We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   448 Route 206 South, Newton, NJ 07860   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Newton
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It is what it is.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

First of all, I have rarely stayed at lower end hotels and almost never at motels, but in this case it was the only place close to where I needed to be. The rooms where ok and pretty much clean. House keeping needs to pay more attention to small details. The room did smell musty and the carpet really needed to be replaced and the paint in the bathroom could use some touch up.The towels are thin but there where plenty of them. I liked that there is a microwave and refrigerator in the room. The staff was helpfull and nice. The rooms are only in the $70 to $80 range, so how much can you really expect. I would recommend to the management that they spend a little more on thicker toilet paper and tissue because you just end up using 3 or 4 times the amount of the thin stuff. All in all, I would stay again if I needed to be in that area. Restaurant next door has great food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    7
    1
    9
See reviews for
4
8
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bottineau, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

When you consider that one is in a Motel Room for the most part maybe (10) Hours,
" Econo Lodge in Newton/Andover" gives you the Best for the Buck!!! The STAFF is efficient, personal and friendly. You are treated like Family and Not a $$$ Sign. There is always some one in the Coffee/Office to Help You! I have stayed quite a few times and have NO COMPLAINTS!!!. Rates are Fair year round! Plenty of parking and in front of YOUR ROOM!!! Well lighted Parking Lot and Police Patrol it regularly! Quiet and Peaceful year Round! You got to try it!

Abby Normal recommends HIGHLY!!!

Room Tip: The Restaurant next door is "OUTSTANDING"", I will Not dine anywhere else in Sussex C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct, Usa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed at this place on 10/13/12 for some dog shows in the area. I figured it wouldn't be very good at all as they were less expensive than most of the area accommodation but they did accept dogs with only a $10 pet charge. After getting up at 4AM after a sleepless night, driving three hours and standing out in the cold, windy venue of the dog show all day long, when I saw the place I was thinking this is not going to be good. ( The old fashioned park in front of your room motel experience ) I was very pleasantly surprised by the extraordinarily comfortable king-sized bed, the nicely tiled and modern bath with good towels, the microwave and fridge, the cleanliness of the entire room and the many channels offered for the TV. I flopped down on the bed with my loyal Elkhound on the floor after his romp on the large grassy areas around the hotel and had a blissful night's rest. The only drawback was in the room right next to me in the form of two small, continuously yapping little dogs and their rather loud owners. Although a bit of sound insulation would have helped, I cannot hold the motel responsible for the racket of its clientele and I did not advise them of the noise which gave them no opportunity to rectify the situation. Considering there were MANY other dog owners that stayed there quietly ( and with breeds like mine that can be rather noisy if not controlled such as Malamutes and Norwegian Buhunds ) the blame for the noise near me has to fall upon the occupant of the room and not the hotel.
The complimentary breakfast was just the briefest nod in that direction. Some coffee and tea, I think there was some instant oatmeal and perhaps a bagel or two but it was not what I would consider a continental breakfast.
There is a restaurant right next door which I did not go to but it seemed to be doing a great business and is very handy for those staying here.
This is a far better place than many hotels in its category and I think credit should be given for that. I would definitely stay here next year for the shows.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruther Glen, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The rooms have recently been renovated. Very comfortable bed. Refrig, Microwave, and all other ammenities for a 2 star stay. What is really nice is the restuarant right next door - no driving to find a good resturant. I would recommend this to anyone traveling through this area.

Room Tip: We had the king size and it was very nice - ours was under the breezeway. Our night was a Thursday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

One of very few accomodations in this area and furthermore reasonably priced, we did not have much choice. The hotel turned out to be nothing more and nothing less than expected - exactly what you pay for. The value in this hotel is in the restaurant next door (not operated by the hotel). Bella Italia Pizzeria is so much more than just a pizzieria. The best Italian meal I had for ages!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This place was absolutely disgusting. When we checked in to our room, the television was on and the room smelled like smoke, as though someone had just been in the room smoking. The sheets were stained, the carpet was dirty, and in addition to the smoke smell the room reeked of must and mold. My friend had recommended Econolodge after staying in one that had very high quality and low cost, but this was the complete opposite. This room wasn't worth $10, let alone the $75 that we were charged.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Our family from out of town were comfortable and pleased with the accomodations. The staff could not have been more helpful and you can't beat the price. After reading some of the negative reviews, I simply can't agree. No, it is not the Hilton, but for a place to sleep and unwind after a day of sight-seeing, it was perfect. Thank you to everyone there for all their help and hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 448 Route 206 South, Newton, NJ 07860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.