We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable for College Kids, maybe?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Front Motel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Front Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Front Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1417 Ocean Ave., Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 hotels in Ocean City
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Suitable for College Kids, maybe?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked a room at the Ocean Front motel after reading other Trip Advisor reviews. We didn't need anything fancy, we were just concerned with cleanliness. Most reviews said the motel was clean, just dated and in need of renovations. The room did seem clean enough, however, many of the needed repairs made the room seem unclean. Our bathtub had a huge yellow stain in it. This makes the tub appear unclean. The faucet in the tub was disconnected from the wall, leaving a 2 inch gap. Tile in the bathroom was broken and repaired messily. The sink was missing a stopper. The maid did come in daily to vacuum, give towels, etc.
Apart from the rooms, the common area/deck was not kept neat and clean. The single trash can was often overflowing with trash. There was an ashtray that wasn't emptied daily. There was rolled up indoor/outdoor carpeting just sitting on the deck. The way the common areas were kept made me think that age was not just a factor. They can have an older motel and keep it nice, but there was not pride in cleanliness.
Parking is a disaster. You are expected to cram in to spots so tightly that the car needs to be pulled out before passengers can get in. When making evening plans, we usually considered whether we should move the car because when we returned we would be unsure whether there would be a big enough space for our SUV. Who wants to worry about parking as part of their vacation?
And, an odd feature was the ice. Ice was provided in a large Coleman cooler, like you'd have in your backyard for a picnic. Not an ice machine. Odd.
I would like to point out that the microwave and the refrigerator are very nice and the fridge is larger than expected. Also, the proximity of the hotel to the beach access is perfect.
I would not recommend this motel to families or to people who care about quality. It will be worth it to spend the extra money to stay someplace else. I was thinking this would be perfect for college kids who just need a place to crash and shower. College kids typically don't care about quality, they just want a cheap place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    109
    37
    14
    24
See reviews for
153
79
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Our family has been coming to OCNJ for over 20 years. We have stayed at our fair share of hotelsand motels but have become quite fond of Ocean Front because of the location and great service. John, the Manager, is fantastic. He is always willing to go out of his way to make your stay relaxing and carefree. His staff is very friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately, location and service can only go so far. The property is in dire need of many updates and renovations. The parking situation is a nightmare. If you would like to keep your vehicle bump and scuff free, this motel is your worst nightmare. Any vehicle larger than a mid size car will have extreme difficulty parking let alone allowing your passengers to enter/exit the car.

In addition the awful parking lot are the horribly maintained decks and dreadful wifi connection. The decks have more than enough chairs and tables, however; the chairs are cushion less andhavent been cleaned since they were purchased back in 1995. The tables are stained and disgusting. We scrub them each time we sit down for a meal. The deck's foundation leaves a large margin of concern. We are just waiting for the collapse.

Wifi is a pretty deal to the business-person taking a week away from the office. If you plan to check email or read any documents from your room, forget it! The wifi is rarely ever available from the outside decks. You will never get the wifi signal in your room. Guaranteed.

The rooms are kept as clean and tidy as they can be given the lack of updating. The mattresses are horrendous. I don't have back problems and rarely ever experience back pain. After one night of sleeping on these mattresses and I am surviving only with a regimented schedule of tylenol and motrin.

If you're looking for a great location and great staff then Ocean Front is your best bet. If you want to get what you pay for and not worry about bad parking, no wifi, disgusting decks, and rarely-updated rooms, then your better off looking elsewhere. I'll say this; there is someone sitting back somewhere truly cleaning up on the advantage of the location and staff at Ocean Front because they sure as heck aren't reinvesting in their property.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We would go back to this motel. The manager and workers were courteous and helpful. Everything was very clean, including the rooms. We were impressed with their attention to detail in keeping things clean. We loved the room we got (I'm not telling because I want it to be available when we go again) and we loved being right beside the boardwalk, but in a not-so-busy area, away from the main drag. We enjoyed being on 'deck' level where we could sit and relax right outside our door.
Unfortunately, there is no elevator to get to the second floor and it was difficult getting suitcases up the narrow stairway, so if that would be a problem to you, I wouldn't recommend staying there. Also, a smoker sat right outside our door for the first few days, and we found that rather distressing since we have allergies.
But, all in all, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last week. The location of the hotel is nearly perfect if you want to have easy access to boardwalk and beach. I was traveling with my 2 small kids and was easily able to go right on the beach (the hotel will give you 2 beach badges for a deposit) and at night stroll the whole boardwalk with my kids all the way up and down, conveniently ending at our hotel. Rooms were clean, neat but spartan. Not too small for us as we really didnt spend a lot of time in there....basically sleeping and cleaning up. Staff was courteous. I forgot a special stuffed animal when we left and they agreed to mail it back after i called. Saved my kid some heartbreak :)
I cant say i was either surprised or disappointed because you're booking a room in a top family vacation town in high season....so yes it was pricey but if you research properly youll know what to expect. It was obvious from their website and tripadvisor what this place looked like. A nice courtesy they gave us was we arrived very early and they got us accomodated early which got us more beach time. That was very much appreciated with 2 little kids!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

