We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite up to Doubletree standards yet, but not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay in NJ, Play in NY
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Newark
Houston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not quite up to Doubletree standards yet, but not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

As others have mentioned, this hotel was previously owned by another hotel chain (Sheraton), and that shows in some areas of the hotel. This is not a bad hotel - it's just that I don't feel that it quite measures up to other Doubletrees that I have stayed in. Maybe once the renovations are completed it will.

I'll start with the positives. The location is very convenient to the airport (obviously) as well as to New York City. I was greeted promptly and the woman at the check-in counter was extremely polite, acknowledged me as a Hilton Gold member, and was very courteous, efficient and friendly. The lobby area is decent and very large.

The room itself is really what led me to give an "average" rating. My room definitely showed it's age. Furniture was on the shabby side, bed was not all that comfortable (not terrible though), and the bathroom was downright ugly. Wallpaper was peeling in spots, tile and grout were dirty from age. Also - hot water ran out on me just as I was finishing up a 10 minute shower - this was at about 8:30 am. Not sure what that was all about.

I ordered room service for dinner - it arrived pretty promptly and was decent, although the sandwich was definitely small.

So far I have stayed at the Doubletree, the Hilton, and the Hampton Inn at Newark airport. I would say this rates somewhere in between the Hilton and the Hampton, but significantly better than the Hampton.

Overall - relatively comfortable and OK for a short business stay but far from luxurious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgewaterHGI, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we continue to work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    154
    114
    48
    32
See reviews for
113
92
35
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the DoubleTree before a flight to San Juan a couple of weeks ago. The rate we got on line about 3 months before was extremely good. And the room was large, clean and we had a small balcony overlooking the lobby/pool. I'm not sure when the prior negative reviews were written since I found none of the room criticisms valid in 01/2013. Desk staff were helpful & courteous (gave us directions to Hoboken for a night out before the flight). Shuttle to the airport on time & courteous. The only negative was that the pool was being repaired but since we were off to PR, it wasn't all that important.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a blacony overlooking the pool/lobby if the rate isn't higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is close to airport. It appears that it is undergoing some renovations. It's an older hotel with good bones. I found some evidence that the hotel is showing it's age. Some of the furniture was a little banged up. The grout work in the shower looked like an amateur did it. Couple of loose tiles in the bathroom that clicked when you stepped on them. Overall, I was quite pleased with my room. It was updated and cozy. Bed was inviting and comfortable. I saw evidence that the property was being improved (wet stain on doors, etc) Decent room service. Booked on Hotwire for $108 per night. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I almost missed my reservation because while on the Hilton website, I reloaded the page and the current date was replaced by my reservation date during the reload. I had just realized it 4 days prior to my stay that my reservation had passed! Thankfully the front desk fixed the problem and changed my dates for no additional charge.

I stayed at this hotel to visit my uncle in Jersey. Hadn't seen him since I was like 10yrs old - and I'm 30yrs!

It right near the airport and right near Jersey Gardens mall (Which has great stores and a especially a nice Sean Jean Outlet)!
The hotel lobby is created very nicely. The ceiling reminded me of a huge spider web. (Great Architect)! The room was about 98% cleaned. In my opinin, they need a bit of an upgrade for the bathrooms. I love soaking in hotel tubs and I refused to sit in that one..

Customer service was great and attentive. It was just a 1 night stay but it was certainly quiet and comfortable. I think I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

As a Hilton gold honors member I have stayed at many Double Tree hotels. This was by far the worst Double Tree I have seen. The hotel looks great on the outside. But the rooms need alot of updating. Furniture is extremly outdated, bathrooms horrible, not even premium channels were available. On their defense Hilton has not had this property for long, I hope renovations are coming soon. I know what Double Tree hotels should look like and this was not it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgewaterHGI, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. We would like to let you know that we are completing a renovation in all of our rooms. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, spacious rooms, plus mine had a view of NYC far into the distance. Nice atrium with chill out soft chairs and good pool area. Helpful staff, and complimentary shuttle service to/ from airport. But pricey - i was caught in storms and paid full price for about 5 hours use!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

After some customer meetings in NJ I dropped my rental car off at the airport and took the shuttle back to the hotel. The shuttle ride is a little long and convoluted, and I am not sure I would have found the hotel had I been driving myself, but the shuttle worked out well. The exterior of the hotel is a little uninspiring and there really isn't a lot around the hotel in the way of amenities, just other hotels, parking lots and a couple of light business units. There was some work going on in the lobby when I arrived so there is a renovation in progress. I was welcomed by the front desk as a Hilton Honors member and was quickly on my way to my room on the 6th floor.
Being an older building, it is solidly constructed out of concrete so there was no issues with noise from other hotel occupants. My room was long and thin with inadequate lighting but once the drapes were open it was much brighter. The room desk (a long built-in on one wall) was a bit tatty with some of the veneer chipped off by previous occupants, and the solar film on the window was starting to flake in places, but overall the room was relatively clean and tidy with everything you I needed.

This hotel is near the top of my list when I need to stay in NJ in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets. Our Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.