We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Impala Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Impala Island Inn to your Saves list
Impala Island Inn
1001 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NEW YEARS EVE
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Ocean City
newjersy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unexpected find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent just an overnight at the Impala Inn to see a show by the Ocean City Theater Company (great show btw!) and stayed at the Impala. We were pleasantly surprised to find the room large enough to accomodate 4 adults. The staff was very pleasant. Although the decor was dated, the room was immaculate and when we asked for extra towels we had them w/in 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Centrally located to town and the broadwalk plus they supply the beach tags. We stayed in rm 220 whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Impala. We are pleased that you had an "unexpected find". We try to offer the best value at the Impala, while doing our best to keep things affordable for families. Cleanliness is our highest priority. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    50
    23
    3
    7
See reviews for
76
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel was very clean, employees were very friendly and helpful. My main concern when finding a place to stay is the cleanliness and I was pleasantly surprised. There was also a nice pool area. We were disappointed with the small room size, but the beds were comfortable. We also wished there was a microwave in the room and coffee pot or at least coffee offered in the lobby so we didn't have to go searching for it somewhere nearby. Elevator did not serve the entire second floor so if you have trouble carrying luggage up steps you might want to be aware of this. Very tight parking lot too, tried to pull in a space and could not even open my doors. Hotel was very conveniently located to the beach and boardwalk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaklyn, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The room we got was too small for our family (two adults and four kids) even though we were first told that it would be roomy enough to accomodate all of us. This was first pointed out to me when I called to extend our stay for an additional night. The reservation clerk duly informed us that, unlike what we were first told, our room was, in fact, not a "deluxe" room but a regular room. She then proceeded to point out that the ONLY difference between a regular room and a "deluxe" room was the addition of a pull out sofa. Really? Assuming the two types of rooms are otherwise identical, I couldn't imagine how or where a pull out sofa would fit. She was either lying to me or was herself not properly trained. Incidentally, the quality of the room was no different than any room I've ever stayed in at an economy hotel (i.e., Howard Johnson, Comfort Inn, etc.). We began the second night of our stay by being locked in our room for an hour and ten minutes due to a faulty door lock. It took the novice maintenance man this long to hammer out the old lock and free us from our unexpected prison. Curiously, he replaced the broken lockset with another old one, which we found out the next morning when the outer knob came off in my hand when I went to close the door. Shame on the hotel's management, who couldn't be bothered to address our unfortunate situation, either the night it happened or when we checked out the next day. Supposedly, the front desk clerk on duty the night the "lock-in" occurred told me she would leave a note for management. Either she didn't, or management didn't care enough to address it. Needless to say, if this is how they choose to treat their guests, we'll never return to this property or any of their other properties in Ocean City.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have stayed at the Impala Inn numerous times and the only real complaint I ever had, and I don't know that the management can really do much about this, but the parking is so limited. The lot is tight to begin with and with the oversize vehicles many people drive these days, getting in and out is nearly impossible. Otherwise a good value, clean, close to boards and attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trvlexprt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Have stayed at the Impala 3 years in a row now but have never completed a review. The Impala is a great place to stay in Ocean city. It is clean! That is the only thing I look for when booking. Lets face it, its the shore and its sandy. You would never know it. We were able to check in no problem.The staff was more than accomodating and very friendly. Booked a deluxe queen room with a sofa bed. This is a great space. Beds are not the best but certainly not the worst either.Sofa bed was quite comfy too. Decent size bath and plenty of storage areas.
Location is good, it sit behind the Castaways Playland. There are 2 pools and a kiddie pool. There are shower facilites to wash off the sand. Internet was very spotty but that could be because we were on the far side of the property. We will continue to stay at this property in the future

Room Tip: Parking lot across the street is for Impala may be easier getting in/out of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Penna.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Great location..One block from middle of boardwalk. Rooms are very basic and small, but clean and well maintained. Pool area well maintained. Friendly and helpful service. No coffee maker...a minor disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a place to stay for our wedding anniversary and we chose the Impala island inn.I can begin by stating the room was vey clean and king size bed was extremly comfortable almost like a right at home feeling.The swimming pool was really nice and clean and so was the property all around.We were treated very good by all employees during our stay here.I can honestly say i have no regrets for choosing the Impala island inn.The only negative was how fast the days went but thats what happens when your having a good time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Impala Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impala Island Inn

Address: 1001 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Impala Island Inn is located in the heart of America's greatest family Resort, within the beach block. This intimate inn provides the perfect locale for a memorable getaway. Most of the accommodations overlook a delightfully warm water pool and each include a refrigerator, telephone with voice mail, color cable TV, and WiFi, as well as two extra long double beds. Select guest rooms also offer a choice of king bed or sitting area with sleep sofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Impala Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Island Hotel Ocean City
Impala Island Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Impala Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.