We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Columbus Weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Dunes Inn

Save Saved
You added Wild Dunes Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wild Dunes Inn
801 10th Street, Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MID WEEK PACKAGE
Ranked #9 of 34 hotels in Ocean City
Philadelphia Suburbs
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Columbus Weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Wild Dunes is a nice place to stay. The rooms are clean and not bad, although they are dated. We stayed from 10/5 - 10/8 2012. Overall the pro's are that each room has a refrigerator, microwave, stove and dishwasher. The building is secure as you need a swipe card to get into it. Con's - parking under the building is tight and touch to get in/out of. The rooms are nice, but outdated. This motel is also owned by the Impala Island Inn. One thing is they seem to take pride in their properties. The maid service was excellent and the rooms were clean. The morning we were leaving a few of the maintenance men were taking new mattresses into the building and taking old ones out. Bottom line is it is not bad and right next to Castaway Cove and right next to the boardwalk.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the Wild Dunes Inn this past weekend. The room was dated in decor but very clean. There were plenty of clean big towels and the bed was comfortable. This room also had a full mini kitchen- frig, 2 burner cook top, dishwasher, microwave, and coffee maker. The little kitchen was also stocked with cookware, dinner ware, silverware- that was a nice surprise. This room was just steps from the boardwalk. Very convenient. My biggest complaint was that during the night the refrigerator started making this very loud tapping sound and continued to do this all thru the night. I would have unplugged it but we had food in there. And there was some service issues with the elevator. That was not an issue for my husband and I, but I did see a couple on the 3rd floor where we were that had a scooter. I'm sure it was an issue for them. Overall- my husband and I would stay here again for an extended weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

WDI is right behind the boardwalk and right across from the rides - this is GREAT if you have kids with you! Rooms are very clean and beds are comfy. Kitchenette is a plus for breakfast and lunches! There are 2 pools - you can swim in either/or. Employees were very friendly and helpful. We've stayed before and we will be staying again in the future. Even though the rooms are right across from the rides, the rooms are quiet.....you CAN NOT hear all of the music and noise. Great place - HIGHLY recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaabarlow, Manager at Wild Dunes Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are so pleased that you had a great stay. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We booked last minute and checked in on Monday, out on Thursday. The proximity to the boardwalk was extremely convenient. We liked being able to run back to the room for forgotten items or to use the restroom. The room was clean, appliances and kitchen items appeared to be new although the room did show signs of some wear and tear. The kitchen had everything that you would need to prepare simple meals. The boys slept on the pull out sofa and we heard no complaints. The king size bed in the master bedroom was ok. Not the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on, but it wasn't horrible. Laundry on the 3rd floor near elevators. $1.75 per wash $1.00 per dry. Nice to have easy access to laundry at the beach. The cleaning staff was pleasant & accommodating. Parking was tight as mentioned in a previous post, but we didn't have any major issues. The positives: it was clean and very close to the boardwalk. The negatives: the pool area and shower/ changing room at the Impala (across the street, shared pool) were just really disgusting. Not what I would expect paying $285 per night. If you have small children, want to be close to the beach, don't care about using a pool and want a clean hotel, this is a good bet.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Before booking our "mini-vacation" I read reviews of every hotel in OCNJ. We knew finding a decent hotel would be a challenge since we were only able to get away Fri-Sun and most hotels/motels require 3-night minimum for peak-season stays. We were grateful to discover that the Wild Dunes Inn was able to accomodate us for just the two nights although after reading some reviews I was afraid of what we would find when we actually got there!

I was pleasantly surprised!! We arrived in OCNJ around 12:30pm and figured we would stop by the reception desk (located at the Imapala on the corner) just to see if our room was ready and then figured we would just kill some time on the boardwalk for a couple hours if our room wasn't ready. The family in front of us was rather rude and disgruntled that their room wasn't ready - but hey, they clearly tell you check-in is at 2:30pm!!! So we weren't holding our breath that we would be able to check-in right away - we were wrong...our room WAS ready!! Yay!!

