We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Tonnelle Avenue, North Bergen, NJ 07047   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in North Bergen
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The lobby is attractive, the front desk is busy but cordial, and the lemonade and fruit on the table by the elevator adds a very nice touch. The rooms are not large(was difficult for me to iron)..but they're clean. Plenty of clean towels and toiletries. But the slamming of the doors is out of control. The doors are heavy. People don't close their doors but just release them and BAM!...not a nice feature when you want to sleep at least until 8AM. Doors started slamming at 6:30AM!
*The front desk should bring this to EVERY guests attention and ask them to be considerate when closing their doors early morning or late evening.* Thank you.

-Location is easy peasy into the city. However, the times of the shuttle aren't all convenient. Either 8am-12noon into the city and 8-11pm back from Times Square. The first night the 11pm back was 45 mins late, and had too many passengers. The center aisle was standing(it drops off at least 2 other locations!). There are other shuttle companies that pick up at the hotel...but it's all pretty confusing at first and not explained well by the front desk. They're pretty busy so don't really have the time to take to make things clear. The city bus is just as easy. Picked us up at the Super 8(up the hill out back around the corner) and dropped us off across the other side of that set of lights. No biggie. Safe enough area. I didn't feel threatened. A little bit of a hike up the hill to the bus if you're not a walker or have small children.
-WIFI connection was poor. Painfully slow.
-We used the pool but took the cushions off the loungers and put down towels instead. The cushions looked kind of gross and I had to wonder, how do they clean them?
-Breakfast. Yikes. It's like a cattle stampede. I've stayed at a lot of hotels with free breakfast and have NEVER seen the likes of this. It's the set up. The location of the items and the flow of the traffic just doesn't make sense. Coffee isn't on an end, but between the pancake machine and toasters on one side and food on the other? It was crowded and people were very rude. In spite of it all, the woman working that area was wonderful and pleasant. Along with your typical 'free' breakfast fare there is real orange juice, cream for coffee, and real scrambled eggs! I was in heaven. There was this biscuit and gravy thing you put over sausages that looked horrid but if it's your cup of tea, enjoy!
-However, in spite of the weak WIFI, cattle call breakfast, and the very strange shuttle services, I will give this place another try if the price stays less than $130 per night. If it's more, go elsewhere. Queens has a lot of nice hotels by the Metro which is easier to get into the city.

Room Tip: Keep your A/C fan running as it may drown out the slamming of the doors if you're trying to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear MaEastCoastGirl,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the services you received as well as your room accommodation and the noise. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    124
    82
    32
    42
See reviews for
145
59
17
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel was very clean and well equipped. Breakfast was ok . The only con was the slamming of the doors. Everything else was great. I would definately return.The access to New York was simple. The shuttle that services the hotel was great. The person running it does his best to acommodate everyone eventhough people show up at the last minute. In many instances he called for an extra bus. Compared to the price of a cab, nothing beats the shuttle.

Room Tip: Rooms with 2 queen size beds are well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments It was a pleasure to host you and it is a great satisfaction to know that you were satisfied with your stay. We are sorry if the slamming door noise bothered you .We assure you that, you will not be having chance to complain on your next stay with us . we would love to be a hotel of your choice and we look forward to welcoming you back soon !.
warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

NIce hotel and great breakfast! Great shuttle to NYC! Everyone was very helpful when we had questions! Room was also very nice!!! I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!!!! The shuttle was picked up right in front of the hotel then right by Time Square for the low cost of $7.00 per person round trip!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your delightful comments. We are very pleased to hear that the hotel met all of your expectations. It was a great pleasure to host you. Thank you very much to let us know your impression. We look forward of serving you on your next trip to our city .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We chose this hotel with its easy access to NYC and stayed for three nights. We were very happy with the free parking and free breakfast which was why we chose it in the first place. We also chose the hotel for the free WIFI; we stayed on the fifth floor of the hotel and could not have strong enough signal to even send an email. Anytime we wanted to use the wifi we would have to go to the lobby for a stronger signal.

