We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food OK service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe L' Amore

Cafe L' Amore
455 Ramapo Valley Rd, Oakland, NJ 07436-3414
201-337-5558
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Franklin Lakes, NJ
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food OK service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Definitely a good deal if you use a restaurant.com coupon. Parking around the corner or valet. Located in a small strip mall on a very busy street. The service could be better and friendlier, but it is close and convenient and consistently good food. I highly recommend the special stuffed artichoke if available!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
1 review
“Best in the County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I am a lover of fine foods, especially italian. As such, I have frequented quite a selection of restaurants in the area and happen to think this is by far the best. The staff and proprietors are courteous and friendly. The ambiance is charming and the food is to die for. It is a great dining experience!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cafe L'Amore is our favorite restaurant in Northern New Jersey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We have been going to Cafe L'Amore for many years and have consistently had great food. One of our favorite appetizers is the string bean salad which is always delicious and big enough to be shared. As for the entrees, they are fantastic and aside from the very large selection on the regular menu, there are aways wonderful specials to choose from. I was very surprised to read the negative comments about the wait staff since we have never experienced anything but great service.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“While the food is consistently good, rude service spoiled the meal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We went with a group of 10 twenty-something girls for a holiday celebration. While no one had complaints about their meals, and definitely no complaints about the prices, we received extremely poor service from our waitress. She answered every question sarcastically and without giving us any information about the dishes. Maybe we were treated this way because of our age, but either way we were paying customers who expect good service. This was especially surprising as we found out this waitress had worked at the restaurant for a long time. However, other staff members were much more polite. I just wish this experience hadn't put a damper on our holiday meal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

Some of the best Italian food around, BYOB, and be prepared to wait. Sometimes it is a little noisy, and you will be very intimate with your fellow diners, but the food is worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe L' Amore also viewed

 

Been to Cafe L' Amore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe L' Amore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.