We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel--Near Boardwalk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Impala Island Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Impala Island Inn to your Saves list
Impala Island Inn
1001 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NEW YEARS EVE
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Ocean City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Motel--Near Boardwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Hadn't been to the Impala in a few years and am left with mixed reviews on the improvements made since my last visit. While the flat screen TV and the modest entertainment center in our room was a welcomed addition, the loss of the table and chairs and moving the small refrigerator to the closet was disappointing. It’s clear the attempt was to make the small sized, typical Jersey Shore room “appear” bigger. And at first it did “feel” bigger. Yet having no table and chairs or a simple microwave oven as expected “amenities” is, as mentioned, disappointing. Also, try to ignore the parking situation as mentioned in other reviews. Find a space near your room if you can and try not to leave it.

But let’s look at the plus side. Our visit was in mid-June during their special Spring rates. Can’t stress this enough—this was fantastic—a definite advantage over other similar motels in Ocean City. If you can get to OC in early June, make a point of checking out the Impala. The pools are another plus. If you feel crowded at one pool, go across the street to the other—another advantage over other motels. Finally, the Impala’s proximity to the boardwalk and beach is hard to beat for a motel not located directly on the boardwalk.

While I wish the Impala and other Ocean City motels had more to offer what travelers have come to expect in a motel room, the Impala meets the basic needs for a couple or a small family at the Shore, i.e., clean rooms/linens, fairly comfortable beds/pillows, swimming pool(s), and a great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    50
    23
    3
    7
See reviews for
76
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We got a "great" deal on a 2 bedroom according to the manager the room was just redone. While the bedrooms and bathroom may have been redone the kitchen was not. The dishwasher sounded like it was going to explode when you used it. The location of the room was great however the maids cart rammed into the chairs all morning and the maids closet was right next door which was extremely loud and the cart was left out all day next to our room a couple times which was a little gross considering clean towels were
on it and were going to be put in rooms. It was also very crowded when we walked by carrying a baby . They need to downsize the cart. They kept stacking our chairs outside our room so they could push the cart by or they would knock into them..The first day we found a few silly bands on the floor which says a lot about the cleanliness of the place considering they were in plain sight. I wish the check in person was a little more enthusiastic just told us what we owed and sent us on our way I wish he would have told us about the place such as where to wash up after the beach. We always stay at motels/hotels at the beach instead of condos because we like to support local but it just didn't have that feeling that we were welcome..

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at the Impala Island Inn at the recommendation of a friend and I was so pleased with her recommendation that I want to pass it along to others looking for a place to stay in Ocean City, N.J.

We were warmly greeted by the front desk staff, who processed our reservation paperwork and told us about the parking lots available to us (the place was busy). After finding a spot for our car, we checked into our 500-level room. It was spacious and very clean. There was plenty of space for our clothes and the room's fridge was the perfect size for our snacks and bottled water.

After getting ourselves settled, we headed to the boardwalk, which was only a block away. Using the beach tags which came with the room, we also spent some time walking on the warm sand and wading into the water. We slept very soundly in extremely comfy beds and woke up the next day refreshed and ready for new adventures.

Although the Impala had a pool, we didn't really have the time to enjoy it since we spent most of our time on the beach. But plenty of other guests did, and they looked like they we're having a ball.

Ocean City has so much to offer and staying at the Impala will only enhance the experience. Its location is perfect. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 500- and 600-levels may be a bit quieter since they're not near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Impala Island Inn. Nothing is better advertisement than a satisfied guest. Enjoy the rest of your summer and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

50+ family members stayed at the Impala Island Inn for the Nth time in decades on June 13th-16th. The day prior to leaving for Ocean City we had a medical emergency with my father, and expecting to not be able to attend, we sadly cancelled our reservation. The Impala was kind enough to refund our deposit despite the 1-day cancellation notice.

But it gets better. The next day my father was told he could leave the hospital, and when we called the Impala back, they not only found us a room at the original rate (on 3 hours' notice), it was a better room than what we originally had!