We had grabbed a parking spot in the Wild Dunes parking garage - yes, parking is tight! And when we opened the back gate of our SUV we had to be careful because it wouldn't raise all the way up without slamming into the ceiling of the garage! But the were plenty of spaces at that time to pick one we liked. Later in the day all spots were taken and we decided then and there that our car wasn't moving until we left!!!

Our room was on the third floor (1st floor is the parking garage, 2nd & 3rd are rooms) and there is an elevator that helps if carrying a lot of luggage. You need to use your room key to access the elevator which is a nice security feature. Our room was very nice. I really like that the bedroom is separate from the "living area" of the room. I am an early riser and could go out to make coffee, watch the news and use my laptop without distrubing my sleeping husband.

The linens were clean, the bathroom was clean, the shower had HOT water and clean towels. The AC worked very well, almost too well!! The bed was very comfortable. But sitting on the couch in the living area was like sitting on a stone...very hard and the fabric was, well...plastic???

The only aspect of the hotel we weren't fond of was the "balcony"...this isn't actually a balcony - it is the hallway to get to all the rooms. There are simply white plastic chairs outside of each room - which our neighbors stole ours most of the time!! And if you are sitting on your "balcony" everyone has to climb over you to get past you to their rooms. But hey, it is what it is!

The location was great...just a few steps to the boardwalk and beach! They supply you with beach tags (an aspect of OCNJ that I will never be fond of!!!) and there is a restaurant, The Bloomin Tulip right next door, which we did not get a chance to tryout.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in August 2010 and it was very nice. The suite had a nice living room, kitchenette, bathroom and bedroom. Central AC was nice and the location right off the boardwalk was great. It was quite and clean and we enjoyed our stay. The pool is at its other hotel Impala, right down the street. Also, it is right across from Playland's Castaway Cove and can seem noisy around 9, but you get used to the sound and it closes before 11. Would recommend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I never write a review but my wife and I decided to write one after we had such an amazing 2 night stay at the Wild Dunes in mid June ( so amazing that on our way home we were thinking of coming back in a couple of days to do 2 more nights to take advantage of the great location, room rates & lack of crowds-however having twin girls with the thought of packing up again was just too much...plus we had other obligations)
It was exactly what others have said in their reviews:
-very clean rooms
-right across from the rides (yes the roller coaster is loud but it didn't bother my wife, who's noise sensitive and my 2 year old twin daughters).
- rooms were smaller than they appear in the pics however the room was fine for us. Our girls slept on the pull out Queen size sofa bed (comfortable for a sleep sofa) and my wife and I had our king bed in our own room.
-fridge was great - nice size with separate freezer. Microwave and stove although we only used the fridge it was nice to know it was there. It also had all the plates, cups, cutlery etc. you needed to cook a full meal

All in all we were very pleased and will stay here again! Thanks Wild Dunes Inn
-location,location,location- it's in the middle of everything you need!
-yes, we did hear the noisy trash trucks in the morning (I would say the only negative to our stay but we were so worn out from the previous night's activities that it wasn't a major deal. Keep in mind it was on Sat & Sun. that we stayed and there may be more trucks during the week).
-check in is at the Impala Inn (across the street) where there was one of the 2 pool options- the other is a very small pool that we didn't use.
-parking is extremely tight but convenient
-if you love Kohr Bros. Ice Cream it's only steps away

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wild Dunes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Inn

Address: 801 10th Street, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#11 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One bedroom unit with king size bed in bedroom. Living room has a queen size pullout sofa. Central air conditioning Fully equipped kitchenette. Color TV in living room and bedroom. DVD player in living room. Full private bath. Free local phone calls. Hairdryer. Daily maid service. One parking space per unit. Bloomin' Tulip Restaurant. Use of adjacent Impala pools. Coin operated laundry. Two beach tags per room during stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Wild Dunes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Dunes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.