We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Montego Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Wildwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montego Bay
Save
You added Montego Bay to your Saves list
1700 Boardwalk, North Wildwood, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in North Wildwood
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for the last few years and this year was definitely the last. This hotel is not cheap compared to others in the area and yet they cut every corner they can. The staff/owners have expensive boats/bikes/cars, but leave the hotel in it cheap falling down condition.

The room had large stains on the ceiling and the blankets and sheets were dirty and old. They barely provided enough towels and no bath mats or hand towels. They provide no bathroom amenities and no wifi. If you want wifi they make you pay for it per night. There are cheaper motels that offer wifi free. This hotel has buckets in all the hallways because of excess leaks that they haven't had repaired.

The bathrooms that they have for guests on the first floor were locked half the time and when they had them open, the sinks did not have running water. So if you used them you could not wash your hands. Completely unsanitary. We told a manager/maintenance guy about it and he did not seem to care. And forget about requesting an additional pillow or blanket because they tell you that there are no more. The showers barely have hot water and no water pressure.

The day management/desk staff is always nice when you are checking in, but rude when checking out. And they are always smoking outside on the boardwalk.

Do yourself the favor and stay somewhere else that is clean and not falling apart.

Room Tip: Rooms at other hotels are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    85
    41
    50
    78
See reviews for
171
23
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Garnerville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This will be our 5th summer at Montego Bay and we love it. Comfortable, spacious, great views, very nice restaurant, staff treats you like family, clean. fun specials, always something to do. Our week there always go by too fast. Shortest distance from boardwalk to water. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: third floor, not ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

this place is disgusting. there were cockroaches in the rooms. the rooms have bugs g bites. i woke up with over a hundred buand the pool has mold worst place I have ever visited. the hotel staff were very unfriendly and the hotel stunk of mold. will not return and hope none of. you visit

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, PA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had another great stay at the Montego Bay resort in North Wildwood. This is our third visit and it was the best yet! Our room was updated and very nice. We always get oceanfront here at this resort. Remember, this is not a five star resort. The bedroom is just what we needed, however, some may view it as tight. Our bedroom included two full-size beds and served our family of four nicely. The living room and kitchen were very spacious. We found the room to be clean and sufficient. The bathroom is small yet it was recently updated. The bathroom does not include a ventilation system.

This hotel is located toward the end of the boardwalk. You will have full view of the tramcar making its rounds.

The indoor pool is very nice. Our boys love swimming and sliding down the slide. It was very clean! There are bathroom to right of the entrance as you enter the indoor waterpark. They especially like the arcade located next to the indoor pool.

The outdoor pool is very nice, however I would not want to have one of the rooms located directly behind the outdoor pool as there is no privacy on their balconies. The pool was clean and the water was warm. If you have a large group the outdoor balcony is a nice place to gather. You will also find outdoor grills here for your use. Nice touch!

Room Tip: Make sure to get an oceanfront room. Higher floors will require you to use the stairs as the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I would like to thank those who contribute your positive comments regarding The Red Parrot Lounge. Clearly, you speak from the heart. I truly hope your stay was/is enjoyable and I wish you will return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This resort needs major updating. It's old and dirty. The rooms need to be painted and the carpets need to be scrubbed. They are really dirty. The toilet seats need to be replaced along with the ceiling tiles. The maid should also clean the sliding glass door. They don't have hand towels and when I asked for a blanket, I was given a sheet because they didn't have any more blankets. We waited for an elevator for over a half hour. There are only two for the entire building. The luggage carts are rusty, dirty and the wheels don't work. This resort is not cheap and for what they charge they should do major improvements to this place. We will never go back. The only good thing about the stay was the restaurant. Also, I forgot to mention their were crumbs under the bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This is Wildwood not the Waldorf. The rooms could use some updating but overall great place to stay. We have been coming back here since the Donaraille closed years ago. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Megan at the front desk is wonderful. We keep coming back for Champ the bartender at the Parrot Lounge. Couldn't be any friendlier and down to Earth. Over the years he has become part of the family. Best place to drink on the boards. Seeing the regulars in there makes it seem like a Cheers atmosphere. The food is great at Adams Restaurant too. Get the turkey club and the clams. We'll be back... Ohh those Wildwood Days!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montego Bay

Address: 1700 Boardwalk, North Wildwood, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
our 128 unit resort range from 1-4 bedrooms 3 bath 165 seat restaurant with fullservice bar open for breakfast lunch and dinner in season. indoor pool and water park open year round. arcade,fitness center,massages,tanning bed,tikie bar located at indoor pool,outdoor barbacque grills,ocean front and ocean view suites, in season kids activities as well as free hot dog parties with dj on the ocean front sundeck ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Montego Bay North Wildwood
Montego Bay Hotel North Wildwood
Montego Bay Wildwood New Jersey
Montego Bay Wildwood Nj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.