We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 North Park Drive, Newton, NJ 07860   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“One of the nicest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are a little pricey but you definitely get the bang for your buck. This is probably one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in and I was really surprised to find it in little Newton. We used to stay in my husbands childhood room when we came up for the holidays... And this is SO much better !!! :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    33
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
12
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
prague
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I had reserved a room at this hotel for three nights over the Thanksgiving holiday. We came to Newton for a family gathering, and when we arrived after a five-hour drive, we discovered that there was a glitch in our reservation. We were extremely distressed, to say the least! However, thanks to the front desk crew and the manager on duty, (Kathy) we were soon able to resolve the situation and fully enjoy our visit with our family.

In addition to the helpful, caring staff, the hotel is very clean and comfortable. The rooms are well-appointed and the amenities on offer were of good quality. We enjoyed the daily newspaper with our breakfast in the mornings, and the little snacks in the lobby were a homey touch.

As an added bonus, we discovered that we were within walking distance of a major retailer that opened at midnight on Black Friday:-)

We would highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were over from England for a family wedding and stayed four nights. Right from the our arrival we received an exceptionally warm welcome from all the staff and this friendly positive attitude continued throughout our stay. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms a great size. The hotel was busy due to the hurricane but the service was not compromised in any way. We were visiting for a happy occasion and had an exceptionally nice time, all of which was complimented and enhanced by the high level of service and friendliness we experienced at the Hotel. We have no hesitation in highly recommending a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Township, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Newton, NJ for 6 nights, because we were without electricit when Hurricane Sandy came through. Prior to staying there, my Husband and I were at home without electricity for six days (but I did book a room in advance for two nights). After our 2-day stay, we were STILL without electricity. Alicia, Antonio and Kathy went out of their way to ensure our extended stay for an additional three days (when there was a cancellation, they called and we stayed another night, etc.). They are true professionals and the Holiday Inn Express is fortunate to have employees like that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Clean, close to everything, very courteous desk staff, good size rooms, quiet and safe parking lot. It's everything you want when passing through. Also has continental breakfast. Look for fresh chocolate chip cookies in the lobby. A nice welcome after a long drive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here in Oct 2012 while in Newton. Clean hotel / room. Comfortable with big lcd screen in room and free wi-fi. Applebees across parking lot. Overall liked the hotel and have no complaints apart from price. Thought it was a little overpriced for location, probably because there is little to no competition in the area. Asked if the rate could be reduced but no joy. Spent one night here and moved to another Holiday Inn nearby (20 min drive) for around $50 less (incl taxes) for remainder of week. Got same standard in new hotel but have to say, the cheaper hotel of the two had no Applebees or anything similar within walking distance. Good pub with food was a 5 min drive away and nearest town 5 - 10 min drive away. For us this was the best option as hotel just served as a base to come and go. All that said, I don't think it was outragously overpriced.

Room Tip: Had a room on ground floor at end of hotel, no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Nice hotel for business or leisure purposes. The room was nice and the bathroom was very clean. The front desk folks were very friendly and actually helped me get to the hotel because I was lost trying to locate it. Breakfast was okay, nothing spectacular - but quick and easy if you are on the go in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta

Address: 8 North Park Drive, Newton, NJ 07860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to theHoliday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Newton Sparta. We are located in the heart of Sussex County, NJ and the closet Hotel to Sussex County State Fairgrounds. With location 12 miles north of Rt. 80 And just off Rt. 206, We are ideal for both the business and leisure traveler. We are minutes away from businesses such as Selective Insurance, Thor Labs, Rubber Fab and Newton Memorial Hospital. Guests will enjoy area attractions such as Space Farms, Mountain Creek Ski Resort & Water Park, State Parks, Delaware Water Gap and Lafayette Village.Our guestrooms are 100% smoke free and offer free high-speed Internet, free local long distance phone calling, microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker as well as flat screen TV, movies on demand and free HBO. The hotel features a complimentary business center and fitness room.Start your morning with our hot complimentary Express Start breakfast offering a variety of hot and cold items including our famous world s best cinnamon roll and pancake machine. Stroll down Historical Main Street in Newton and browse unique gift shops and antiques. Enjoy area restaurants ranging from simple fare to gourmet cuisine or just simply walk across our parking lot to our Neighborhood Grill, Applebee's.Whatever brings you to Sussex County, be sure to Stay Smart and stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Newton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newton Sparta
Holiday Inn Newton
Newton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.