We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel with friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 North Park Drive, Newton, NJ 07860   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nice clean hotel with friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here in Oct 2012 while in Newton. Clean hotel / room. Comfortable with big lcd screen in room and free wi-fi. Applebees across parking lot. Overall liked the hotel and have no complaints apart from price. Thought it was a little overpriced for location, probably because there is little to no competition in the area. Asked if the rate could be reduced but no joy. Spent one night here and moved to another Holiday Inn nearby (20 min drive) for around $50 less (incl taxes) for remainder of week. Got same standard in new hotel but have to say, the cheaper hotel of the two had no Applebees or anything similar within walking distance. Good pub with food was a 5 min drive away and nearest town 5 - 10 min drive away. For us this was the best option as hotel just served as a base to come and go. All that said, I don't think it was outragously overpriced.

Room Tip: Had a room on ground floor at end of hotel, no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    33
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
12
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Nice hotel for business or leisure purposes. The room was nice and the bathroom was very clean. The front desk folks were very friendly and actually helped me get to the hotel because I was lost trying to locate it. Breakfast was okay, nothing spectacular - but quick and easy if you are on the go in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stay at HIX a lot and this property is fairly nice. Good staff in a small NJ town. The hotel was convenient to meals and the breakfast fare was what I expected. The rooms are clean but the AC unit could use some work. The room had been smoked in and was not completely free of smoke odor. The smoke odor was not overwhelming, but was there, just the same. I would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtonexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Bob6124,
Thank you for bringing it to our attention that you were not completely satisfied with the HVAC unit in your room. Please accept our most sincere apologies for any discomfort this may have caused while you were our Guest. We understand how important it is for our Guests to be comfortable while staying away from home and it is comments such as these that help us to improve our service and succeed in delivering the utmost service to our valued Guests. Please know that our Engineering department is inspecting each unit to ensure that they are working properly as well as finding better ways to prevent guests from smoking in the Hotel. We hope on your next visit we will have met and exceeded your expectations! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for a wedding weekend. The hotel is 6 years old. It is in very nice condition. The suites are very nice. Get a room with a couch.
The HI does not have a restaurant. They have a nice room for a breakfast buffet. There is an Applebees 100 yards away across the parking lot. This area has a lot of stores (food, drug, liquor, Dunkin Donuts) close by. Good location.
No pool.
The staff was fantastic. Alicia at the front desk was extrodinary. She was so helpful.
Nelson the handyman was always there to help. He was very friendly too.
Our stay here was Very Good, and this is coming from a loyal Marriott traveler.

Room Tip: Get a room with a couch. We stayed on the front side of the building facing the Applebees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtonexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about the Holiday Inn Express of Newton. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we succeeded in making sure it was a pleasant one. Again, thank you for sharing and we appreciate your comments and suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We just stayed here last night and were very impressed. It's clean and new. The rooms were excellent and the beds super comfortable.

Front desk staff was friendly and really gave you a welcoming feeling coming to the hotel.

I've never stayed here before I will definitely be back to stay again. My only regret is they don't have a pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fayette, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel was the best HI Express I have stayed in to date. Very clean, with comfy beds and a great shower. Breakfast was well presented with many choices for all tastes. I see the only bad reviews of this hotel deal with company policies. Please...if you don't read the deal before you book, don't blame an individual hotel. The staff here has been great, and if my daughter lands a job in the area, we will stay here regularlly when we come to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA area
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel is quite new and so knows what travelers are looking for in a "chain" type hotel. Nice bathroom with easy to use shower. Large room, with easy, quiet temperature controls. Very friendly staff and good spread for the morning breakfast. They had candies and fruit out in the lobby, as well as tea and coffee! I did not use the internet. I would recommend this hotel highly. PS The meeting rooms looked lovely and well laid out. (However, I was on vacation.)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtonexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Oldermom60,
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor! All of here at the Holiday Inn Express of Newton, NJ love hearing that we have succeeded in making our guests feel welcomed and special! We are happy that you had such and enjoyable leisure visit and look forward to your return. Thank you and enjoy the rest of your summer! Helen Moch-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta

Address: 8 North Park Drive, Newton, NJ 07860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to theHoliday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Newton Sparta. We are located in the heart of Sussex County, NJ and the closet Hotel to Sussex County State Fairgrounds. With location 12 miles north of Rt. 80 And just off Rt. 206, We are ideal for both the business and leisure traveler. We are minutes away from businesses such as Selective Insurance, Thor Labs, Rubber Fab and Newton Memorial Hospital. Guests will enjoy area attractions such as Space Farms, Mountain Creek Ski Resort & Water Park, State Parks, Delaware Water Gap and Lafayette Village.Our guestrooms are 100% smoke free and offer free high-speed Internet, free local long distance phone calling, microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker as well as flat screen TV, movies on demand and free HBO. The hotel features a complimentary business center and fitness room.Start your morning with our hot complimentary Express Start breakfast offering a variety of hot and cold items including our famous world s best cinnamon roll and pancake machine. Stroll down Historical Main Street in Newton and browse unique gift shops and antiques. Enjoy area restaurants ranging from simple fare to gourmet cuisine or just simply walk across our parking lot to our Neighborhood Grill, Applebee's.Whatever brings you to Sussex County, be sure to Stay Smart and stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Newton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newton Sparta
Holiday Inn Newton
Newton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.