We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food and ver expensive” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Nile Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Nile Restaurant
2600 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047-2215
201-330-9152
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, International
Restaurant details
Sachse, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Bad food and ver expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This place is horrible, i would not be surprised if they close down

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    2
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great environment for a night out on the scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Visited the Nile to attend the LOL Comedy Show hosted by Parkeast Entertainment. The environment was pleasing, the staff was accommodating, and the drinks & food was excellent.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
1 review
“Unexpected Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This place is GREAT! An unexpected surprise. I was staying at the Holiday Inn Express next door and wanted a quick meal with the wife. When we walk over the wife noticed “Mediterranean” cuisine and wasn’t sure if it was her pace. I was a bit pumped, living in the Midwest, multiculturalism isn’t the norm, so I was very interested. The food was exactly what I wanted! A blend of Moroccan and Lebanese (leaning heavily toward the Lebanese) spicing without the expected “Americanizing” or over spicing or over express the flavor profiles, which is more akin to “impress the locals”. This is cooking like you would expect to be served at someone’s home in the Akkar district. Perfectly stated but not overbearing.

We started with the fried Kibbeh. Spicy, but not overwhelming, with a nice pepper bite. The wife was pleasantly surprised to recognize the marinated chicken I’ve been making her for years (and what I called “Mediterranean spiced”) was actually the Shish Tawook she ordered. I had the quail, which featured 3 meaty perfectly spiced birds with a lovely dipping sauce. I couldn’t resist eating this dish with my hands, using the pita bread to wipe the goodness I missed.

The staff, both management and wait staff, are there to take care of your every need.

I am planning on going back in a couple of days to catch the floor show. If it is nearly as good as the food, I will be pleasantly pleased.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The worst experience I ever had”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

After one hour we had not even gotten our appetizers and there were only two other parties in the restaurant. We did not wait for our meals as we were blatantly ignored by the staff of the restaurant although we heard the food was supposed to be good. I hope they enjoyed our meals themselves.
I am disappointed that the Holiday Inn Express offers discounts to the establishment because their service is great and this restaurant doesn't even deserve a response.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
“Worst Service Ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

We went to a special event, and the waiter told us that we could do the special (with appetizers, drinks and entree) for $50/person....or we could order from the menu and have a total of $50 or more for our table. We ordered from the menu which would have come to a total of a little over $50. Then the waiter told us we had to order more drinks or food to be able to stay for the belly-dancing show (though we were still smoking hookah and there were plenty of tables left) or leave, so we ordered a couple more drinks. Once the bill came, we noticed that they had charged us for the special...which he specifically told us he wouldn't charge if we ordered from the menu.
I spoke to the manager who was extremely rude to us and the waiter then lied to the manager telling him that he told us he was charging $50/person. The manager refused to believe what we said and charged us an exorbitant amount.
The rest of the crowd were middle eastern people just sipping on drinks and smoking hookah, yet we were the only people asked to order more or leave....I felt this was somewhat discriminatory.
Extremely dishonest and unfriendly service. If you hate people lying to your face, I recommend you avoid this restaurant at all costs.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nile Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nile Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.