We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEANLINESS IS AN ISSUE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Manor Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Ocean Ave., Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Newark, DE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“CLEANLINESS IS AN ISSUE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed in the smaller building next to the building in the picture and in front of the very antique pool area. We stayed one night as it was the only available room in town for a last minute reservation to extend a trip. The room was in an old building. Small but very nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was nice. Unfortunately there was much hair in the shower and a poop streak in the toilet. When we first got there the TV was on. By the time we noticed the other hygiene issues it was late. It was creepy. We didn't get any cooties or bring home bedbugs. I did report to management the next morning at check-out. So for me, despite the lovely decor and updates, I would go back to the very basic Oceanfront Motel on the beach before I would come back here. Same price range. Oceanfront says it all but more importantly the staff nearly sterilize the rooms daily. Sorry Ocean Manor!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oceanandmtnluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Wernersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

For the price and the great location, Ocean Manor was a good deal. But, the room was in need of an overhaul (plaster and paint) and the towels were thin with many pulled threads. The outside porch and sitting areas were great. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnersville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We would like to thank you for all help and kindness during our stay there.This was our first year we stood at Ocean Manor . We felt like we were staying with family how warm hearted everyone treated us.
Rochelle , Florence and Cindy are the best. I would recommend this place to anyone.It is very clean, we had a great view from our balcony over looking the ocean,It was so relaxing just waking up and sitting outside. We had the best vacation staying there.

Thanks again
Rose , John and Jenna
Rose Jester John and Jenna

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosej307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nutley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Lets begin with when we booked it they told us it was a mini suite with 2 rooms a mini kitchen and that it was spacious. Well that was a lie the rooms were so small, dirty, outdated, crackling paint on walls that definitely can not be healthy. Stained ceilings were water from air conditioning had spilled on these drop ceilings. The bed was a full size and the br was probably 10x10. The so called kitchen consisted of a mini fridge. The other room was a futon that was as hard as a rock. The room smelled like mold which probably exists with all that water staining.
If you look at the place from the outside you would never expect that on the inside. It looks like they only worried about fixing the exterior.
We were very disappointed with our stay, especially that we were there for almost a week. The only good thing was that it was a block from beach which was convenient.
I don't understand with there prime location why wouldn't they update it, maintain cleanliness, and overall maintain and do routine maintenance.
It's a shame that they would rent out a place like this to paying customers who are lied to and deceived.
This was my first trip to ocean city and I really enjoyed the area. I plan to return next year but definitely not to this hotel.
I will definitely rent a more modern, clean and maintained condo. Where I don't have to worry about getting sick or catching something! !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tfariaNutley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanmanor, Manager at Ocean Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are so sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay. I wish we were made aware at the time. The only concerned that you made me aware of is that you had expected a couch and not a futon. We had numerous conversations and you never mentioned any of the things you wrote in your review. Let me begin by saying our building is over 100 years old. In such a building things are not perfect as in any building young or old. We do however, pride ourselves in cleanliness. our furniture may be old but many people find that as part of the ambiance in this type of establishment. Every type of Inn is not made for every person. For you to describe us as gross is a great injustice. Your brother and his family stayed in a very similar room just right next door to you and we had nothing but compliments from them. Agaiin, we wish you would have told us during one of the many conversations we had. Especially with being so very unhappy why would you not had made us aware of any of your concerns. We provide all of our guests with quality service and clean rooms. Again, we are sorry you were not happy but waiting to comment on line and not letting us know was really not a help to you or to us. We are continually making improvements. each room has flat screen TV'S. Your room actually has 2 flat screen TV'S. We added the balconies 2 years ago. We paint and freshen up every year. We try our best to make this a place the type of establishment that people want to come back to .. And we do have many many people return year after year. We enjoyed you and your family and had hoped you would have been added to our family. I am so sorry that you feel different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I'll start off with the good things about our stay at Ocean Manor 1100. The staff were very nice. They allowed us to change in and use their restroom before and after we checked in. They also allowed us to stay one night as I understand that not too many places allow you to do that during the summer vacation season in Ocean City, NJ. The balcony outside of our room was very nice and spacious. The hotel is also a block away from the beach and boardwalk which was a prime location being that we had a 4-year-old with us. The room and bathroom were also considerably clean.

