We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We fell even more in love!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wooden Duck B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wooden Duck B&B to your Saves list
Wooden Duck B&B
140 Goodale Road, Newton, NJ 07860   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Newton B&B and Inns
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
“We fell even more in love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I surprised my boyfriend Abel with a stay at the Wooden Duck for his birthday. Neither of us had ever stayed at a B&B before. At checkin, we were warmly greeted by two staff-members, Kathy and Bob. We were given a friendly tour of the main level, and shown where to reserve our breakfast time. From there, Kathy escorted us up to our room, The Ruddy. The size was perfect, it was incredibly clean and inviting. We walked around the grounds and took pictures in the evening, then went out to dinner at Chun Bo (which we found on the Wooden Duck's website) and I can say that the food at this restaurant was the absolute best Chinese food either of us had ever had! The service was great too!

Back to the Inn. It feels really nice and homely when you walk in this place. Kathy and Bob were at no point lurking, but if you needed them, they were easily accessible and very nice. The guest pantry was well stocked, although we only had one beverage a piece. They provide ice buckets and bags, and a corkscrew and wine glasses in the room. The bathroom is clean and spacious--with that cute country feel! There are binders in the room which tell you all the attractions locally. Not once did we even think about turning on the TV or checking emails. The environment is so relaxing that we just enjoyed eachother's company on a picnic blanket in front of the fireplace. OMIGOSH... the bed... sooooo comfortable! Unfortunately (for Abel) it was so comfy that I passed right out into a deep sleep! haha!

We awoke and got ready to come down to breakfast. We were greeted with smiles, brought orange juice and offered coffee or tea. A delicious muffin and fruit bowl was served to each. Then came the main selection. There was this AMAZING baked omelet souffle. It was puffy, and light and probably the best eggs EVER! Kathy and Bob had coffee and led the conversation about everyone's plans for the day, and told us funny bear stories! The meal and ambiance were very satisfying. We didn't eat again until evening.

I decided to go to the Spring Valley Equestrian Center, again from a recommendation on the Wooden Duck's site. I was even able to get a discount coupon from the Inn! Upon checkout, we wrote our thanks in the "guestbook" provided in the room, and read the happy experiences of others before us. The condition of the room and amenities definitely merited gratuity, which we also left. After checking out and saying farewell, Abel and I discussed how warm the whole experience was! We agreed that had we stayed a few more days, it would have felt as though we were leaving a family member's home!

Karl & Beth, although we didn't get to meet you we must commend you on how you maintain and run your Inn. Your choice in entrusting Kathy & Bob in your absence was definitely a great one! Thank you, and We Will Be Back! :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodenDuckBandB, Owner at Wooden Duck B&B, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are always very happy when we know that our guests have enjoyed their stays with us. We are especially pleased when the guests let us know that our "replacements" have done a great job for us during our absence. Thank you for the wonderful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    16
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
35
196
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

My overall experience at the Wooden Duck was wonderful. Carl and Beth were gracious host and the breakfast was divine. It was absolutely wonderful to be able to enjoy the tranquilty and I was even able to see some snow fall, it was gorgeous. Would diffently go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was my first B&B experience and I was not disappointed. The innkeepers, Karl and Beth, were so friendly and welcoming. The property is beautiful and is very secluded. Breakfast was fantastic and my room was clean and very cozy. If I'm ever in this area again, I will certainly come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had a great time at the Wooden Duck last week. Even with rainy weather it was a great experience with a perfectly sized room, great food, and quite atmosphere. Karl and Beth were wonderful hosts and very helpful with directions. Karl even gave us a coupon to a local restaurant when we told him where we were going. It was an exceptional stay.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms were built later - great accessibility to the rest of the house, wonderful fireplac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Karl and Beth were lovely and so accommodating! We stayed in the Golden Eye Suite which was beautiful - highly recommend it! The two person hot tub and fireplace was so beautiful and relaxing. The breakfast Beth made was absolutely delicious !

The whole experience was one of total relaxation and happiness. I would def reccomend and would return in a heartbeat !!!! :)
-Tiffany

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We highly recommend this Inn. Beth and Karl are very accomodating . Our room was very inviting and was immaculate and nicely decorated. Karl was very helpful in suggesting dinner places. There were plenty of games available to use which we shared with our friends. We have been doing B & B's with our friends for about 30 years and this is one of our top selections. Beth presented wonderful breakfasts as well. Will definitely try to return. The wooded setting around the Inn is very nice and relaxing . It looks like this would be a lovely place to go in the summer as well, as they have a pool and a very large property to explore. There are also alot of state parks very close to this which would be nice to see.

Room Tip: We had the Bufflehead which was lovely. This was a corner room, with a jacuzzi tub, fireplace and la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLEVILLE NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our first visit to the Wooden Duck BB. It was so relaxing and provided us with all we needed and more. Karl and Beth make you feel right at home, their friendly approach and pleasant conversation added to the enjoyment of our stay. The breakfast is top of the line, delicious with a warm atmosphere to add to the morning. What a pleasure to have breakfast in a room with a view to see nature - had fun watching the deer and many birds....Karl helped us to idenify the different species...such fun! Our room was great! Just like the picture online, we cannot wait to return and enjoy another room. This BB is well maintained, lovely surroundingsand decor, a perfect setting and ever so comfortableo. We have stayed in other BBs and have to say this one is TOPs!! Highly recommend it and we cannot wait to return! Thank you so much Karl, Beth and Staff.... Pat and Santo

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wooden Duck B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Duck B&B

Address: 140 Goodale Road, Newton, NJ 07860
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the rolling hills of rural Sussex County, New Jersey, The Wooden Duck Bed & Breakfast is an oasis of country pleasures. From the moment guests turn onto the quiet lane and winding drive leading to the inn, they are transported into a world of natural beauty and gracious hospitality. A hearty country breakfast is served in the dining room each morning, accompanied by juice, milk, and hot coffee or tea. The menu varies daily and begins with home-baked tea bread, coffee cake, or muffins, depending on the day. Fruit and breakfast meat, as well as French toast, pancakes, or a delectable egg casserole, complete the offering. Complimentary coffee, tea, soda, snacks, trail mix, and homemade chocolate chip cookies are also available anytime in the guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Groupon, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Wooden Duck B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wooden Duck B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.