We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for park, sleep and fly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay in NJ, Play in NY
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Newark
kingston NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for park, sleep and fly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We used this hotel as an overnight stay before an international flight the next day. The hotel was very busy with displaced people from Hurricane Sandy. Despite this, check in was quick and very friendly. Our room was very nice and quite comfortable. We ate dinner and had drinks in the onsite restaurant, which was okay, but nothing special. the next morning we were shuttled to the airport. This was quick and efficient, although the shuttle goes to one central location, not to the specific airline terminal. Our car remained at the hotel in reserved, secure parking. When we returned, we called the courtesy phone at the airport and the shuttle was there within 15". All in all, this was a good hotel stay and the parking and shuttle experience was great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay overnight before a flight. And, it's a comfortable and cost-effective alternative to using airport parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgewaterHGI, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
All of us here at the Doubletree – Newark Airport would like to thank you for writing on our tripadvisor page after your recent stay at our Hotel. The comments from our guests are very important to us so that we can find out if we are achieving our goals in providing service to you or so that we can find out how to improve our service. If you have any comments that you would like us know about, please feel free to contact us directly. We realize that you do have a choice of hotels and would like to thank you for choosing our Doubletree to be your home away from home and hope you will continue to do so
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    177
    148
    67
    45
See reviews for
137
111
45
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SLC
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Most airport hotels are more than tired and this one is no exception.

When the room smells it just creeps me out. I had to turn off the ac/heat because the smell it was pumping into the room was nasty.

Who knows what is hiding in/on the dark carpet.

I had a room service burger that was passable filler but not good by any means. The soup has horrible.

I've stayed in worse but I will probably not come back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgewaterHGI, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with our cleanliness and for the unpleasant smell in your guest room. We try to be very vigilant in this area because we know how important a clean and comfortable room is for our guests. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our housekeeping staff to freshen our property so this is not an issue moving forward. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area you’ll consider staying with us again so we might show you the quality stay you expect and deserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Typical Double tree immenities plus an indoor pool. Used to be a Sheraton. Value priced and staff is great. Try to check in early as alot of delayed flights or canceled flights use the property for passangers. Lots of order in options for food as well. Property breakfast is good, on parr with most Doubletrees.

Room Tip: Stay on the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgewaterHGI, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
All of us here at the Doubletree – Newark Airport would like to thank you for writing on our tripadvisor page after your recent stay at our Hotel. The comments from our guests are very important to us so that we can find out if we are achieving our goals in providing service to you or so that we can find out how to improve our service. If you have any comments that you would like us know about, please feel free to contact us directly. We realize that you do have a choice of hotels and would like to thank you for choosing our Doubletree to be your home away from home and hope you will continue to do so
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hotels is in need of some renovation/upgrades in the area around the lobby. Restaurant menu is limited and average quality. Lots of guest would walk to the hotel next door for more choices and ambiance. Hotel is good for an overnight stay, very close to EWR Airport and offers free shuttle service. Staff does it's best to keep up with all needs. With proper remodeling this hotel has great potential

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doylestown, pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

stayed for 2 nights in room 1130. no response by managment to complaints: electical socket had been removed, so no lamp or coffe maker available, furniture tired and chipped, hallway filty, one out of four elevators not running.

Hotel is neglected and deteiorating and the price charged reflects the quality of service.

Room Tip: don't ask for room 1130 unless its been re-done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgewaterHGI, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We’re very sorry we didn’t provide you with the high quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issue with the socket in your room and our maintenance team has since fixed the problem. We’ll be sure to keep your comments in mind as we continually work to improve our guest experience and hope you’ll consider giving us a second chance to show you the value in staying with us if you return to the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed a total of three nights at this hotel at the beginning and end of a vacation to the east coast. We chose to stay at a hotel that offered a free shuttle to and from the airport in order to catch local transit into Manhattan. All the hotel staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. The shuttle service served our needs well. The rooms were comfortable and clean, although they are showing age and wear. The rooms all had small patios that faced the large, open area of the hotel. Noises and voices echoed quite a bit in this area, but it did not disturb our sleep. The beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here overnight a few days after the big storm that hit the area.
The hotel is next to the airport a large road and a prison. none of which affected our stay. However it is miles from anywhere. On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful a coach load of us arrived from the airport, 4 checkin clerks soon sorted out our rooms.
The rooms were spacious but a little tired, light switches and bathrooms had seen better days.
There is an indoor pool for guests which looked appealing although I did not use it. There is a bistro restaurant and a seperate bar for snacks. both were staffed well and service was good. There is also a complimentary shuttle to the airport every 20 mins during the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets. Our Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.