We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best campground we have ever been to!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Divide Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Great Divide Campground
Save Saved
You added The Great Divide Campground to your Saves list
68 Phillips Rd, Newton, NJ 07860 (Formerly Green Valley Beach Family Campground)   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best campground we have ever been to!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at The Great Divide, formerly Green Valley Beach, for a month. From the first phone call to reserve until our departure, these are the nicest people you could ever hope for. The grounds are beautiful, pool is huge, lake is nice for small fishing with small boats available free of charge. The young men are so great with anything maintenance or even deliver wood, ice, anything you need. The new owners have really put their heart and souls into this place. All my kids and my husband loved it. Highly recommend to tent campers and big RV's!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    21
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern NY State
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent 2 nights Friday - Sunday @ The Great Divide Campground over the weekend of July 6-8. What a WONDERFUL camping experience. Facilities are very clean, Staff is SUPER friendly and accommodating and the activities are great. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Spent the weekend of June 8th at this campground for the first time and couldn't have been happier. The staff was friendly and helpful. The new owners are trying very hard to make improvements, which shows. Since the place was practically deserted, we had a whole section to ourselves, which was fantastic. The pool was heated and the planned activities plentiful. The bathroom near us was clean and always stocked with TP and paper napkins and the free showers had plenty of warm/hot water. The kids had a great time gathering kindling for the fire and there were even some wildlife spotted nearby. It rained Sat. night, but our site stayed mostly dry and not muddy. I will be recommending this campsite to family and friends and will definitely be returning. FYI, we stayed in a tent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern, NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We spent Memorial Day weekend at this campground. It seems like ownership has changed hands very recently. The new owners are doing a nice job. The grounds were lovely and the staff we met quite friendly. We didn't attend any activities but two staffers led us to our spot, which was great because the place is large. Interesting layouts with little cul-de-sacs and secluded spots. Staff also came by a few times for garbage pick up.

The only facilities we used were the pool and showers near the pool. The pool was a madhouse. No rules except for no running or flips from the dive. There were kids (and adults) playing with all manner of toys in the pool - balls, squirt toys, floats - really disruptive and rude. Especially if you have younger kids. With a pool that packed you need some kind of order to insure enjoyment for the majority. Hopefully, the new mgmt will realize before long.

The showers by the pool were a bit grizzly. No privacy so I don't think I would take a real shower there. The bathrooms and showers were also sparse and not easy to get to given the size of the place.

But overall a nice place that I imagine we will visit again, sooner rather than later if they get their pricing right. Not exactly worth the high rates.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I have had the pleasure of spending lots of time at this campground and I have always found the employees as well as the owner to be very friendly, and accommodating. They do all kinds of events for family, and for the children.
On on visit they had a pig roast and there was so much good food, another time they had Country line dancing in the barn, there is always something to do. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: book early and try for a site more appropriate to your specifications
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We have been seasonal for the last 5 years at this campground..... and we cant get enough of this place. I wish it was open ALL year. The wildlife is truely amazing along with the rustic setting of real camping in the woods and NOT in a parking lot like WALMART. The staff does NOT miss a beat when it comes to your safety with 24 hr. security as well as security gates at the entrance. Super clean Heated pool with lifeguards on duty that are also available to give swim lessons upon request. Private beach and pond for fishing and paddle boats with a very pretty fountain in the middle of it. Five clean bathrooms four of them have FREE private showers with hot water. The Game room / dance barn has video games and 2 full size pool tables. with staff on duty open nightly in season. Every Holiday weekend there is a DJ from 7:00pm til 11:00 pm that plays requests. They also have a few hayrides during holiday weekends and they make sure they go until everyone that wants to go on one gets a trip through the main part of the campground. The office has a store with most of the things you may have forgotten to pack or depending on how long you stay the things you run out of for sale. With candy, ice cream and slush puppies with lots of flavors to choose from or even mix and match. They have a laundry room with several washers and dryers open 24 hrs. The sites are large and have water.If you want a site with more they offer water sewer electric and cable. Channel 13 is the campground channel which rolls the activities and events. Most of the activities are free of charge if they have a breakfast or a dinner of some sort there maybe a small fee. The seasonal campers are also more than willing to help you get set up or show you around if you happen to get lost among the over 250 sites. Not to worry the main office has maps and hands them out upon registration. They have free Wifi near the office.The deck off the back of the store is covered with a few tables so that you can surf the net while over looking the playground and pool area The country setting and rolling hills that run through out the campground make it great for walks with nature or biking. So i hope this helps you all with your next choice and look forward to seeing you at Green Valley Beach. Thank you for reading my review Jason Haggerty M-18

Room Tip: they dont have cabin or rentals so there are no rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed one night from Saturday to Sunday and we camped by tent. Upon arrival it looked like our choice of campgrounds was a mistake. The woman we check in with was not very nice - there are some confusing signs about where you are and are not allowed to park when you check in and flipped out on us as soon as we arrived.......anyway, after that fiasco calmed down, one of the gentleman took us around to find a site. We picked an AWESOME site that was very near the restrooms and not near anyone else, it was up a little hill and because they were not crowded we had the use of two sites. There are some not so nice sites near the road, but we told him we were not interested and kept moving til we found our great site. My only regret after getting back was that we did not take a walk around to see the whole campgroud - next time when we go back! It was nice a quiet and there were wild rasberries surround our campsite. We had a little feast.

The lake was OK. We did not catch anything, but the guy next to us was (I guess we were using the wrong bait.) The pool was very nice and clean and my daughter had a lot of fun. They playground was nice, but we did not use it. There was supposed to be a petting zoo there - but we did not have enough time to check it out. We will next time.

At night, things got a little rowdy with at least two campsites but they were far enough away that I was able to have a great night's sleep - they seemed to adhere to the quiet hours. Had no issues. The bathrooms we stocked with TP and paper towels and I know it was cleaned in the morning because I smelled discenfectant and saw the floor was clean. It served us fine. Oh and each site had water and an electrical outlet - I had no idea! Worked well for washing dishes and our hands and didn't have to go down to the restroom. There are separate showers by the bathrooms - we did not use them so I can't comment on them, but they looked ok.

So what else....didn't really meet anyone so I can't comment on friendliness of other guests. All in all, we had a very good time - a very nice campsite (just pick out the one you want) and make sure you read the signs when you get there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Great Divide Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Divide Campground

Address: 68 Phillips Rd, Newton, NJ 07860 (Formerly Green Valley Beach Family Campground)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of New Jersey’s rural Sussex County, the Great Divide is your gateway to fields, forests, mountains—and the finest in New Jersey camping and recreation. Adventure, relaxation, family time or solitude, you’ll find it here. No matter what type of getaway you seek, we invite you to experience camping your way.With dozens of amenities and attractions, the Great Divide is the perfect vacation spot for families, couples and groups. Hesitant to leave creature comforts behind? We offer cabins and cable TV hookups. Prefer to ‘unplug’? Choose a primitive campsite and enjoy sleeping under the stars. From our Olympic-sized pool to our full schedule of family-friendly activities, there’s something for campers of all ages and interests. In addition to our beautiful locale, Great Divide visitors enjoy the hospitality of our friendly team. Each of them is passionate about protecting and enjoying the New Jersey outdoors—and they’re here to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Unforgettable experiences, friendly faces. They’re what draw people to the Great Divide, and what keep them coming back, season after season. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Divide Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.