We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep your attitude to yourself” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay in NJ, Play in NY
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Keep your attitude to yourself”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just a note for those travelers thinking about staying at the Doubletree Hotel Newark Airport. Watchout for Little Miss Attitude at the front desk. Situation was a very simple request. My wife and daughter were arriving to Newark Airport on Wednesday the 17th of July 2013 at 9Am and would be leaving Newark Airport for Frankfurt Germany at 7pm the same day. I did not want them to have to stay in the airport all day so I used my Hilton points plus a small fee to book a room. I had contacted the Doubletree Newark Hotel the night prior to be assured that if the reservation was made the room would be available for a 9am checkin. I advised the staff member that my family would be checking in at approx 9AM and leaving same day at approx 5pm. I was advised a room would be made available for that request since the hotel was not soldout. Fast forward to the date in question. When my wife and daughter arrived they were greeted by LITTLE MISS ATTITUDE who without even looking into the computer to verify an available room immediately spoke out that there are no rooms avaiable and that Doubletree doesn't guarantee early checkin. My wife tried to explain the agreement made the night prior to arrival with the hotel front desk agent but LITTLE MISS ATTITUDE continue to make Doubletree guests feel like they were not needed to stay in this hotel. Finally Little Miss Attitude checked the computer and what do you think she found. YOU GUESSED IT. The room and the request made for the early checkin. All that Attitude for what? Nothing. The room was available. I hope the Manager of this Doubletree Newark Airport Hotel reads this. It would do a great service to the Hilton organization to retrain this individual. Remember a hotel is nothing more than an extension of ones home. When a guest arrives at ones home they want to feel welcome. The last thing they need is ATTITUDE from an ungrateful employee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgewaterHGI, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty. I am so sorry about your family's experience at the front desk. I can assure you that it is not standard to find someone at our hotel who isn't helpful. We strive to ensure our front desk agents and other team members know how much we value your business and I apologize for any issues. If there is anything we can do for you, please don't hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    180
    151
    71
    45
See reviews for
140
113
48
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

old furniture, bathroom smelled, ac was weak. I had to take as my flight was cancelled due to rain and ir was 10PM. The hotel was getting filled up and not much selection. Also did not get a distressed rate,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgewaterHGI, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Breakfast $50.00 and was not prep good, didnot enjoy my breakfast, could have gone to Macdonald or Dunkin Donut,After paying alot of money to stay there we have to pay for parking also, could not get to use a microwave .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgewaterHGI, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel and restaurant. We’re very sorry that you were disappointed with your entrée, and we’ve shared your comment with our culinary team. We’re improving our menu with your recommendations in mind. The next time you’re in the area, we hope you’ll come back to see the changes we’ve made and tell us what you think. We want to provide you with the best guest experience. Thank you for helping us improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Extremely slow elevators. Hard, burned cookies. Room in poor repair (example plugs all loose or not working). Very difficult to find hotel (using a professional car service with GPS). Front desk very slow to answer two calls (more that 10 rings).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgewaterHGI, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
The comments from our guests are very important to us so that we can find out if we are achieving our goals in providing service to you or so that we can find out how to improve our service. We also learned that we have failed to make your entire experience a perfect 10. We have shared your important feedback with our entire team so they can utilize your suggestions and comments as a learning tool for our future success. If you have any other comments that you would like us know about, please feel free to contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

DoubleTree at Newark Hotel is a pleasant to stay, with overall very satisfactory room qualities, cleaniness and facilities - perhaps the top 1 or 2 hotels overall around Newark Airport area. Highly recommendations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
All of us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport would like to thank you for writing on our tripadvisor page after your recent stay at our hotel. The comments from our guests are very important to us so that we can find out if we are achieving our goals in providing service to you or so that we can find out how to improve our service. We realize that you do have a choice of hotels and would like to thank you for choosing our DoubleTree to be your home away from home and hope you will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Okay, not in the lobby but right next to it in an odd 1970s atrium. The bathrooms are small and need to be updated. There was an odd smell in the room -- cleaner? -- but the bar was pleasant and the hotel was fine for a one night stay right by the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
All of us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport would like to thank you for writing on our tripadvisor page after your recent stay at our hotel. The comments from our guests are very important to us so that we can find out if we are achieving our goals in providing service to you or so that we can find out how to improve our service. We realize that you do have a choice of hotels and would like to thank you for choosing our DoubleTree to be your home away from home and hope you will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was the hotel chosen by our tour company. We had room 405, room that look out to the outside.

BAD
There was a weird red stain on the carpet and I felt that the washroom floor was not that clean. The comments from the previous guest was still on the table when we got there. I wrote a note for the maid but they still did not remove it during the duration of our stay. Our room connected to another room and we were able to hear them waking up, blow drying their hair and even snoring.

GOOD
Besides the negative points the hotel was quite comfortable and spacious (rooms and the common areas). One of the things I was impressed with was that the sheets and towels were pristine white. Although whenever I cleaned my face with the towel I did feel itchy (probably from the bleach, I have very sensitive skin). The gym was very well equipped with modern equipment.

OVERALL
Average experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets. Our Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.