We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible...completely horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn to your Saves list
Clarion Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   999 US Rte 1 South, North Brunswick, NJ 08902 (Formerly Ramada Inn & Conference Center, North Brunswick)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in North Brunswick
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Horrible...completely horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

This place is beyond sketchy. When we got there, there was a line to check in to the front desk and we overheard the lady tell the two couples in front of us that they don't give receipts if it was paid in cash...what? But if you paid by credit card, then you had to pay taxes. Can you say sketchy. Then this poor eldery man had to walk down 5 times because his room key was not working and the lady kept telling him to go and try it "one more time," one more time...they man tried 5 times before someone came with him and in the elevator told him that he didn't know why his boss was making him go to the room because the key was definitely NOT going to work. This poor man!! When we got to our room, it completely smelled like smoke...definitely hadn't been cleaned completely. But the worst part of this entire stay was the fact that I woke up with spider bites all over my arm and legs and because the hotel was full, we didn't even ask for second room. The air conditioner was either massively cold or insanely hot. This was a horrible horrible experience. Definitely do not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    5
    3
    18
See reviews for
9
4
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

I am going to report this hotel to Ramada and never stay at a Ramada again. The rooms were dirty, the service was horrible and the full payment upfront was sketchy. It was especially unpleasant to be assigned to a room that was already occupied by other guests. After finally receiving a musty-smelling unoccupied room, we were told we would have to move rooms for the second night of our stay. The swimming pool is closed and apparently has been for 8 years. This establishment is not worth the discounted rate of $50 a night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Brunswick hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We were two couples who showed up for a wedding in the area in June. Our hosts had suggested the Ramada, which struck us as a solid budget option.

Things were odd from the start. When we arrived at the front desk, the manager told us they only took cash. If we paid with a credit card, he said, we would have to pay federal taxes. Um. Sounds to me like this place isn't declaring income... But whatever. We paid in cash to avoid the extra charges. When we got to our room, we noticed that it smelled funny. Then we discovered a travel shaving cream and a used bar of Dove soap (not normal hotel soap) in the bathroom. And on the desk in the bedroom were bottles of partially-consumed Johnny Walker Black Label and some sort of citrus liqueur.

Then, my boyfriend opened one of the nightstand drawers only to find an extremely odd assortment of items: a plastic bag of soy nuts, tiny bottles of green liquid with Hindi writing, two small plastic bags of dark-green pills, five boxes of Dove soap, and an odd tampon-shaped plastic vial with white powder inside. Wha.....??? Housekeeping had clearly missed this one.

Meanwhile, the other couple we were with had discovered that the room they were assigned was already occupied. We each asked for new rooms. Our friends' room actually seemed decent, but our room--although it was non-smoking--smelled heavily of cigarette smoke. We decided to leave and after trying a nearby Hampton Inn (which was booked full, unfortunately), we went down the road to a Holiday Inn Express, which was very nice.

Oh, also, we had been really excited about the swimming pool that this Ramada advertises on its website, but the pool has no water in it and according to another tripadvisor review has been CLOSED FOR 8 YEARS!! Talk about false advertising...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

I stay in the area working with crew. I typically have 6 rooms for 3 weeks or more. This place has gone down hill for the last few years. I actually checked all my men out and moved down the road to a NEW Holiday Inn Express. Ramada Inn services were terrible. They never fixed anything. TV Selectionss............. They do not get ABC, NBC, CBS or FOX............ oh they do get 5 channels from India and a Hindi News.....
Take my advice, go down the road to the Holiday Inn Express.
They do have a swimming pool, but it has been closed for 8 years that I have been coming to the area.
Also, there is a resturant onsite. An Indian Food resturant. KFC is next door and it has about the same service as Ramada Inn

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

It was an okay stay, in a clean room with nice toiletries... but our cheap-o TV didn't work, so the guy brought in another one, which didn't work either. This was booked for us and comped, so no complaints there, and it's pretty cheap. The Indian restaurant is kinda nice, we only ate there once, and the breakfast was pretty nice and varied. Swimming pool was closed and it was kind of dirty. Overall a decent no-frills stay at a decent no-frills hotel. It needs some renovations, and it's not a 3-star!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natchez
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Excellent customer service, clean rooms, friendly staff

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Got put in this place by Continental due to missed connection.

Not very nice at all.

Room has a musty smell and the bedding looked dirty and worn.

Overall my room looked it needed scrubbed from floor to ceiling.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 999 US Rte 1 South, North Brunswick, NJ 08902 (Formerly Ramada Inn & Conference Center, North Brunswick)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in North Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Conference Center, North Brunswick
Ramada Inn & Conference Center, North Brunswick Hotel North Brunswick
Ramada North Brunswick
North Brunswick Ramada
Ramada Inn North Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.