After spending a lot of time investigating where to stay in Ocean City for two nights I choose the Ocean Front Motel. I was looking for an "on the boardwalk" location with great facilities for a price I thought was reasonable. The Tripadvisor reviews saying it was a good place to stay, was what finally made me go with it.

And yes, it is right on the boardwalk just a few minutes walk to where the south end shops and restaurants are located. So it's within walking distance of all of the action but quiet and calm during the day and night. It has on site parking and a great staff. The place and the room was very clean. There is a large deck with chairs and tables that looks out over the beach and another deck that looks out over the street area in the back. So that was a plus and reflected what other Tripadvisor reviewers had stated. Our room had a big window that looked out at the rooms on the other side of the facility. We also had a small fridge and microwave. The TV was OK. There was coffee and pastries provided in the office.
And this was good.

Now, here's the flip side of the "good". Our room was really small, the mattresses were awful and the furniture old and worn. There is no elevator for the two floors, just very narrow stairs. Taking luggage up to the top floor was not easy and anyone with a knee problem like mine will find the trek difficult. Ice is available in a cooler on the garage floor. I got smart and always carried a plasic bag that we could fill before taking to the stairs. The AC worked great except if you had the bed next to it which meant having cold air blowing on you all night (remember, small room). The towels and bed linens were "economy" to say the least, but clean. I recommend taking your own shampoo, as what they provide is terrible. The railed walkways on each floor are narrow so you hear and see others coming and going. Smoking is not permitted in the rooms but apparently is allowed everywhere else. The people staying next to us smoked right outside their door which we could smell. I was able to check out some other rooms because for some reason those not in use have the door blocked open day and night. An "Ocean front" room on the first floor up had a large window looking out to the beach but didn't look much different or bigger than the one we had. And for those who want a pool, there isn't one.

So, considering everything, the Ocean Front Motel is alright if you understand what you are getting. Compared to the room rates at other places and what I now know about this place, I think it is over priced. Anywhere else and I wouldn't pay more than half the rate they charged. But this is Ocean City and the boardwalk, so when you look at the rates of other establishments for July, one can see how this motel can charge what they do. If you don't mind what they have to offer, go for it. For us it was a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

While I have no great expectations for accomodations worth the money in Ocean City during the summer, there are situations when one has truly spent too much. I booked the oceanfront room with the hope of some privacy with two young boys. The only thing we got for the extra money was a small window that looked out towards the distant ocean. The deck outside our room is a common area shared by anyone staying at the hotel. The oceanfront title is a sad ploy to charge extra. This gives "oceanfront" a bad name compared to what a true oceanfront room is in hotels that sincerely give you what you pay for. My strong suggestion to the hotel owners is to lose the oceanfront titles and not charge people the extra money for something that doesn't deliver. Hotel will continue to get negative reviews about this because people will see through the facade.
Rooms are what one would expect in a seasonal area-very average, clean, but not pretty. Very basic bedding, carpeting and furnishings. Hotel manager John is very accomodating, bery concerned about your comfort, and is willing to go out of his way to respond to any request.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Very very dirty tiny room, definitely not for $200/night. Bed mattress has horrible plastic cover to protect from bad bugs…Blanket was old and dirty and smell bed. Water in the bathtub did not drain. Would never stay again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean_Front_Motel, Manager at Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hello Monica.

We're sorry for the experience you had with us. Help us improving ourselves. Could you be more specific about your review. Why you think room was dirty? How the plastic cover on the mattress felt to you? If you asked us for the tube we would've fix the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Front Motel

Address: 1417 Ocean Ave., Ocean City, NJ 08226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Front Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Motel directly on the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Front Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Front Hotel
Ocean City Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Front Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.