Despite its age, the Impala is immaculately kept up, updated and super clean. Linens and towels are fresh and new, pillows are SO soft, showers are awesome and flat screen TV is great for the few hours of down-time you might want. The pool is crystal clear and cool, pool-side lounges and chairs are modern and very comfy, and of course nothing beats being just a few steps from the boardwalk!

There are two minor downsides - don't take a room facing the boardwalk, as there is a roller-coaster right across the alley, and the wifi is terrible. But with that said, with the low rates, cleanliness, friendly staff, free parking and location there's no better place to stay for a super time in Ocean City! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Any pool-side room is great, second floor and rear-facing rooms are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks for your review. We were delighted to provide accommodations for your reunion. it was a pleasure to meet all the wonderful people in your family! Enjoy the rest of your summer and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I used trip advisor to locate a place for one night down the shore. The ratings were good so we decided to stay one night at the Impala. The room was clean, the person at the front desk allowed us to check in early and all of our questions were answered. The only negative was the trash truck came early in the morning and we were awaken by the loud noise. I would stay here again.

SouthJerseyGirl

Room Tip: Request front side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, CO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We have stayed at the impala for at least 5 years now- always early June and the prices cannot be beat (beach tags included). We have stayed in one of their apartments (#100) the last 3 years and have found it perfect for our needs! The bedding seems to be better than the reg hotel rooms and it is better decorated as well (hotel rooms seem a bit dated). With 2 bedrooms 2 bath and a pull out sofa - full kitchen and large table/chair set- it works great for our group! Free parking helps so much and we love to park for the week and never have to move the car. The boardwalk is only 1 block away and we enjoy the shops on asbury too! Make sure you eat pizza at manco manco! The main issue we have most years is very poor/non existent wi fi which may be due to the apartment location. Pool is great for kids. Ventzi- was super helpful with jumping our car! Definite not luxury but nice enough for kids :) We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We recently spent a weekend at the Impala Island Inn as part of a metal detecting event at the Music Pier. Many of the people attending this event stayed at the Impala as part of the weekend.

The weekend started off on the wrong foot, when we discovered that parking was impossible to find. Several reviews of the Impala have made mention of the parking problem, but none have actually explained it.

The Impala is divided into two buildings, one on each side of 10th street. Each building has a very tiny parking lot, which is not sufficient to accommodate the number of cars for each unit in the building. As a result, both tiny parking lots for both buildings fill up quickly, and you are forced to park your car either on the opposite side of the building, or in a lot about two blocks away.

When we arrived, and could not find a parking spot, I called the front desk. The clerk did not help with the parking situation at all, and we were not made to feel welcome, even though we were part of a larger group. We ended up parking some two blocks away, and hauling our suitcases and other belongings down the street to our hotel room. It literally took us about 45 minutes just to unload. What a nightmare.

Once we got into our room, we found it in disrepair. Even though we arrived early in the season, light bulbs were out in the room, and the towel rack in the bathroom was broken beyond repair. We also had unexpected guests drop by, in the form of silverfish in our shower.

The maid service was less than expected, as she did not clean up the room completely, leaving some trash laying around.

On the plus side.....

The Impala has a nice location, just steps away from the beach and boardwalk. The price of the room was very low and affordable, and the desk clerk allowed us to leave our car in the lot for a while after checkout, so we could have breakfast before leaving town.

The beds were also comfortable, and we slept well each night.

Lastly, when we got home, my sweetie and I both had some kind of strange bites on our legs, and we don't think they were from mosquitoes. Something in that hotel room bit us.

All in all, we would have rather paid more for a hotel with adequate parking and a better experience. When we go on vacation, we don't want to worry about finding a place to park, or parking in a lot that is so dangerously crowded, that someone is bound to bang into our automobile.

A diagram from the Impala Island Inn is attached, which shows the parking problems.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Impala Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impala Island Inn

Address: 1001 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Impala Island Inn is located in the heart of America's greatest family Resort, within the beach block. This intimate inn provides the perfect locale for a memorable getaway. Most of the accommodations overlook a delightfully warm water pool and each include a refrigerator, telephone with voice mail, color cable TV, and WiFi, as well as two extra long double beds. Select guest rooms also offer a choice of king bed or sitting area with sleep sofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Impala Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Island Hotel Ocean City
Impala Island Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Impala Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.