We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the family at the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Watson's Regency Suites

Save Saved
You added Watson's Regency Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Watson's Regency Suites
901 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 34 hotels in Ocean City
suburban Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place for the family at the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

I had read many positive reviews on trip advisor about this hotel, and was pleased to find out they were right! Unlike the few negative comments I've seen here, our room was bright, modern, and in very good condition. We loved the spaciousness of it, and the little touches. The kitchen was completely stocked and everything worked well. We loved the outside balcony that was accessed from both the master bedroom and the living area. The kids had plenty of room; a pull-out sofa AND a pull-out twin sized chair gave each of them individual beds (more peace and quiet!). The room even had a sliding partition to close off their sleeping area, leaving us the ability to move around the rest of the place while they slept (kitchen, dining area - huge, btw - and bathroom). The location was perfect... it was a few minutes walk to the boardwalk (1 long block - Atlantic cuts out right at 9th street, so it's really 1 1/2). You end up smack in the middle of the best parts of the boardwalk, and are right by entrances to the beach near lifeguard stands. I believe many (most?) of the units are privately owned, and we were very pleased with ours on the 4th floor.

  • Liked — the spaciousness of the rooms, location
  • Disliked — can I move it a block closer to the beach? :)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    55
    17
    11
    10
See reviews for
101
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

We had a great time with our adult children, spouses, and 4 grand-children. We liked the location, 1.5 blocks to the beach. Augi's restaurant was a great place for breakfast and The Chatterbox Restaurant real nice for a family. The rooms were clean and well stocked. Room 505 had a big TV with games, puzzles, videos and DVDs available. Room 506 was okay except for the pull-out couch. The head and feet of the springs bent down. Just looking at it, we decided to put the mattress on the floor for a more tolerable sleeping situation. The pull-out cot was rather narrow and the couch cushions were more comfortable. The indoor pool was a wonderful option to have with children, but we didn't use it since the weather was so nice. The staff was prompt in bringing another blanket when we asked for it. All in all, we had a good time!

  • Liked — location and big rooms
  • Disliked — pull-out couch in room 506
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

My family and I stayed here last year for the first time and it was fantastic. We thought the week would be ruined when the weather turned to rain for 3 days, but thanks to the indoor pool, we had a great time. We didn't relize that this was the only hotel with an indoor pool in OC, NJ. We will DEFINATELY be staying there every year from now on.

  • Liked — The staff was great, the indoor pool, the close location to the beach
  • Disliked — not 1 thing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore MD
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

It was overpriced, but we thought it was worth it. That is, until we were there! We saw a mouse running through the kitchen. I would expect this if I stayed in a rundown motel. But, not paying the rates that we did! It is tough for my family to get away as it is. And, this is what we got!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

We stay here every year during the winter holiday season in order to visit with family. We choose Watson's every time for one reason - they have an indoor pool that my kids love to swim in. However, at the end of every stay, we always tell ourselves "never again." We have stayed in both the one bedroom and the two bedroom (there is one on the third floor). They are dated and you can see the signs of neglect everywhere from the holes in the bathroom to the rips in the bedding. When we arrived, housekeeping had left behind the comment sheet from a previous guest listing all the problems with the room from a month ago (which needless to say had never been addressed). Staff are friendly enough until i discovered someone smoking in the front entrance beside the "no smoking" sign (consequently making the entire entryway reek of cigarette smoke) and then watched as she put her cigarette out and took her place behind the front desk! Later that day, we discovered that we could not turn off the water in the shower. We told the front desk (a different person this time) and were told apologetically that no maintenance is on staff in the evenings and to just let the water run until morning when someone could come and repair the problem. Luckily, after much wrangling, we managed to fix it ourselves.

Positives are a great location and a nice pool for kids. Negatives are the state of the rooms and the overall neglect and disrepair. We pay $140 per night off season and I can't imagine having to spend a penny more. I think this is our last trip to the Watson.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — disrepair and neglect
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

We arrived early and staff quickly checked to see if a room was ready for us. No room was ready but they did tell us the time we should return which was still a good bit ahead of the scheduled check in time, got us checked in etc. It was great we really added a whole day to our vacation.

The pullout bed was horrible: I should have said something upon checkout but wasn't asked how I enjoyed my stay come to think abou it.

The daily maid service was okay.

Having the room with a toddler and the kitchen, two tvs, VCR and DVD was a +. Just remember to open windows and run a fan if you cook in one those little kitchens. I didn't think to bring napkins or papertowels. But they had detergent for us and dishrags. I found the kitchen to be well stocked

We enjoyed the location, shaded parking and very nice indoor pool.

More than I like to spend on a place to stay but I like the added benefit of the pool!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Pull out bed
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

We were recommend to this hotel. After checking in we found out that all the units are owned by individuals; and rented out.
I paid extra for top floor, we were in room 506.
The pull out sofa and chair beds were beyond terrible. The mattress should have been tossed out years ago. My 2 kids both weigh under 100 pounds had problems with lumps and the sinking into the frame.
The master queen was not a lot better, I went to flip the mattress only to find a board under the bed.

The room was in need of an upgrade, the kitchen has mismatched silverware, and not much of it. For 325 a night it was not worth it.
We have rented owner units before and while I did not expect the Ritz-Carlton it was was below average.

The hotel is 2 blocks fro the beach/boardwalk and walkable to everything.

Front desk was nice but not overly helpful. We did complain and got about 25 off per night, but the room was still way over priced for what you get.

  • Liked — location to beach
  • Disliked — Very poor room quality
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Watson's Regency Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watson's Regency Suites

Address: 901 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watson's Regency Suites is located in America's Greatest Family Resort. Open all year round, Watson's Regency Suites has the ONLY heated indoor pool and hot tub in Ocean City. Conveniently located on the beach block with off street parking. Our all suite hotel has 79 spacious suites that sleep 5, with a fully equipped kitchen with full size refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave oven and range. All suites also have private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Watson's Regency Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watson`s Regency Hotel Ocean City
Watsons Regency Hotel
Regency Ocean City
Watsons Regency Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watson's Regency Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.