We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun dining at the bar counter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Applebee's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Applebee's
6 N Park Dr, Newton, NJ 07860
973-940-3003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 47 Restaurants in Newton
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun dining at the bar counter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We came in to watch a world cup game. It was fun watching the games and eat at the counter. The bar tender was friendly. Food arrived quickly, but we were not pressured to leave.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nothing too exciting here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Been here a few times. Just average Applebee's. Plus manager decided to have convo with someone and involve me. Not cause I needed to be. Cause I was between them eating. Oh well

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“not the best Applebees I've been to”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I’ve been to many Applebees and I’m usually very happy with their food, but this one, the food wasn’t great. I had ordered a chicken Caesar salad, and the chicken, which I asked to be grilled and warm, came out cold. My girlfriend got a steak and soup, both came out cold. When we questioned this, the waitress said she’d speak to the kitchen, and came back 5 minutes later, asked if we wanted anything else, totally ignored the issued.

I would go back to another Applebees but I’ll be skipping this one in the future, wasn’t at all happy with the cold food, or the waitresses total disregard for us not being happy.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Typical Applebees but service is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Applebees has pretty good food for a fast food formula place. Our friends chose to have us meet them there. The visual atmosphere and decor is typical, but fun & comfortable. One member of our party was not happy with her meal and the manager made sure she got a satisfactory replacement.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Been here several times. Food is always good. This time i ordered the new honey pepper chicken strips with the 4 cheese mac and cheese. The chicken was really good and the pasta was cooked perfectly but it was a bit spicy for my taste

Our waiter Rich is always friendly, knowledgeable about various items on the menu and makes dining at this location a pleasure. I will definitely be going back when in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applebee's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.