We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Cuban, and this is coming from a Cuban” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumba Cubana Restaurant

Rumba Cubana Restaurant
7420 Broadway, North Bergen, NJ 07047-5746
201-854-4000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 84 Restaurants in North Bergen
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Cuban, and this is coming from a Cuban”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Rumba Cubana is to this date is one of the best Cuban restaurants I have had the pleasure of dining at. The food reminded me of my grandmothers cooking. I have enjoyed just about everything on the menu and its all excellent! Prices are super inexpensive compared to the quality of food you are getting. By far Best Cuban in the New Jersey, New York Area!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

10 of us out for dinner, service was good, food was good (hearty rather than gourmet) and atmosphere was good. $335 inc tip so great value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Cuban Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I don't know much about Cuban food but I do know that I love Rumba Cubana's Filete De Pescado Empanizado! It's a breaded and fried fish that has been marinated in garlic, oregano and lime juice among other ingredients. And, at $9 you can't go wrong - you get a huge fillet of fish and 2 sides.

I've also tried Camagueyano, which is a marinated shrimp appetizer flavored with lime juice, cilantro and onions. It was delicious.

In addition to getting the food right, Rumba Cubana has a wonderful ambiance - great for a date or a night out with friends. They have a full bar and a drinks menu that doesn't disappoint. So far, I've only tried the sangria which I enjoyed.

My only warning is that it gets crowded early, and even on weekdays. That said, it's been worth the wait every time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Cuban Food Gente!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I love the signature tasting platter. It is So good! It's a large portion of tasty tapas cuban style. Chicharrones, empanadas, tamales. The Mojitos are some of the best anywhere. I've had Mojitos in Miami, in Key West, and these are off the hook! I like the tradition ones the best though they have multi -flavored ones. Cozy little outdoor seating area where I sit with my dog and my man to hang out on a lovely sunny afternoon. You know the flip-flops easy going endless summer afternoon. Good food, good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cuba in Jersey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

When it was first open there was barely any wait, but now it is just like their first location. Be prepared to wait 1+ hours at times. But the food and sangria is great! I always get the skirt steak, plantains, and black rice and beans. But everything from the pork-chops with pineapple pieces to fried chicken pieces are delicious! When in the area do stop by and enjoy =)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumba Cubana Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rumba Cubana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumba Cubana Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.