We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good thing they give you cookies!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay in NJ, Play in NY
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good thing they give you cookies!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have found that when you book hotels through a third party website, the hotels give you the most crappiest room in the entire establishment. Case in point…my room here. Let’s start with the elevator. It took 20 minutes to reach our room. There was only one elevator working! The room we received was dirty, dirty, dirty. The sheets had suspect burn or dirt marks. There were hairs from other guests still in the bathroom. There was dried soap scum on the bathroom tile. There was caulking around the bathroom fixtures and drain. It looked as if they let a 10- year- old apprentice do the job. The sink had green scum around the handles and spout. There were huge, noticeable black spots on the rug. There wasn’t enough towels. The bed was unbearable. The first night we thought we were just exhausted, and that accounted for our back aches when we awakened. Night #2 we confirmed that it was the bed. Night #3 our cards to our filthy room were deactivated! Did they think that anyone would want to steal a stay in one of these grimy rooms? After a day of walking in Manhattan, this was the last thing I needed. I went to the manager with a vengeance! He changed our room happily with an “upgrade” to one with a view of the pool. This room was one level cleaner. There were a few differences: mouthwash was now available, there were two complimentary bottles of water near the ice bucket, we had a blanket on the bed, the black spots on the rug were fewer, and the mattress was a tad bit bearable. Is this the best that this hotel has to offer? Beware: If you want to park your car there you will pay $20./daily parking fee. No places to eat near the hotel, beside the Newark Airport. If you plan to take public transportation into the city, it will be very expensive to get there. ($12.50 per person one way via train; $6.50 per person with train/bus combo; see the concierge-they are very helpful). I will admit, the cookies are de-lish, and the staff is courteous.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel. Call the hotel to see if they can match the price from third party dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgewaterHGI, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We are currently working with our maintenance team to ensure that none of the issues you experienced with your room happens again. We would like to sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences and we hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    173
    145
    64
    43
See reviews for
135
107
45
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This surprisingly nice hotel beside I-78 was a short shuttle ride from the airport’s light rail station after I’d been issued airline travel vouchers for an overbooked return flight home. Surcharged onsite parking was near the hotel’s entrance. Both check-in and checkout were fast and gracious. The room was nicely furnished and not at all noisy; its air was fresh, not stale. Bed linens, furniture surfaces, and clothes closet were all clean. The bathroom was spotless. Cable TV, guest services phone, and HVAC worked fine. Window curtains shut out most ambient light. Hotel restaurant fare — burger, fries, salad, and bottled ale — was palatable, if ordinary. The bed and pillows were quite comfortable. A wake-up call came exactly when requested. The free 24-hour airport shuttle was convenient; its evening and morning drivers were efficient and courteous. Despite the many special events being held onsite, I was extremely satisfied with this hotel’s level of service and my experience as a hotel guest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
All of us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport would like to thank you for writing on our tripadvisor page after your recent stay at our hotel. The comments from our guests are very important to us so that we can find out if we are achieving our goals in providing service to you or so that we can find out how to improve our service. We realize that you do have a choice of hotels and would like to thank you for choosing our DoubleTree to be your home away from home and hope you will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our flight out of Newark was canceled and we went to the Kiosk at the airport to find a room close to the airport. After being told the first four we chose were full, I called the Hilton which was also full but they booked us at their Doubletree.
They picked us up with their shuttle and within 15 mins we were checking in and receiving our 2 chocolate chip cookies. They were the highlight of our exhausting 24 hr. day from Copenhagen, Denmark.
The room was clean, spacious and had adequate amenities. The only complaint was the AC. We were really hot all night and that is saying a lot for me.....I am usually the cold one.
The shuttle took us back to the airport early the next morning.
I would stay again at the Doubletree but would ask about AC when booking.

Room Tip: Sleep quality would have been excellent if the AC worked. The beds and lines were fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
All of us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport would like to thank you for writing on our tripadvisor page after your recent stay at our hotel. The comments from our guests are very important to us so that we can find out if we are achieving our goals in providing service to you or so that we can find out how to improve our service. We realize that you do have a choice of hotels and would like to thank you for choosing our DoubleTree to be your home away from home and hope you will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Air Conditioning was climate controlled. The most uncomfortable room temps I ever experienced. If not for the 92 degree weather it would have been an excellent deal. Went for a family reunion, and all cousins said the same thing. I would NOT stay here any warm months, a shame because overall a nice place!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We appreciate the positive recognition you referenced, however, we’re very sorry for the inconvenience you encountered. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We've addressed the issue with the engineering department and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The staff was helpful, courteous and friendly and the room was extremely comfortable, clean and quiet. What's more, I was able to park my car at the hotel while I traveled for a week. This was part of a package deal that I booked with the room night. It was a great deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
All of us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport would like to thank you for writing on our tripadvisor page after your recent stay at our hotel. The comments from our guests are very important to us so that we can find out if we are achieving our goals in providing service to you or so that we can find out how to improve our service. We realize that you do have a choice of hotels and would like to thank you for choosing our DoubleTree to be your home away from home and hope you will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've been there for 2 nights, for a CIEE meeting (exchange students). It's not bad if you're looking for a simple hotel. The room was good, with space... But there's no free wifi (if you want internet, you can use one of the computers of the hotel, that allows you 30 minutes of free internet.
I had really good meals. Anyways, is a relly quiet and calm hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
All of us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport would like to thank you for writing on our Tripadvisor page after your recent stay at our hotel. The comments from our guests are very important to us so that we can find out if we are achieving our goals in providing service to you or so that we can find out how to improve our service. We realize that you do have a choice of hotels and would like to thank you for choosing our DoubleTree to be your home away from home and hope you will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The quality of the room, especially the bathroom and furniture falls below the pricing for individual room. However, staff were very friendly, courteous, and helpful. The front desk personnel were quick to address all concerns.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets. Our Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.