We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snagged the Jacuzzi Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson North Bergen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson North Bergen to your Saves list
Howard Johnson North Bergen
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in North Bergen
Sterling
1 review
“Snagged the Jacuzzi Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

After booking a really cheap rate on line by accident, I ventured to upgrade the room to a Jacuzzi room. It turned out they only have one. It was big enough for two, but took up a lot of space in the room.

We didn't get a chance to take their shuttle service, as we missed the last one of the afternoon, so we had to drive to Journal Square to take the MTA to NY. That wasn't bad since it worked out.

The building setup is odd...different in an interesting way. The TV was nice, but the bed was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Tiffani F,

My name is Chaitali Gandhi, General Manager of this hotel, and I would like to explain and thank you on the review you have posted as it help us to improve a lot. I understand that the jacuzzi rooms might have been small due to the jacuzzi itself but we are trying our best to provide the best value for our guests. I would like to apologize that you missed the shuttle to NYC and you had to take the public transportation as we are in the process of extending the hours availible to take the shuttle for our guests. You also mentioned that the bed was not comfortable and very bad for your precious sleep, we have ordered new batches of the matress and will be replaced very soon. Please forgive us on the mistakes as we try to improve everyday. Once again thank you for the review. Go Happy Go Hojo !

Chaitali Gandhi (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    41
    81
    46
    90
See reviews for
98
56
11
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

to spend Easter holiday my family and me decided to head NYC and booked this hotel for our stay and what a disappointment. We checked in and check out in a matter of 10 minutes. Old and broken furniture and bathroom mirror. Mold in the bathroom. Dirty carpet and bed sheets; and when we took the complaints to manager, we were confronted with a rude and defiant attitude.
we moved to Marriott courtyard. This hotel needs major overhaul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Vanessa V,

Hello my name is Chaitali Gandhi, the general manager at this hotel, and would like to deeply apologize for the mistakes in the room. I see that the complaints from you mostly focused on the furniture damage and the unclean room itself as well as the doors that needed to be more secure however we are doing our very best to fix our rooms in every way possible so that all amenities for our guests are ready for use. The security around the property is something that should be of no concern Ms. Vanessa V because our property is under complete 24 hour survellance and should be of no major issue. Again I would like to apologize behalf my staff and we will improve our rooms anyway possible as fast as possible, since we are in the process of redoing them. Go Happy Go Hojo !

Chaitali Gandhi (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is pretty worn out. The old and dirty carpets leave a very poor first impression. Fortunately, to the credit of the staff, the linens and bathrooms are very clean.
The wifi (hotel wide) as well as the free parking are a bonus. The breakfast, although not exciting, is convenient.
I stayed in the lower (motel-like) part of the hotel. This was very convenient, as I had my own car. However, I would not recommend this hotel if you are not driving.
The walls are not terribly sound-proof. You will most likely hear a lot of what's going on next door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Hojo all over US is standard in terms of room breakfast etc
Value for your money

But this one is like 15 min from Journal square and what you save in hotel room you end up spending in taxi to and fro fare

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Pratik D,

My name is Chaitali Gandhi, the general manager of this property and would like to address to your concern about the location of our property. The location is as such that we are not able to change or completely remove since the crowd that comes in at the property is uncontrollable and the prices are already set at a high because of how close we are to New York City. Regardless ,I apologize for any other inconvinience you had with the hotel and your stay since we are trying to improve in every area possible as a team. Thank you for your concerns. Go Happy, Go Hojo !

Chaitali Gandhi (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, Usa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Parking is terrible... 2 separate buildings of rooms like motel but they call it hotel. Room was frigid cold on a 100 degrees day and room smelled of stale smoke. Non-smoking room at End of quarter next to the maids closet. Mind you the maids come at 7 AM and started banging around in that closet and proceed to try and enter your room to clean while you sleep of try to. A room cost of 170 plus tax was a rip off and I will never return. Hojo Newark Airport is so much better and nearly half as expensive. Staff doesn't care and it shows throughout bc it's gross. Found white stains on room items like chairs and linens etc. that told me they have a poor cleaning standard.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson North Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson North Bergen

Address: 1300 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson North Bergen 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Howard Johnson North Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
North Bergen Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson North Bergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.