We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to throw a party!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sabor Latin Bistro

Sabor Latin Bistro
8809 River Rd, North Bergen, NJ 07047
+1 201-945-6663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 82 restaurants in North Bergen
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, Latin, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The inspiration for SABOR emerged as Latino roots migrated to New York, bringing along all elements of its traditions. The menu offers a wide variety of Continental Cuisine spiced to a Latin beat. Each dish, infused with seductive spices and tropical fruits from the Caribbean and Latin America, creates a distinctive taste that leads you to discover the exotic flavors that make our culture so rich.To best enjoy the flavor of SABOR, take the journey together. All dishes are served in a sharing concept. Order whatever intrigues you from any part of the menu. Your Server will be happy to guide you. Enjoy the journey!!
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to throw a party!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

The service and location is good. Fyi. Parking is kind of tight...maybe taking a cab is better. The food is more spanish infusion so if you want real spanish homemade food then go to your abuela's house. Upstairs has a great space for big group parties.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    5
    10
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unsavory Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I had an awful experience recently at Sabor Latin Bistro in North Bergen, New Jersey and I'd like to share it with the public.

I've lived in the area for 11 years, and eaten at Sabor many times, and always thought the food was pretty good. I decided to treat myself to dinner this past Tuesday night Feb. 7, 2012, and ate from their $25 prix fixe menu. I had the salad, salmon and coconut tres leches.

Within an hour of returning home I started to feel sick. Within two hours I was throwing up, all night long, until 6:00am. I had food poisoning.

When I called Sabor the next day and spoke to the GM, Manny, he was anything but sympathetic. Not once did I receive an "I'm so sorry that happened! How are you feeling?" Instead I was give excuses: "We serve salmon all the time. No one has ever complained of food poisoning!" I was made to feel like I was lying; why would I make up such a story?? To get...what? A free meal? I'm really not that desperate, Sabor.

Manny never took down my number, barely brought himself to ask for my name, and said I needed to call back the next day, after he'd "spoken to his chef". So I called today, Thursday Feb. 9th, and got some other manager (I was so mad within 2 minutes of the call I didn't even get his name). He immediately proceeded to spout off the same rhetoric as Manny.

Sabor doesn't care about their customers or their community. I will never eat here again, and I urge others to follow suit. If you get sick from their food, it's on you. Because of course it couldn't possibly be the fault of the restaurant who PREPARES the food, right?

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demarest, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Been here often and will continue!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We have eaten at Sabor's several times and each time we had great service, great food and fun atmosphere. Could get noisy at times but that is what this latin bistro is about, good food, and good company!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Latin Bistro!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Love Sabor! Many places call themselves a latin bistro but this place has nailed it. Excellent food @ good value with wonderful bartenders & attentive staff. You can sit in the dining room or at the bar. At approx 10 PM the bar area is cleared & the dance floor is open. You can't help but enjoy Sabor!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Colossal Dissappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

My boyfriend and I were seated without menus,...which isn't such a big deal, except for the fact that we were literally forgotten. After about ten minutes, my boyfriend stood up and wandered the empty restaurant in search someone who might be carrying menus. He found someone and we gave our drink orders as we browsed the menus. Another ten minutes passed, and we realized we were forgotten yet again. I begged my boyfriend to leave, but he was starving and there wasn't much else near by, so we figured we'd just ride it out. When we finally flagged down another waiter, we put in our order and inquired about our drinks. He said he'd get them, and, no surprises, forgot us AGAIN! Long story short- After waiting almost an hour to eat, we were fed before ever getting our drinks. No apologies, nothing. And the food wasn't even that impressive. My calamari was chewy. We left two pennies for tip and got the heck outta there.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabor Latin Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Sabor Latin Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabor Latin Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.