We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and unassuming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscany Bistro

Tuscany Bistro
216 Woodside Ave, Newton, NJ 07860-2331
973-579-6966
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 48 Restaurants in Newton
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newton, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and unassuming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I love Tuscany Bistro and go there for special occasions. The last time we were there we had a warm goat cheese, mushroom, and roasted pepper appetizer that was absolutely delicious. It's extremely difficult, if not impossible, to find good Italian food in Sussex County, but Tuscany Bistro has it. Every time we have been there, we have experienced excellent food, great service, and a fair (if somewhat high) price. I highly recommend it, and recommend the aforementioned appetizer, if offered, and Chicken Picatta for an entree. The outside is somewhat run-down looking and it seems so tiny, but it is very nice inside and the food speaks much louder than the outside decor!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We will not be back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We tried the Tuscany Bistro after seeing mixed reviews. The only thing positive I can find was the wine and the service. The specials sounded enticing but were not even mediocre. The bread was tasty, but the olive oil for dipping was either old or just cheap. The Portobello appetizer was barely edible. The chef deep fried the Portobello then topped it with prosciutto, red peppers which probably would have been alright if he hadn’t drowned it with a jarred raspberry topping. The entrées were edible but also had deep fried ingredients as well as being drowned in toppings. Extremely overpriced for quality of food. We will definitely not return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Huge Portions Small Prices - Great Italian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Upon arrival, the building itself does not necessarily invoke the thought of gourmet Italian cooking but that's exactly what you'll get once inside. The cozy dining rooms are tastefully linened and nicely arranged. They have a great selection of typical Italian dishes but add their own flair to many of them. The prices, given that the portions are huge, are exceptional. You can get some awesome dishes like the Michelangelo past dish for less than $20, and a lot of great dishes around $15-$18.00. The four of us were warned about the size of the dishes so both couples split a dish AND WE STILL HAD TO take home two bags of left-overs. Amazing! We also had their Sangria which was better than most. Our server, Tara (we love you), was absolutely delightful and knowledgeable about the food and preparation. She made our day by being very pleasant and attentive. The chefs, Don and Raul were on top of their game and there was not a single complaint about any of the food. Try the Calamari Lucia as an appetizer (make sure you share it). It came covered with balsamic and brown sugar - delicious! The four of us split a Veal Marsala (very tender) and the Michelangelo Pasta with Angel Hair and chicken-great! That alone fed four people and there were still leftovers!!

Great food, great prices, and great servers!! What else is there???

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“relaxing and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The menu had a wide selection with many interesting items. The food was delicious. Relaxing atmosphere -- one could dress up or go casual. The staff was attentive and friendly. Would absolutely dine there in the future. Job well done.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Where's the kitchen staff? 95 minutes before we received our dinner.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We were warned when we entered that there was a "problem"I'm the kitchen. There wasn't a table in the place that had a meal on their table but we were committed to the place and decided to take a chance. It's clear that there was a problem and its unfortunate they didn't just shut the place for the night I think they did more damage (PR) by staying open.
When the food arrived it was hot and well prepared well but 95 minutes for the dinners to arrive was crazy.

We won't return.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscany Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Tuscany Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscany Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.