We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emergency stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 North Park Drive, Newton, NJ 07860   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton
GreenLeadersBronze level
newton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Emergency stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Well my husband and I lost our power for a few days and had to go to Holiday Inn Express.
What a nice quiet place to stay. Our room was very spacious and clean. They made our stay feel like vacation instead of have to stay. The breakfast that's is complimentary is do good and fresh. You can get eggs cereal muffins toast etc.
I would recommend family and friends stay there.
Located in the center of Newton very close to some nice places to eats such as Applebee's , Villa Capri and there are a few places that will deliver to your room if you don't feel like leaving.
Price is comparable to other better hotels.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtonexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Ezorzi1,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express of Newton. We are so happy we were able to make you feel so welcome and relaxed while away from your home during your power outage. You can be sure your comments will be shared with the entire staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    33
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
12
11
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middle Village, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Newton isn't exactly Times Square, but we were here for a wedding nearby.

The stay was quiet and clean. The rooms are spacious. It has a large fridge, nice-sized TV, and the closet is huge. The bathroom is big as well with everything you'd expect in there. The wifi is one of the best I've come across at a hotel. The front desk was very courteous, respectful and helpful. The morning breakfast options were solid. It's not a 5-star restaurant, but it'll get the job done.

The location is fine. My wife and I don't eat fast food, but there's plenty of fast food options around the hotel. There's an Applebees restaurant next door, Dunkin Donuts down the block and a Walmart a stone's throw away.

All in all, it's everything I want in a hotel stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtonexpress, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Josepha,
We were so excited to know that we satisfied you during your recent stay with us.
Our team works very hard to provide quality service to our guests and are glad we were able to satisfy you. Please come visit us again and ask for restaurant recommendations as we have plenty of good eating places which are close and offer a discount for staying at the hotel.


The Holiday Inn Express
Newton, New Jersey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The staff was so kind and helpful. We came to see a show at the theatre and they helped us with directions and places to eat. The bathroom was so nice and the bedroom was perfect for the two of us. The fridge is huge! I was pleasantly surprised by that! The internet was the only thing that sucked. We were only there for a night so it wasn't a big deal, but it hardly worked for us.

If I ever find myself in Western NJ in need of a hotel then I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtonexpress, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Jennafxr,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are glad to know that you were satisfied with your room and the cleanliness of the bathroom.
Our internet is usually very good. Please come visit us again and if you have any internet troubles let us know immediately. At times it may run slow and we are not aware until someone tells us and we reboot it immediately. Thanks again for all your kind words.

Holiday Inn Express
Newton New Jersey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick Twp, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I had a great stay here... I had been told it was the best lodging in the area.... easy check in, comfy room, friendly staff... Had dinner at the Applebees next door and got a discount on the meal by showing my hotel room key.... breakfast had a slight snag when the pancake machine ran out of batter and the host could not refill it...the desk person was finally able to do it.... It was more expensive that I feel it should have been.....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtonexpress, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Nick D,
Thank you for your great review of our hotel.
We try very hard to provide quality service to our guests and are happy
that we were able to satisfy you during your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast.
Please visit us again in the future.

Holiday Inn Express
Newton New Jersey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed here for my wedding in June. We rented out 50 rooms in total. The price was $121/night, which I think is a little pricey for a hotel way out in western NJ, but it was the only large hotel around, so we were basically a captive audience. I am giving it 4 stars because the rooms are nice and clean, and the staff is wonderful. Allyson helped us every step of the way, and she was super responsive and helpful. The staff even left my husband and me some sparkling wine in honor of our wedding. They gave us a private room for brunch the next day (the brunch itself was included in the room price). Would definitely recommend for a big event or even if you're just staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtonexpress, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Marie D,
Thank you so much for your great review.
The staff works very hard to provide quality service to our guests and are glad to hear we satisfied you. We love having weddings stay with us and are glad you enjoyed the complimentary room brunch.
Enjoy married life and come visit us again in the future.

Holiday Inn Express
Newton,New Jersey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

First I arrived way early and was told yes my room was ready BONUS. The room though cramped was comfortable with the two beds. It was clean and had everything I needed, microwave, fridge plenty of charging ports.

The staff is super friendly. My only complaint was the air conditioner sounded like an airplane landing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtonexpress, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear McElspeth,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are happy to hear that you found your room comfortable and it had everything you were looking for. We are sorry that your air conditioner was loud, and that is something we'll definitely have our engineer look intoo Thank you for letting us know! We look forward to having you join us again the next time you're in New Jersey!
-The Staff at the Holiday Inn Express Newton, NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here one night when visiting the area.Desk staff was very pleasent, no problem checking in. Room was clean and comfortable. No issue with noise, comfortable beds with plenty of pillows. Free breakfast in the morning, good hot and cold food. Plenty of choices, and plenty of food. Would stay here again when I am back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtonexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Bart_Bear,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express of Newton. WE are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast too! You can be sure your comments will be shared with the entire Team! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta

Address: 8 North Park Drive, Newton, NJ 07860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to theHoliday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Newton Sparta. We are located in the heart of Sussex County, NJ and the closet Hotel to Sussex County State Fairgrounds. With location 12 miles north of Rt. 80 And just off Rt. 206, We are ideal for both the business and leisure traveler. We are minutes away from businesses such as Selective Insurance, Thor Labs, Rubber Fab and Newton Memorial Hospital. Guests will enjoy area attractions such as Space Farms, Mountain Creek Ski Resort & Water Park, State Parks, Delaware Water Gap and Lafayette Village.Our guestrooms are 100% smoke free and offer free high-speed Internet, free local long distance phone calling, microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker as well as flat screen TV, movies on demand and free HBO. The hotel features a complimentary business center and fitness room.Start your morning with our hot complimentary Express Start breakfast offering a variety of hot and cold items including our famous world s best cinnamon roll and pancake machine. Stroll down Historical Main Street in Newton and browse unique gift shops and antiques. Enjoy area restaurants ranging from simple fare to gourmet cuisine or just simply walk across our parking lot to our Neighborhood Grill, Applebee's.Whatever brings you to Sussex County, be sure to Stay Smart and stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Newton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newton Sparta
Holiday Inn Newton
Newton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.