We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Stay EVER!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 North Bergen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 North Bergen to your Saves list
Super 8 North Bergen
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2800 Columbia Avenue, 495 East & Lincoln Tunnel Rd, North Bergen, NJ 07047   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in North Bergen
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Stay EVER!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have worked in customer service/management for over 15 years and never have I been treated so poorly or seen a staff so rude and condescending. My wife and I chose this hotel because of its proximity to downtown NYC. That being said, its closeness to Manhattan was its only positive quality. When we arrived late on a Thurs evening to check in I was told they could not locate my reservation. Fortunately, I have learned to be prepared while traveling so I brought in my printed confirmation from the car. After looking this over the front desk clerk proceeded to tell me my reservation had been cancelled earlier that day because they tried to pre-charge my credit card for my stay and the card wouldn't authorize. I thought this was odd because I had just used my card to rent a car and had no problems, so I asked him to verify the card #. The information he gave me did NOT match my information. Furthermore, I had also reserved a non-smoking room and the room he claimed they had for me was smoking. He also had no record of my Wyndham Rewards #. He acted like he was doing me a huge favor by getting me a room for ONE night (my reservation had been for TWO) at a much HIGHER RATE and said the manager could probably fix the situation when she came in the morning. My wife and I proceeded to our room which was barely large enough to contain the bed and small endtables. In an effort to make it seem bigger, one wall had been covered by a floor length mirror. The room smelled musty and kind of dank. The next morning my wife and I went down to the breakfast area which was a small room (8' x 12'). About 20 people were crammed in this small space holding their food and drink while eating their food prison-style. There was only enough sitting area for six people (and these spots were full) but no one left this area even to step outside the front door because of large signs posted by the hotel which said NO FOOD IS ALLOWED TO LEAVE THIS AREA. So we stood in this small, hot, smelly room just like everyone else and tried to enjoy our breakfast but that wasn't possible. Back to the matter of our reservation, I came back down to the lobby about 20 minutes later to speak with the manager but was told she was on a phone call. I spoke with the front desk clerk - Bridget - who asked what I wanted and after listening to my situation she told me no one would be able to fix my rate (or honor my reservation) but if I was willing to make another reservation right then and there she could get me in for one more night at an EVEN HIGHER RATE! At this point I walked down the block and checked rates at several nearby hotels and was able to make a reservation for less money at a much nicer hotel. After coming back to the Super 8 I was finally able to speak with the manager - Krystal. She listened to my story and proceeded to tell me the same thing as Bridget. There was never an admission of a mistake, no apology, and no attempt to adjust my rate from the night before. When I asked for her boss she told me that they do not handle customer complaints at the local level and if I wanted to pursue this matter further I must contact Super 8's customer care line. I can't stress enough to anyone who reads this, DO NOT STAY AT THIS MOTEL!! Whether your stay is personal, business, or otherwise it will ruin your trip. Travelers beware!!!!!! :-(

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel - it does not live up to Super 8's normal standards! However, if this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    287
    174
    48
    69
See reviews for
222
203
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BARBING
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Sorry, but my english is very poor. I can only a little bit speak english. I come from Germany an it is difficult for me, to find the right words for this review. But i has benn more times in USA. Last week I was in the southwes of USA (California, Nevada, Utah, Arizona) and I was visiting different motels. Your Super8 ind North Bergen was the best Super8, what I ever have visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I would never recommend this hotel. The staff is rude and unaccommodating. I did not stay at this hotel, but my car was on the verge of breaking down on the approach to the Lincoln Tunnel and I had to do an emergency pulloff - this hotel was the only place for me to park while I waited for emergency assistance. I spoke with their front desk manager and he refused to let me park in their parking lot - even though it was 30% filled and 6 pm on a Sunday night. Instead of helping - or at the least letting me PARK while I waited for a tow truck - he threatened to tow and impound my vehicle if I did not move it.

This type of behavior is not only bad business, it's bad values. If this is how they treat someone in need, it says very little about them as people -let alone proprietors of a hotel.

I would never support a business that treats people like this - and I hope whomever reads this review feels the same way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Visiting NYC can be expensive because of the cost of hotels. This hotel proves it doesn't have to be. We were reluctant to stay in New Jersey while visiting NYC but friends convinced us to give the Super 8 a try. The hotel was clean, the breakfast was adequate and the price was great. In 5 days of traveling on the $3 shuttle bus we never waited more than a minute. A good deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was struggling to find a cheap hotel in the city at short notice. There is a bus service all day which stops right outside this hotel and goes into Manhattan for a very small cost. Basic hotel, cleanliness ok and beds are comfortable. For the price....I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights / 4 days at this hotel and it was very good and plesant stay.
Continental breakfast was free and good with good options.
Shuttle comes/stops right outside the hotel. If none stops, just wave a hand at these privately owned ones and they quickly move over to pick you up. On an avg. you find a shuttle for every 10min and takes you to the 42nd street... almost next to Times square.
You can hop back in at 41st or around that block and very convinient.
Room was clean and bed was made everyday. No complaints for the price you pay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in August and I was not thrilled with it at first (room AC was off so it was humid and smelly when we got to the room) and I did not like that it was a motel (i.e. outdoor access to your room). But the main reason we had chosen this motel was how close it is to Manhattan and we got all we wanted there. We never had to wait more than 3 minutes for the shuttle in front the motel to pick us up (3$). And at night although it is a bit creepy looking to go down the stair at port authority to get to the shuttle it was actually really safe. The shuttle waits to be full which isnt usually more than a few minutes and then takes 10 minutes to bring you two blocks away from the motel. Back to the room, there is sometimes a little bit of noise but really nothing to keep you from sleeping. The bathroom was overall clean but you could see little black spots (meldew?) at the bottom of the shower curtain... The bed was not comfortable, the fridge was big enough to bring back some food and drinks from the grocery store across the street (you can walk there), the TV was flatscreen but did not work consistently(it would sometimes freeze for minutes at a time), the wifi is free and worked well.

The bottom line: it is very close to Manhattan, the breakfast is not much but still free and the rooms are clean. If you are not picky and are just looking to crash after a long day this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 North Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 North Bergen

Address: 2800 Columbia Avenue, 495 East & Lincoln Tunnel Rd, North Bergen, NJ 07047
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 North Bergen 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 North Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
Super Eight North Bergen
North Bergen Super Eight
North Bergen Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 North Bergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.