was also incorrect. We will never return. With so many ice cream parlors in town, I can only guess that this one survives off of the first-time fools.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Old school charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Selection is awesome at this typical ice cream shop. Somewhat pricey and inconsistent at that. Placed identical orders on two different nights and was charged differently each time. They have nightly activities if you want something to do other than the rides.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cool throwback ice cream joint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Tons of great flavors including several homemade options. They make a great malt shake and there's a coffee shop attached for other choices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fun Ice Cream Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Take the kids. Take a walk and have ice cream outside. Clean and fun. Good ice cream combinations. Banana Split, awesome!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny B Goode Ice Cream Parlors also viewed

 
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Johnny B Goode Ice Cream Parlors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny B Goode Ice Cream Parlors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.