We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Tonnelle Avenue, North Bergen, NJ 07047   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in North Bergen
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An OK budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Good budget hotel for a family of 5 sightseeing NYC. Room was as on the hotel pictures, large, 2 double beds and a fold out sofa. Value for $$$ good. Breakfast OK, clean room, selection was adequate. Staff at front desk friendly when they finally get to you. Hotel is run on a shoestring and there was not enough staff at the front desk in the mornings. Also no printer at the "business Center" so don't plan on printing any tickets. The shuttle in the am. Was good, $7 return trip, drop off at 41st and 7th ave., steps from Times Square. Evening pickup a nightmare. Weekend drivers spoke incoherent English, stopped for pickup not where they told us to wait, did not control the rushing crowd at all. Two nights out of 3 we rode standing, short drive though, 20 min. I tried this hotel based on reviews here, recommend for budget mindful travellers but will not stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear GosiaW,

Thank you for leaving us a review regarding your recent visit. I am glad that the breakfast served suited your needs and you found our rooms to be of comfort. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have had with the shuttle service evening pick up. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    146
    89
    37
    43
See reviews for
123
55
17
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Hotel rooms were clean, lots of room, beds were really comfortable, excellent friendly service, great continental breakfast but in a busy area. They provided a shuttle service from the hotel to NYC in the morning and picked up in the evening. The cost was $7 for round trip. The shuttle service Mario and Christian were friendly.

I recommend choosing this hotel for price and distance to the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us! We are glad to know that you were able to relax and be yourself. Thank you again for choosing our hotel amongst numerous others We would be honored to have you stay with us again and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights on the fifth floor. Since we had to leave the AC on at night, the noise from the outside was not an issue. The privately run shuttle service worked well for us. $7 for the return trip is cheap by NY standards. And the outdoor pool is unbeatable after a hot day. Staff is really friendly.and helpful. Excellent value!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. It was indeed an honor hosting you We will be happy to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express North Bergen is a beautiful hotel with great size rooms and a free breakfast. The problem with the hotel is the shuttle service and the guy that runs the shuttle service.

To begin our story, when we were picked up in NYC the shuttle driver told us the fee was $4/person and when we arrived at the hotel the guy named Mario told us it was $5/person. I understand this is only a $1 difference but it is the principal of the matter. As the rest of week went on he still wasn’t very nice, and I came to the conclusion that he’s not a people person.

One of the days my family and I needed to travel to and from NYC so we paid for a one-day pass, which was $7 and included a round trip to and from the city. When we were ready to take the shuttle back to the hotel we called the number and the person on the phone said they didn’t have a shuttle running until 8pm. So we were stuck in the city until we figured out there was a public shuttle service that drops you close to the hotel. We then planned to take the shuttle back into the city later that night and of course it wasn’t available. So we had to pay again for the public one. Flash-forward to the next day, I explained to Mario that I was going to use my ticket from yesterday (the round trip ticket), and he said no. I explained to him what happened and he started to raise his voice with me (with a nasty tone). After we exchanged some words I simply ripped the ticket in his face and walked away.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you aren’t planning on going into the city. If you are planning on seeing NYC when you’re on this trip I would recommend staying on Manhattan because you don’t want to deal with Mario and his unfriendly, and rude customer service. All he cares about his $4/person and after he has your money, you are dirt to him. If you are staying at the hotel tell I say hi and that I hope he enjoys his free breakfast every morning!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Matthew G,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and surpass the very high standards of service our guests expect.

I am sorry to hear your issues with our shuttle service. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you and deeply regret that this has negatively affected your overall experience.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very close to NYC, excellent service by the staff, they have a shuttle service for only $7 both ways to NYC Times Square, awesome, pool is great, the only thing is the bathroom and shower, they need an update and they smell a little, well the whole room actually, i guess cleaning has to step up but overall is awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you found the hotel to be clean and the rooms to be nice. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and are superior and the best in the area. I am pleased you had a very good experience at check in. We would definitely work on your suggestion regarding some updates that you feel are needed for the bathrooms and showers in all the rooms at our property.We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. . We appreciate your nice comment regarding the breakfast choices and our helpful and friendly staff.


Thank you for your review regarding your experience. I'm pleased to hear you like your room accommodation, amenities and felt you received a good value for your stay. Again we thank you for your review as we believe that we can only improve and enhance our services through our guests' feedback, and look forward to hearing back from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kreamer
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here as part of a New York City trip...Nice because its a few miles from the city and they offer a shuttle to and from the city for a small fee..I was very happy with service and the room itself..Will definately stay there again if and when we go back to New York!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you found the hotel to be clean and the rooms to be nice. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and are superior and the best in the area. I am happy to learn that you were very satisfied with the service you received from our staff. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service. We take all reviews from our esteemed guests very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again for your future stay because your loyalty towards us by choosing our property time and again whenever you are in the area would actually reflect our true standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel has a policy, so I was told by the receptionist, that Holiday Express expect their doors to the rooms to slam behind them as their patrons are in such a rush they can be halfway down the corridor as the room door shuts so they need to hear the SLAM to know it's closed behind them!!!!!!!!!!! Then they know their door is closed & their valuables safe!(NO safe in the rooms though) Apparently they are checked on this noise, never mind the guest trying to sleep.
The daily shuttle is limited in it's service, the earliest it returns is 8:30pm (back at hotel approx) so you are rushed to freshen up to go for dinner at The Nile Restaurant next to the hotel.
The breakfast is excellent & the lady in charge is a treasure & wonderful at her job.
Holiday Express should want their guests to sleep well at night surely.
By the way the first thing the receptionist say is "please give us a 10 rating on trip advisor"
I would say to them if the mark was for you all personally I would not hesitate to give each of you a 10 but I want to sleep in peace at night & a shuttle bus should run throughout the day hourly so I'm afraid as the mark includes this I cannot give a 10.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for leaving us such a candid review. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel and our friendly staff coupled with other amenities. We are deeply sorry that you felt uncomfortable with the noise due to the slamming of the doors in some of the rooms on your floor during your stay. I do apologize for discomfort and inconvenience you might have experienced due to problems related to the unwanted noise that must have disrupted your sleep. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve. I assure you, the concerns will duly be forwarded to the appropriate department, and we are going to necessitate remedial action at the earliest.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay/many more future stays more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask. We will be willing and eagerly waiting to host you in the near future with utmost pleasure and sheer aplomb. It will be our utmost pleasure to render you our hospitality services each and every time you around the area or in the vicinity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel

Address: 2600 Tonnelle Avenue, North Bergen, NJ 07047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in North Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express offers a first-class hotel experience in the heart of the New York Metro area. This North Bergen hotel is minutes from New York University, Continental Airlines Arena, the Empire State Building, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center and Columbia University. The Newark Liberty International Airport is 10 miles away. The hotel is easily accessible from Route 1, Route 9, Route 3 and the New Jersey Turnpike. Newark Penn Station is also close to the hotel. Manhattan and New York City are minutes away via the Lincoln Tunnel, Holland Tunnel and George Washington Bridge. Greenwich Village, Madison Square Garden Arena, Times Square and Broadway are also nearby. This North Bergen hotel features a daily free, hot, Continental breakfast buffet. Additional amenities include free local calls, free weekday newspaper and free coffee. Guests will also enjoy the 24-hour exercise room and outdoor pool. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free high-speed Internet access in the room and access to copy and fax services. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 20 people for most events and business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel Hotel North Bergen
Palace Hotel New Jersey
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln Tunnel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.