We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Dunes Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wild Dunes Inn to your Saves list
Wild Dunes Inn
801 10th Street, Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I just stayed here with my husband and daughter from April 27, 2012 to April 29, 2012. The rooms were clean. The location was great. And the off-season rates were fantastic. I would agree with a previous reviewer about the sofa bed mattress, as well as the mattress in the bedroom, not being very supportive, but I don't think it would stop me from staying here again. My review of this hotel is pretty much on a curve because I don't think you can find the quality of a four or five star hotel at the Jersey Shore. So this hotel is definitely acceptable, all things considered.

Room Tip: Our room was on the very end near the stairway. Since there weren't too many people in the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    18
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Had a great stay at the Wild Dunes Inn in Ocean City. Stayed there just after the 4th of July, a bit less people than normal in Ocean City. Have stayed there over the last three years and have seen improvements in the lobby area and room. Nice new TV's and remodeled living room/bathroom just this year.

Love the fact that OCNJ has no bars. Wild Dunes is right in the middle of all of the activities. Kids had a great time at the amusement park. I had a great time hanging out on the beach during the day and resting outside in front of the room at night.

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room. If you get one near the fire stairwell, it's quicker up into the room. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELCO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

we stopped by on Thursday at 10pm and got a apt on the 3rd floor.The places was spacious,spotless and surgically clean,even the silverware.We walked to the beach from the boardwalk less than 50 feet away,and then into clean,crisp sheets in a king sized bed. the next morning we had made coffee in the kitchenettes and sat on the balcony watching the crashing waves and hearing the seagulls calling to us .It was a magically wonderful stay.Quite suppressed,having stayed at other Ocean City motels before.I never write reviews nor even read them,but the Wild Dunes was quite civilized and pleasant,we are planning on coming back again.

Room Tip: ask for a unit on the 3rd floor on the west side.The view is awesome and no noise from the boards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay, very clean, and updated. Close access to the beach & boardwalk, but had a few minor issues with the room service, which the problem was rectified. Also a few minor problems with the restaurant not having enough help when ordering our breakfast, but they were very courteous & apologized for the issue. I would definitely stay here again as this suite was a lot better than the Forum! I love Ocean City for their boardwalk & the Wild Dunes is withing walking distance to many of the attractions! The only thing that they need to update is their TVs. Hopefully on our next stay!

Room Tip: You do have noise from the Playland, but you don't hear it when you are in the bedroom, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Before booking this short visit, I read reviews of probably all the Ocean City NJ hotels. Sadly, for any hotel, even 1 bad review would stick in my head even if 10 reviews were good. We had to make a decison so we landed at the Wild Dunes. I was not sure what to expect, but it was quite acceptable. The suite was very clean and must have been recently remodeled. The kitchenette appliances were modern and in perfect condition. The bathroom was very clean, no mold or mildew. The carpeting seemed fairly new and clean. The only complaint would be the king bed mattress, and the sofabed mattress, were not at all supportive, but my kids didn't notice. So the mattresses should be replaced soon. FYI, The roller coaster is right across the street, running until 11:30pm.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomall, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My family loves this place. We originally picked it for the great location close to the beach and that the bedroom is a separate room. Both are a necessity when traveling with a newborn and 2 yr old. The bedroom is spacious enough to put a small pack and play and a child's cot on either side of the king size bed. The pull out couch was great for when the kids were having trouble falling asleep in a strange room and Mommy put them in bed with her; poor daddy.

Just to clarify some info from previous posts: Laundry is $1.75 to wash and $1.00 to dry. There is an outside shower behind the stairwell closest to the beach. You need to swipe your card to get it to work and it even has warm water. There is enough parking for 1 car/unit. There is parking underneath or outside (if you have a filled roof rack or cargo carrier) so parking isn’t a problem!

Since our last stay they must have fixed/upgraded the wireless internet. It worked perfectly!

You can't pick a better location! The hotel is at the bottom of the boardwalk ramp on 10th street between ice cream and fudge! The amusement park across the street from the hotel was great entertainment for the kids. They both loved watching the roller coaster. It is a little noisy inside the living room if you prefer to sleep in silence but not noticeable in the bedroom.

Check in and out was extremely easy. All the information about where to check in is on your confirmation request. We arrived at 12:00 on a Thursday and thankfully our room was ready! When leaving we were mindful to people checking in and gave back our beach tags early since were would not be using them on check out day.

There was more then enough pots, pans, glasses, silverware, ect. They even had wine bottle, can opener and strainer for our pasta. They do supply dishwasher powder but nothing else. We packed the dish soap, coffee filters, paper towels and plastic cups for the balcony area (I’m too afraid of glass.)

My husband and I are having trouble thinking of any cons….
Happy Beach Vaca!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Nice room, right across from the rides,easy walk to the beach. Had a problem with door sticking and batteries dead in remote in bedroom, management came right away and fixed the problem. Wish you could keep the beach tags longer on check out. Clean room.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wild Dunes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Inn

Address: 801 10th Street, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One bedroom unit with king size bed in bedroom. Living room has a queen size pullout sofa. Central air conditioning Fully equipped kitchenette. Color TV in living room and bedroom. DVD player in living room. Full private bath. Free local phone calls. Hairdryer. Daily maid service. One parking space per unit. Bloomin' Tulip Restaurant. Use of adjacent Impala pools. Coin operated laundry. Two beach tags per room during stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Wild Dunes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Dunes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.