We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great days on the boardwalk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Front Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ocean Front Motel to your Saves list
Ocean Front Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1417 Ocean Ave., Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Ocean City
Chesterfield, Michigan
1 review
“great days on the boardwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We would go back to this motel. The manager and workers were courteous and helpful. Everything was very clean, including the rooms. We were impressed with their attention to detail in keeping things clean. We loved the room we got (I'm not telling because I want it to be available when we go again) and we loved being right beside the boardwalk, but in a not-so-busy area, away from the main drag. We enjoyed being on 'deck' level where we could sit and relax right outside our door.
Unfortunately, there is no elevator to get to the second floor and it was difficult getting suitcases up the narrow stairway, so if that would be a problem to you, I wouldn't recommend staying there. Also, a smoker sat right outside our door for the first few days, and we found that rather distressing since we have allergies.
But, all in all, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    113
    39
    14
    24
See reviews for
158
80
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last week. The location of the hotel is nearly perfect if you want to have easy access to boardwalk and beach. I was traveling with my 2 small kids and was easily able to go right on the beach (the hotel will give you 2 beach badges for a deposit) and at night stroll the whole boardwalk with my kids all the way up and down, conveniently ending at our hotel. Rooms were clean, neat but spartan. Not too small for us as we really didnt spend a lot of time in there....basically sleeping and cleaning up. Staff was courteous. I forgot a special stuffed animal when we left and they agreed to mail it back after i called. Saved my kid some heartbreak :)
I cant say i was either surprised or disappointed because you're booking a room in a top family vacation town in high season....so yes it was pricey but if you research properly youll know what to expect. It was obvious from their website and tripadvisor what this place looked like. A nice courtesy they gave us was we arrived very early and they got us accomodated early which got us more beach time. That was very much appreciated with 2 little kids!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

After spending a lot of time investigating where to stay in Ocean City for two nights I choose the Ocean Front Motel. I was looking for an "on the boardwalk" location with great facilities for a price I thought was reasonable. The Tripadvisor reviews saying it was a good place to stay, was what finally made me go with it.

And yes, it is right on the boardwalk just a few minutes walk to where the south end shops and restaurants are located. So it's within walking distance of all of the action but quiet and calm during the day and night. It has on site parking and a great staff. The place and the room was very clean. There is a large deck with chairs and tables that looks out over the beach and another deck that looks out over the street area in the back. So that was a plus and reflected what other Tripadvisor reviewers had stated. Our room had a big window that looked out at the rooms on the other side of the facility. We also had a small fridge and microwave. The TV was OK. There was coffee and pastries provided in the office.
And this was good.

Now, here's the flip side of the "good". Our room was really small, the mattresses were awful and the furniture old and worn. There is no elevator for the two floors, just very narrow stairs. Taking luggage up to the top floor was not easy and anyone with a knee problem like mine will find the trek difficult. Ice is available in a cooler on the garage floor. I got smart and always carried a plasic bag that we could fill before taking to the stairs. The AC worked great except if you had the bed next to it which meant having cold air blowing on you all night (remember, small room). The towels and bed linens were "economy" to say the least, but clean. I recommend taking your own shampoo, as what they provide is terrible. The railed walkways on each floor are narrow so you hear and see others coming and going. Smoking is not permitted in the rooms but apparently is allowed everywhere else. The people staying next to us smoked right outside their door which we could smell. I was able to check out some other rooms because for some reason those not in use have the door blocked open day and night. An "Ocean front" room on the first floor up had a large window looking out to the beach but didn't look much different or bigger than the one we had. And for those who want a pool, there isn't one.

So, considering everything, the Ocean Front Motel is alright if you understand what you are getting. Compared to the room rates at other places and what I now know about this place, I think it is over priced. Anywhere else and I wouldn't pay more than half the rate they charged. But this is Ocean City and the boardwalk, so when you look at the rates of other establishments for July, one can see how this motel can charge what they do. If you don't mind what they have to offer, go for it. For us it was a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

While I have no great expectations for accomodations worth the money in Ocean City during the summer, there are situations when one has truly spent too much. I booked the oceanfront room with the hope of some privacy with two young boys. The only thing we got for the extra money was a small window that looked out towards the distant ocean. The deck outside our room is a common area shared by anyone staying at the hotel. The oceanfront title is a sad ploy to charge extra. This gives "oceanfront" a bad name compared to what a true oceanfront room is in hotels that sincerely give you what you pay for. My strong suggestion to the hotel owners is to lose the oceanfront titles and not charge people the extra money for something that doesn't deliver. Hotel will continue to get negative reviews about this because people will see through the facade.
Rooms are what one would expect in a seasonal area-very average, clean, but not pretty. Very basic bedding, carpeting and furnishings. Hotel manager John is very accomodating, bery concerned about your comfort, and is willing to go out of his way to respond to any request.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Very very dirty tiny room, definitely not for $200/night. Bed mattress has horrible plastic cover to protect from bad bugs…Blanket was old and dirty and smell bed. Water in the bathtub did not drain. Would never stay again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean_Front_Motel, Manager at Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hello Monica.

We're sorry for the experience you had with us. Help us improving ourselves. Could you be more specific about your review. Why you think room was dirty? How the plastic cover on the mattress felt to you? If you asked us for the tube we would've fix the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Definitely great beach view! However don't spend the extra money for what they consider "beachfront" Its the first room closest to the beach but there is no front deck. Not worth the extra $70 per night. I started on beachview and switched thinking it would not be so much. I went from a $400 weekend to a $650 weekend. I saw the other rooms and they were basically the same. The place was clean enough but definitely dated. We had lamps with no light bulbs and our toilet overflowed about 5 minutes after we were there. It was all fixed when we asked. We werent told we had beach tags available to us until we checked out that day. Their "continental" breakfast is donuts in a sweaty container...better off walking a block to bob's grill and getting their fresh out of the oven donuts and coffee....even if its not free. I wouldn't stay there again....if I'm gonna spend that kind of money I'll go to the beach club where ocean front means ocean front. lastly I might add the stairs are very tight. Two people cannot go up and down at once.

Room Tip: any room they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean_Front_Motel, Manager at Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hello summer065

We find your review for helpful and we'll try to fix what you mentioned. However the rooms that we concider as ocean front cost more, because they have the better front view even while you laying on your bed, but they've a lot more amenities like cofemaker, 32" flatscreen TV with DVD player, hairdryer in the bath and iron with full size ironing board. Anyways the price is lot cheaper than front room in the Beach Club. We're sorry for the toilet and as you said we try to fix everything than you customers tell us, just because we cannot catch everything.
About the breakfast we have english muffins and bagels plus coffee that you did not mentioned. Tho is your call if you want to have it or you prefer any restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hainesport, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Decent accomodations for the price. The staff was very kind and helpful. Booked our room 2 nights before we arrived and were pleased with the service and room. Convenient to beach/boardwalk. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean_Front_Motel, Manager at Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for the good review.We're glad that you enjoyed the stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Front Motel

Address: 1417 Ocean Ave., Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Front Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Motel directly on the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Front Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Front Hotel
Ocean City Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Front Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.