Now, for the bad stuff. When we first arrived we were told to park our vehicle in spot 306, but were given a hotel key for Room 307. We didn't think anything of it, until we went to check into our room. Turns out we were trying to open the door of someone else's room. The woman was not too happy with the staff and I don't blame her! What if they hadn't been there and we were a bunch of thieves? Or what if we walked in on them while they were undressing?! The woman had been told that they had misplaced the other key for their room, when they had actually given it to us!

The room which was considered a mini-suite had a bed in one room, and a futon in the other room. The futon looked worn and it was as hard as a brick to sleep on! The room was also super small. There was a sewage pipe running right above the futon the length of the room. Not attractive at all. This separate room also had no air conditioner control, only a built-in fan in the wall that was meant to blow in the A/C from the other room (It didn't do a very good job), and a ceiling fan.

The fridge in our room didn't work very well, and the sheet and comforter on the bed in the master bedroom was covered in stains. The bathroom only had a shower and was really small.

Bottom line: For $220+ for a Sunday night for 4 adults and 1 child, I guess that was a good deal. If I had booked this place for a week though, I would have been livid!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mpace2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had never been to the Jersey Shore before and had a wonderful week at the Ocean Manor. Rachelle, Florence, and Cindy were wonderful....warm, genuine, and very helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable with a beautiful balcony. My wife has strict standards when it comes to rooms so if it passed her test, you won't be disappointed. The location is perfect, just a short walk to everything. When you look around the area, you will find the Ocean Manor extremely competitive with a homey feeling the others just can't match!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanmanor, Manager at Ocean Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I apologize for not responding sooner to your comments. it probably would have been to my best interest to have responded immediately, but our first priority is to our guests. With that said I would like to address the room key issue. Yes, we made a mistake. We humbly apologized at the time to all parties concerned. If I remember correctly at the time you had said it wasn't a big deal. Although it was to us. We try our best and in a rush handed you the wrong key.
Again, our sincere apology for the mix-up. Unfortunately, we are not perfect.
In reference to the room itself. At the time the reservation was made the room was described to you. It is called a mini-suite because it is 2 rooms and mini because they are small. That room is designed to have 3 to 4 people. maybe in your excitement to find a room for 1 night you were willing to settle for something less than what you needed. All our rooms have showers. We had No idea a standard shower would be an issue
If the fridge didn't work and had you told us we would have been happy to replace it immediately for you. We can't fix something we don't know is broken.
the next thing you mentioned was a sewer pipe. The pipe you saw was actually a sprinkler pipe
which is there for the safety of all. Some people see the pipe and believe it adds character to the
building just differences of opinions.
You were here for 2 days using the amenities, passing by us but never saying a word. We pride ourselves in taking care of our guest and this is truly disturbing that you would have been that unhappy with us and not shared it with us

our building is over 100 years old and the sprinkler pipe is there for your
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our third year staying at OCEAN MANOR and our best experience. We love the proximity to beach, boardwalk, and shopping district on Asbury Avenue. We also enjoy the pretty landscaped pool area with shaded spots, tables and chairs, and shower. The staff is friendly and there is complimentary coffee and citrus water. The rooms are spacious with plenty of drawer space, a microwave, coffee pot, and fridge, The porch has rockers and tables and chairs for dining outside. Everything is clean and decorated beautifully.

Room Tip: First floor and above have porch access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#2 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#15 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sifting Sands Motel
Sifting Sands Motel
#31 of 32 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#4 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Club Hotel
Beach Club Hotel
#7 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Manor Hotel

Address: 1100 Ocean Ave., Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Manor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean City Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing