We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THE IVANHOE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Wildwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments
Save
You added Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments to your Saves list
430 East 21st Ave., North Wildwood, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in North Wildwood
Mattydale,New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“LOVE THE IVANHOE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I've been spending a week at the Ivanhoe every Summer since 1996,and I've never been remotely dissatisfied with either the accomodations or the staff. It's always been a clean and comfortable place,and,as it's only about half a block from the beach \ boardwalk,it's very convieniently located. My Summer home away from home! Love the Ivanhoe!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nwmotelman, Owner at Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
It is nice to hear that you consider the Ivanhoe your summer home and that you have been satisfied each time you have stayed with us. Thank you for your continued visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    8
    2
    4
    9
See reviews for
32
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed at the Ivanhoe Motel for the weekend of 4th of July. This was my first time staying at this hotel and I loved it. I thought it was clean, cute, and comfortable. I love that the grills are separate from the pool area. At first I was concerned that no grills were provided, but the owner walked me over to a patio area equipped with two large grills, several picnic tables with umbrellas, and lawn chairs. My family and I like to rent bicycles in the morning and there was a shop located a few steps from the motel. Also, located in the same area was a miniature golf course. It took us 7 minutes from the door of the motel to the water on the beach. The only complaint I have about this motel are the pool hours. The pool opens at 10 and closes at 6. I feel 6 is a bit early to close the pool. I think they should extend the pool hours. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nwmotelman, Owner at Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We thank you for your positive review of the Ivanhoe and the comments that you made regarding the location. Happy to hear you will be staying with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here Wednesday the 3rd before checking into the Panoramic next door on Thursday. The Ivanhoe has very friendly staff with a well maintained pool area and clean rooms. Parking included in front and you are right next to the beach and boardwalk. Can't ask for much more, families and couples looking for a relaxing vacation will enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nwmotelman, Owner at Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Glad to hear you had a relaxing time at the Ivanhoe and found our location to be favorable. Many of our guest tell us that they like the parking situation as they don't have to" piggyback" their car with another guest. Thank you for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspeth, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hope you make your reservations early. Always a sell-out. Clean rooms and pool area. Parking right outside your door. This is our place for happy times and memories. The owner is a very kind person and will always go beyond to accommadate your needs. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as my family always does.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nwmotelman, Owner at Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We strive to accommodate our guests needs and are grateful that you appreciate the clean rooms, pool and convenient parking. Hope you will continue to enjoy future stays!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Tripoli, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here June, 2012 with our daughter, son-in-law and their 5 children, ages 4 - 11. Absolutely wonderful time...spacious rooms, side by side, first floor, parking right outside our door. Management was MORE than helpful - very friendly and helpful. Pool area well maintained. No air conditioning noise like in some places we've stayed in Wildwood. Close to the beach and boardwalk - short walk and no streets to cross - just a very nice location. In the morning we rented bikes from the place right in the same block - very convenient...and later in the day the tram car runs up and down so if we didn't feel like walking we just took a ride down towards the Convention Center and then enjoyed our stroll back. We have our reservations for June and can't wait to return. In fact we stayed here in September for a quick overnight get-away and realized then how much we are looking forward to summer. We do indeed LOVE COMING TO THE IVANHOE!!

Room Tip: We like the first floor with the grandkids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nwmotelman, Owner at Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We love having you as our guests as much as you love coming to the Ivanhoe!! Thanks for taking time to write such a lengthy review with kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the Apts on 2nd floor for a week Aug 2012 WE WILL NOT BE BACK!!! The musty old carpets that ran up and down the walls Who carpets the walls anyway? Apparently They do to hide the mold on the walls made us feel sick They had carpets on kitchen floor also all with mold on them The kitchen table broke three times during our stay and rather than get a new one they screwed it back together again This table was fixed so many times it had to be glued By me !Only one burner on stove worked The bathroom shower was dirty enough for me to go by a bath mat and cleanser from the store. Very out dated for the same price I could have done much better. On the positive side Close to everything on beach block great deck out back The pool was clean and cleaning staff did the best they could do in such a dirty old place !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nwmotelman, Owner at Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us but we must take exception with some of your comments. Our carpets are cleaned every spring by a professional carpet cleaning company so we find it hard to believe that there was mold everywhere. If there were issues with the bathroom we would have addressed them immediately if you brought it to our attention. Lastly, just because something breaks it doesn't warrant replacing. If you fixed the table with glue and it worked, it couldn't have been as bad as you described. We will take your comments under advisement to better service future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in one of the apartments for a week for family vacation this summer. We had stayed here before, in the very same apartment actually, in the summer of 2003. Nothing had changed, and I don't know whether that's a good or bad thing honestly. The parking situation isn't great even for people renting the apartments-- the spaces are separate from the hotel, but there's not a lot of room. A couple that checked in late in the week pretty much had a blocked out because of their poor parking job, and we had two cars to pull in one behind the other. The bathroom shower was kind of gross-looking. We couldn't figure out if it was dirty or if the paint had been scraped away, but we didn't take chances and bought a bath mat at a local store. Housekeeping was pretty inconsistent throughout our stay-- some days we got towels, other days we had to hunt someone down to get them or ask them to vacuum. They left a vacuum in the apartment one day, I'm not sure if that was a hint that we should do it ourselves or what!

We had use of the pool, which is nice for the kids, and the hotel is within very close walking distance of the beach and the boardwalk. We also had access to laundry facilities on site and grills behind the apartment. There was wifi, although the signal wasn't very strong, so we didn't always have luck getting onto our usual websites. The beds were okay, but a few of us were sleeping on the pull-out sofas, and those were really uncomfortable. On our last night there, thunder and lightning storms had us without any power for a little while, which scared the kids but we made the most of it.

Overall the location for this place is great, and it gets the job done. There's nothing fancy about the place, and like a lot of places in Wildwood it just seems like everything is very old, but we've stayed in a lot worse down the shore too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nwmotelman, Owner at Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and 3 star rating. I would like to address some of your comments starting with parking. The Ivanhoe has 100% off street parking. If a parking space is not available it may be due to a visitor occupying a guest's spot or a guest taking up 2 spots due to poor positioning. Unlike some motels, we do not have "piggyback" parking where guest must leave their keys in the office. If there was an issue with housekeeping it was never brought to our attention because we would have addressed your concerns immediately. We do leave a vacuum in the closet for your convenience. With wireless wifi, the motel is at the mercy of the signal provider and doesn't have much control over this. If the electric went out during a storm, i don't think there is much one could do. We appreciate your time to bring to our attention you concerns and shall use them to better provide our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments

Address: 430 East 21st Ave., North Wildwood, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
#11 Family Hotel in North Wildwood
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New for 2014! 32" Flat screen TVs in all living rooms! Welcome to the incomparable Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments, where you'll spend a truly royal vacation amid all the excitement of Wildwood. You'll discover your own perfect place in the sun at the Ivanhoe. After a refreshing swim in our spacious heated pool, you can relax on either of our two sun decks. And the children can enjoy safe water fun in our protected kiddie pool. The beach and boardwalk are just steps away. Soft sands and rolling surf. . . Quiet days on the beach and exciting nights on the town .. . This is the vacation world of the Ivanhoe, the resort that treats you royally. You'll relax in regal splendor at the incomparably comfortable Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments. Choose a spacious two room or four room suite, a fully-equipped efficiency or a deluxe motel room with refrigerator. The pictures with individual layouts will assist you in deciding which accommodation is best suited for your needs. The Ivanhoe is ideal for your holiday in the sun. You'll be just a few easy steps away from the world's finest and Safest bathing beach and the amusement filled boardwalk. There's excellent swimming and boating, fabulous fishing from nearby piers, and golfing privileges at a nearby country club. Theatres, shops, restaurants and night clubs are just minutes away, and it's a short drive to Atlantic City's fabulous shows and exciting casinos. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivanhoe Motel And Apartments Hotel North Wildwood
Ivanhoe Motel North Wildwood
Ivanhoe Hotel North Wildwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.