Our room itself was flawless. Spacious, very clean, couldn't be happier.

Breakfast was great with a very nice selection of food. The line for the food was very long each day that we were there so prepare to give yourselves a lot of time to eat.

Access to NYC was very convenient with the shuttle (owned privately, not affiliated with the hotel). 14$ round trip to access times square. The shuttle ran in the morning 8, 9, 10, 11, or noon, and returned from NYC 8, 9, or 10 pm. We ran into major problems on our first night when our broadway show was until 10:30. The shuttles were so busy both ways to and from NYC. It was very stressful. There were SEVERAL groups of people that would get ahead of us since there was NO LINEUPS. One time we waited 30 minutes for the shuttle (we were the first ones there) and the aggressive people got on before us. I would HIGHLY recommend for this shuttle service to have a line formed so people are not dealing with these frustrations.

Room Tip: Fifth floor has the worst wifi reception, stay on a lower floor if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Christie T,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are very glad that you were able to use the location of the hotel to your advantage during your stay here. It is unfortunate the shuttle service and internet service prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We apologize that the items you mentioned did not adequately fit your needs. We wish to thank you for all your valuable comments and suggestions, these are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Good budget hotel for a family of 5 sightseeing NYC. Room was as on the hotel pictures, large, 2 double beds and a fold out sofa. Value for $$$ good. Breakfast OK, clean room, selection was adequate. Staff at front desk friendly when they finally get to you. Hotel is run on a shoestring and there was not enough staff at the front desk in the mornings. Also no printer at the "business Center" so don't plan on printing any tickets. The shuttle in the am. Was good, $7 return trip, drop off at 41st and 7th ave., steps from Times Square. Evening pickup a nightmare. Weekend drivers spoke incoherent English, stopped for pickup not where they told us to wait, did not control the rushing crowd at all. Two nights out of 3 we rode standing, short drive though, 20 min. I tried this hotel based on reviews here, recommend for budget mindful travellers but will not stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear GosiaW,

Thank you for leaving us a review regarding your recent visit. I am glad that the breakfast served suited your needs and you found our rooms to be of comfort. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have had with the shuttle service evening pick up. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Hotel rooms were clean, lots of room, beds were really comfortable, excellent friendly service, great continental breakfast but in a busy area. They provided a shuttle service from the hotel to NYC in the morning and picked up in the evening. The cost was $7 for round trip. The shuttle service Mario and Christian were friendly.

I recommend choosing this hotel for price and distance to the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us! We are glad to know that you were able to relax and be yourself. Thank you again for choosing our hotel amongst numerous others We would be honored to have you stay with us again and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights on the fifth floor. Since we had to leave the AC on at night, the noise from the outside was not an issue. The privately run shuttle service worked well for us. $7 for the return trip is cheap by NY standards. And the outdoor pool is unbeatable after a hot day. Staff is really friendly.and helpful. Excellent value!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. It was indeed an honor hosting you We will be happy to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel

Address: 2600 Tonnelle Avenue, North Bergen, NJ 07047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express offers a first-class hotel experience in the heart of the New York Metro area. This North Bergen hotel is minutes from New York University, Continental Airlines Arena, the Empire State Building, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center and Columbia University. The Newark Liberty International Airport is 10 miles away. The hotel is easily accessible from Route 1, Route 9, Route 3 and the New Jersey Turnpike. Newark Penn Station is also close to the hotel. Manhattan and New York City are minutes away via the Lincoln Tunnel, Holland Tunnel and George Washington Bridge. Greenwich Village, Madison Square Garden Arena, Times Square and Broadway are also nearby. This North Bergen hotel features a daily free, hot, Continental breakfast buffet. Additional amenities include free local calls, free weekday newspaper and free coffee. Guests will also enjoy the 24-hour exercise room and outdoor pool. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free high-speed Internet access in the room and access to copy and fax services. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 20 people for most events and business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel Hotel North Bergen
Palace Hotel New Jersey
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln Tunnel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.