We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites North Bergen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites North Bergen to your Saves list
Comfort Suites North Bergen
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in North Bergen
Longview, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here on a recent trip to New York City. This hotel is wonderful! The rooms were spacious, The breakfast was good and the best part was free in room movies. A definate plus when traveling with kids. I look forward to staying here again. The staff is very friendly. Overall a great start to our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    112
    46
    26
    17
See reviews for
101
56
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Typical Comfort Suites accommodations - room was in decent shape and large. The area that this hotel is located in leaves a lot to be desired but if your goal is to be near manhattan without paying manhattan prices, this would be it. Parking lot is right off a busy road but well lit and seems relatively safe.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here three nights in June for the following reasons
1. access to public transportation
2. free breakfast
3. free parking
4. fee wifi
5. price


The walk to the bus is steep and takes about 10 minutes (we made it in a hurry one morning in about 5)...but is totally worth the price if you have a group on a budget ($3.20 per adult, $1.75 I think for kids). EASY and QUICK into city (morning commute takes longer than late night) and it drops you at port authority (42nd and 8th) which was PERFECT for our trip. Best part is that the stop at 10th on the return leaves you at the entrance of the Coach House Diner...a MUST for late night snack or dinner before walking down hill to the hotel

Breakfast was exactly what you'd expect from a hot/cold bar...and worked fine for self-service. Plenty of room even on a busy day for us to find seating.

We used our AAA discount online and got a better deal than the price quoted by calling the front desk direct, even though she told me that she was quoting the AAA price.

Down side: the room was not that great...old carpet, dirty cushions on furniture (gross!), and peeling wallpaper, and a burnt spot on tub. Sheets were pretty thin too. All this we put up with for the price and the rest of the perks mentioned above. We figured, you get what you pay for.

Additional bonuses: did we mention the Coach House Diner?! That place was fantastic...huge menu, daily specials, open 24 hours (this is not your mama's diner!). We ate there twice and had our schedule allowed, would have eaten there every night. The food was delicious and we even got dessert on the house the last night...the BEST milkshake I ever had...thick, served in metal mixer with whipped cream and cherry on top and two straws for us to share! Our meals were big enough to put in the fridge in our room and eat for lunch the next day. The room fridge and microwave also gave us the ability to keep snacks and leftovers, saving more money. It was also pretty quiet for being on a busy street.

Down side: busy scary street to walk on to get to bus stop, but we never encountered any other people or problems...first time seemed scary, but then we got used to it and seemed fine. I would not want to do the walk in the rain/snow...but in good summer weather, and late sunset, was fine for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

this hotel is okay for the price, had to get a different room upon check in as there was crumbs on top of the bed spread, along with what looked to be like baby powder.
Breakfast was okay, very convenient to take the shuttle into the city.
Paint was peeling off the ceiling in the bathroom, our air vent was propped open with a pen.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

After the sticker shock of looking for hotels in Hoboken, near Stevens Institute, we decided to stay 2 miles away at the Comfort Suites. I was a little leary since the price was so much less, but it had good reviews on this site, so we decided to try it. We were very pleasantly surprised! The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was okay, but it was free, so I am not complaining! The breakfast room was a little small and not very efficiently laid out so it was hard to maneuver around the other guests. My only complaint, and I am not sure the hotel had any control over this, was that there was an elevator inspection at 9:00 am when we were trying to check out. Unfortunately with only one elevator, this made checking out a problem for us since we were on a higher floor and were on a schedule. The inspectors were very rude about it too. Overall, however, we really enjoyed our stay and would choose this hotel again when we return to Hoboken.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinaw City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Location is great to take shuttle to new York city. $12 roundtrip. It costs that just to use Lincoln tunnel. Two queens in room and sofa pullout for one person. Pullout is not good. Breakfast is fine. Will stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, UT
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was a great alternative to staying in pricey Manhattan. We had a family room that was just large enough to slept 6 plus there was room for a roll away bed so we had 7 of us . The online reservation let me put the rollaway bed on for an extra $10. This saved us a lot of money over having 2 rooms. The beds were comfortable. The room was clean. The breakfast was really nice. The breakfast room was always empty for us, plus there was an extra room with tables adjacent to the breakfast room. It was easy enough to drive to Manhattan each day. It took us about 10 minutes at 9 am to drive through the Lincoln tunnel ($12 toll) and park in a garage and then take the subway from there. If you are in the garage by 10 am, the prices are pretty reasonable. $17 - 25 posted price for 12 hours in many garages. I found online coupons for icon parking, but sometimes the posted rate was even cheaper than the coupons. The one day we tried to park by Central Park for the Natural History museum was terrible traffic and took us about an hour to go 3 miles. If I did it again, I would park near the Lincoln tunnel and then take the subway up there. The only negative thing is not being able to go back to the hotel during the day to rest your sore feet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites North Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites North Bergen

Address: 1200 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites North Bergen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites North Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
North Bergen Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites North Bergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.