We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Sands

Coral Sands
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Sands to your Saves list
Coral Sands
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   709 East 9th Street, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3553   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Ocean City
PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

My husband and just returned from a long weekend retreat in OC.The weather did not fully cooperate but the location of the Coral Sands made many things accessible.We did some great shopping in the quaint shops on Asbury,saw a movie, walked the boards,ate good meals and a little beach time without needing the car! Very clean yet dated accommodations.Got upgraded at check in to larger room. Nice perk.Will return to the Coral Sands.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    6
    11
    7
See reviews for
54
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

My girlfriend and I are from Delaware and have been coming to OC for years. The past 4 years we've been happy with our stay at The Coral Sands! I have to say each year we've noticed that there have been alot of upgrades, NICE WORK!!! Keep up the good work...the staff and summer help are always a big help to us out of towners!!! SEE YOU NEXT YEAR......

Room Tip: I've had 4 different rooms...all of them were of equal quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was our second year staying at the Coral Sands.

First of all, the rates can't be beat - only a block from the boardwalk center yet extremely affordable. The room was large and clean with both a refrigerator and a microwave. WIFI was fantastic and free. Two beds, a desk,bureau, table and three chairs more than met our needs.

The friendly owners live on-site and gave us personal service being very concerned that we enjoyed our stay. We WILL be back next year!

rich and laurie

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I booked this motel for the location to the beach, price, as well as the positive reviews but those positive reviews must come from people who live in a trailer park. This was the worst place I have ever stayed, EVER. I have been coming to OC since I was a child - that is at least 30 years. We stayed one night in the Efficiency. Let me start with the walk to the room, the narrow walkway is lined with pots full of sand and cigarettes and you literally bump the legs of people sitting on a bench smoking outside of their room. I wanted to vomit before I even got to the room. The parking lot is extremely small and does not accommodate SUVs well. Sure the owners are nice and accomodating but they need to put a lot of work into this place. The room smelled awful like cigarettes and mildew. There is no bathtub so beware for families there is no way to bath small children. The room is dark bc the windows have opaque panels on them that may or may not open. I could only get one open. There is a wicker chair in this room for seating whose cushion is black with filth and the chair itself is broken. I was actually disgusted by the bedding. There is a small additional room attached that gets no light because of the window a/c unit. I was also uncomfortable with the fact that the small bedroom's door does not lock from the inside (but there was a chain) and therefore a fun discovery for my 2 year old. Everywhere you look there is something broken or has a cigarette burn in it. Even the lamp shade had a tear in it. My best suggestion is the gut the place and start over. Everything is so dated and old. I'm sorry for the terrible review but hopefully it is a wake up call. With a location as great as this one this property should invest some money and update (and fumigate).

Room Tip: Don't choose one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stay in the motel...one block from the beach....for 4 nights.
It is an older beach motel and not fancy at all, but it was clean
and roomy with queen size bed, 2 chairs and table, desk and
chair, TV, microwave and refrigerator. Plenty of towels, 4 pillows
and an extra blanket, shampoo and soap. Room was cleaned
daily. Manager was very nice, available, and accomodating.
Location was Perfect.....a short walk to the boardwalk and beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hatboro pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

price and value for this location can't be beat... the service was so friendly

Room Tip: check online specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ephrata
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

It is very clean, very close to boardwalk and beach. Staff is very friendly and very willing to help if you need anything.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands

Address: 709 East 9th Street, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3553
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coral Sands 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you and your family are planing to come to the Beach and Boardwalk at Ocean City, New Jersey, stay at a clean, comfortable, family oriented staffed accommodation with security, Coral Sands is an Ocean City Hotel Motel, having Seasonal Duplex House Rentals, Apartments, Efficiency Rooms, Beach Block Lodging, Jersey Shore Family Vacation, Pet Friendly September 15 through May 15 only, On Sight Restaurant, Free Parking. Closed for season November 1 2011 till April 1 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coral Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.