We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude park rangers/security” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Divide Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Great Divide Campground
Save
You added The Great Divide Campground to your Saves list
68 Phillips Rd, Newton, NJ 07860 (Formerly Green Valley Beach Family Campground)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save over 15%!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rude park rangers/security”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you are a large crowd with lots of kids looking to relax and have fun... this is not the place to be. Camp sites were too close to each other. Almost no privacy. We came with 5 families with lots of kids to celebrate a friends' bday and have a nice weekend before school starts. 5 min to 12am before we were gonna sing happy birthday to our friend, park ranger shows up and rudely told us to shut off our lights after he passes by the neighbor site with brighter lights (we kindly pointed that out).. did he do something about them? Loud music playing somewhere else, were they told to quiet down as well? Mind u, we were not really loud at all, just good conversation with friends. the ranger said kids were screaming.... we try to calm them down but we cannot cover their mouths when they wake up crying in d middle of the night! Ranger even said they received complaints about us in the afternoon. ??? First of.. kids were at the pool and pony rides all afternoon. Only thing i can come up with is we were picked on. Why? I dont know. Coz we are asians? other campers with loud music till 2am and bright lights were not bothered at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampgroundDirector, Manager at The Great Divide Campground, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear pgarcia01, Thank you for your input regarding your camping experience. Our quiet hours for our guests are 8am - 11pm and we ask that all guest respect those hours as they are a state law. We must consider all of our guests in the camping area and when we receive many complaints regarding a specific area we try and address the issue. We had guests come into the office during the day and afternoon regarding your camping area and spot light/scaffolding. I am sorry if you misunderstood that the complaints were regarding daytime noise not the previous Friday night. You can see that 12am is way passed the state law of quiet hours.

We also ask guest to be considerate with the use of lighting. Many campers are coming to our campground to enjoy the outdoors and do not want to see 10 foot spot lights coming from another campsite. The music in the distance comes from another event venue off site that we do not have control of. Our security guard is very careful to find the source of the disturbance before asking the guests to lower the volume of their music. His reasonable request that you kindly lower your music was ignored once he moved directly out of the area. Once he was a short distance away the music returned to its original volume. Our security guard is highly trained and is always considerate and pleasant when dealing with guests. We do ask that our staff members are treated in the same manner and their requests are complied with.

It is unfortunate that you did not take us up on our offer to resolve the issue in person as we requested so that you could have cleared up any misunderstandings you may have had. We go out of our way to treat everyone fairly and feel that many of our guests appreciate our sense of fairness and great customer service. The Great Divide Campground
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    25
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
70
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just spent thhis weekend camping at The Great Divide and let me tell you we really liked the campground and will definitely be camping there again. The grounds were beautifully kept and the people were super nice. The bathrooms were very clean, although the stalls were very small, including the shower stalls, but otherwise very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family and I went to the great divide for the first time after reading great reviews and boy were they short on discribing the place we couldnt be happier we were there for a whole week in one of the cabins the entire staff super polite, the place extremely clean all the time we cant wait for next year to visit again.
Thank you staff members you guys were awsome :) see you next year.
The Molina family

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampgroundDirector, Manager at The Great Divide Campground, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Bridges, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family and a few close friends spend 3 nights at the Great Divide this past weekend. We had 23 members all together and occupied 6 sites in the W area by the pond. We actually had the whole W section to ourselves which was a plus as having a large party can tend to be loud. The sites were large and very woody which was good because it rained the entire day the 1st two days that we were there. The trees shaded us from the rain and kept everyone dry and did not spoil our trip. The only downside of the campground was there were a lot of mosquitoes. I had sprayed myself with Deep Wood Off and also used the Off Fans and was still bitten up. Some of the kids were several bitten all over their legs even after being sprayed with mosquito repellent. We also believe they were bitten by ants as well. The lake is nice. You can fish on the row boats and padded boat in the lake free of charge. The guys caught some small Bass and release them back into the lake. There is an nice Olympic size pool with a diving board at the deep end of the pool which the kids loved. The bathroom and shower were right in front of our camp sites. The showers were clean but very narrow. A few of our parties seen baby frogs in the 2 of the showers. The staff were very nice. Workers would come by daily to check if we need ice and firewood. However, I was a little disappointed that there were no planned activities. I guess being a camper for many years, I am used to seeing weekly activities for families, like Ice Cream Social, arts and craft for the kids, bingo, Teen night, DJ/Live entertainment, stuff like that but there was nothing. Other then that we still had a good time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern, NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Great Divide last year and liked it well enough to return. Lovely, large wooded sites. Slow weekend meant not many neighbors. Lots of the campers were here in tents. I imagine that would be lots of fun because there's so much space to create a little "commune."

The place is hilly which makes it tough for kids to ride bikes too far from your site, which is not bad. Also provides part of the appeal. Security is great. Al even stopped by to give us his card in case we needed anything after his 1am retirement.

Good pool. Nice lake for fishing and paddle boats. Good community activities if you're looking for that kind of thing.

Bathrooms, however, are gross. I suggest knocking them down and starting from scratch. The small one by our site had 3 stalls, no showers, was cramped and muddy. Not much you can do to beat the mud except constant mopping. The main restroom by the pool is tiny. 2 cramped stalls and 2 small showers. No way in the world was I taking care of anything in there.

If they upgraded the bathrooms this campground would be a 5 for sure. Very pleasant staff and the kind of sites we like best.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It is such a beautiful place to be!
With planned events, clean, heated pool, fishing and free paddleboating lake! There's an airconditioned rec hall w/games and TV. Upgraded restrooms, fully stocked campstore, AND a friendly staff!!!!
We could've asked for more!
New owners and staff really go out of their way to make everyone enjoy being there!

Room Tip: Tent camping so great in "W" section and on "A-Hill"!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Thrilled with the Great Divide for our first family-camping experience -- on Fathers Day! Low stress, low price. Employees were very friendly and helpful. Tent site A15a on "the hill" was conveniently located for easy walking to the pool, pond, playground and "barn." Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Great Divide Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Divide Campground

Address: 68 Phillips Rd, Newton, NJ 07860 (Formerly Green Valley Beach Family Campground)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of New Jersey’s rural Sussex County, the Great Divide is your gateway to fields, forests, mountains—and the finest in New Jersey camping and recreation. Adventure, relaxation, family time or solitude, you’ll find it here. No matter what type of getaway you seek, we invite you to experience camping your way.With dozens of amenities and attractions, the Great Divide is the perfect vacation spot for families, couples and groups. Hesitant to leave creature comforts behind? We offer cabins and cable TV hookups. Prefer to ‘unplug’? Choose a primitive campsite and enjoy sleeping under the stars. From our Olympic-sized pool to our full schedule of family-friendly activities, there’s something for campers of all ages and interests. In addition to our beautiful locale, Great Divide visitors enjoy the hospitality of our friendly team. Each of them is passionate about protecting and enjoying the New Jersey outdoors—and they’re here to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Unforgettable experiences, friendly faces. They’re what draw people to the Great Divide, and what keep them coming back, season after season. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Divide Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.