We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Istanbul Restaurant & Patisserie

Istanbul Restaurant & Patisserie
1000 Aaron Rd, North Brunswick, NJ 08902-5019
732-940-1122
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant twice now. The food is different and is very good. They serve you olives and bread to start, which I could eat everyday. It is byob so save your money and order dessert. We order the Istanbul combination platter which has several types of meat and rice. It's a great way to try it all. We finished it off with a dessert sampler of baklavas and a custard. The server was slow but very friendly and helpful in explaining any of the menu items you may not be familiar with. We will return for sure. It's a nice local place to try. If you like Greek food, you will love this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    7
    13
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Different and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Easy to find something for everyone from the carnivore to the vegetarian and it is all delicious. I've tried this type of cuisine before and was somewhat reluctant to try it again but since doing so at Istanbul have been back several times.

Food and service are both excellent and if you're looking for a change up from the same old fare this is the place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Decent Food, So-So Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

There was almost no one in the restaurant for lunch, so we expected to be served quickly. It took a long time to place our order, the waiter forgot one of the appetizers, and the food was very slow in coming to the table. They also did not accept the credit card I wanted to use to pay the bill.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cool Turkish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I ordered the Boner as I usually do and it was very tasty, as was the two rices they gave us and the bread.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I've seen a lot of restaurants come and go in this same location and I have to admit that I am rooting for this one to succeed. The staff is really nice and the food is decent. The decor is okay but they seem to be trying to make changes. We love the warm fresh bread and the olives in olive oil is delicious. I tried the Iskender Kebab the last time I was there and the bread was completely soggy so the dish was just one big soupy mess. I would definitely not recommend that dish to anyone.The falafel is dry and lacks flavor. I like the adana kebab grill dinner, my husband likes the Istanbul Combination grill dinner. I like the shepherd salad and the lahmajoun although there is not much difference between the appetizer portion and the entree portion. The lahmajoun entree will not fill you up on its own as it's a very flat small "pizza"-like dish. If you have a sweet tooth the kazandibi is like a smooth custard but rich so it's nice to share with 1 or 2 others.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Restaurant & Patisserie also viewed

North Brunswick, NJ
North Brunswick, NJ
 
North Brunswick, NJ
North Brunswick, NJ
 

Been to Istanbul Restaurant & Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Istanbul Restaurant & Patisserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.