We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DoubleTree-Newark, NJ "outstanding"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DoubleTree-Newark, NJ "outstanding"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My wife and I spent a week touring Manhattan and Brooklyn but were very happy with our stay at this hotel. The hotel itself has a beautiful, spacious, open lobby. Our room was also spacious. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. There personal interest made our stay even more enjoyable. Another feature that was note worthy was 4 computers in main area. Therefore no standing around waiting for one to come available. Also their hotel shuttle was a great convenience and this is one of the determining features we look for when traveling. We highly recommend this hotel to fellow travelers and we will return. Wayne and Bonnie

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate the details you outlined, especially those of the friendliness and helpful staff. It is our primary goal to exceed our guests expections each and every time. We value your business and look forward to being of service to you in the near future when your plans bring you back to New Jersey and trust you will select The DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport as your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    202
    166
    77
    50
See reviews for
151
125
51
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The quote at reservation phone call was not the amount that I received on my confirmation email. Upon calling hotel I was told they had no idea where I got that number as it had never been the room rate. No effort to honor the fee quoted to me was made. So I am not happy about what I paid for 4 rooms for 2 days. But the accomodations and service during the stay were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsip, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were stranded and I called the Double Tree and they were very accommodating and informative. We got to the hotel the check in was very easy and pleasant. The cookie was really good. Hadn't eaten so went to the resturant/bar and the bartender was very accommodating and pleasant. Nothing bad about staying at the Double Tree.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The proximity of the hotel to the airport was great. The shuttle service to the hotel was timely and the room was clean with ample amenities. Dining provided a good selection to choose from and service was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate the details you outlined, especially those of the friendliness and helpful staff. It is our primary goal to exceed our guests expections each and every time. We value your business and look forward to being of service to you in the near future when your plans bring you back to New Jersey and trust you will select The DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport as your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener,Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Large tourist/event hotel close to the airport and a toll bridge from Bayonne Port Liberty Cruise Port. Concierge arranged a N.Y.C. tour that picked us up and returned to the hotel after a 5.5 Hr. tour of Lower Manhatten. Shuttle service to the airport is available. Reasonable room rate ,service, and location makes this an 8.0 out of ten choice

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed near Newark at a different hotel that had great staff but felt very unsafe and no restaurant. The DoubleTree had great staff, felt safe, a restaurant, and room was quiet. I had early morning shuttle which left on time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
THANK YOU!! for recognizing our amazing staff!! It is such a joy to work with each of them on a daily basis. We are glad that you enjoyed the rest of the hotel as well. We can not wait until you come back to YOUR hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed here a few months back, and was less than impressed with the staff and facilities, but they've definitely upped their game. The room was nothing special, but it was clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The shuttle was prompt, the front desk was efficient, and the breakfast staff were very friendly. All in all, a good experience. I will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
I am so happy reading your review. Here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport we strive to deliver exceptional service and it is good to know that our hard work created a memorable stay for you. I will make sure to extend your compliments to all the hotel staff and we will be looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets. Our Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.