We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 US Hwy 9, Rt 1-9 S / I-78, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Bakersfield, Ca
1 review
“Stinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When I called to find out if they had a free continental breakfast they said yes and gave me the time. That made their prices cheaper. When I got there I found out you can buy a "continental style breakfast" at the restaurant. There is not a free continental breakfast. Their prices for their 24 hour sandwich kiosk were excessive. I hate it when people just outright lie to me.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    342
    209
    108
    73
See reviews for
221
312
123
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked this as part of a group booking prior to cruise from NYC. Booking was not easy.Phone messages were not replied to and when we eventually got a confirmation it was for Phoenix not Newark and we had to contact Wyndham's again.We therefore decided not to use this hotel post cruise. The hotel is isolated and can only accessed by car or shuttle.It takes about one and a half hours to get into NYC.We had a non-smoking room but the air conditioning sent the smell of smoking into the room. Quiet, so slept well and food OK

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, AK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Wyndham Garden for two separate nights on my way in and out through Newark Airport. Both of my rooms were clean and comfortable with up-to-date furnishings. The front desk staff were helpful and the shuttles ran on a timely schedule, even in the wee hours of the morning! I would be happy to stay here again in the future.

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotelnewark, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your nice comments. I’m glad you enjoyed your two stays with us and hope that you will indeed stay with us again soon. We take pride in our friendly staff and in providing services and amenities that improve the quality of guest stays. Nothing is more important to us than a pleasant guest experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Never again will we use either this hotel or Newark Airport. It's located in the middle of an industrial wasteland. It is noisy outside next to major freeway interchanges & noisy inside with large special events. It has barely edible food at its "restaurant." The best food & coffee is at the bar for pickup snacks in the lobby. It's old & tired. The pool closes much too early on hot humid days. The shuttle drivers seem unaware of passengers who are not yet seated as they gun the rattling cage into action.

Room Tip: Ask for quieter room near the pool. The pool noise is actually less the industrial & freeway no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotelnewark, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to leave feedback. I’m sorry that you didn’t have a pleasant experience with us. Nothing means more to us than providing a pleasant guest experience, and we’re always working to maintain and improve our hotel. While you may find the airport itself or our neighborhood lacking, we take pride in the things that are under our control and regret that we couldn’t satisfy you more fully.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For the last 5 years, I've taken an european trip in the fall. I fly from Phoenix to Newark, spend the night and fly out the next day and do the same on the return from my trip. This year was disappointing in that neither my room mate nor I were able to take hot showers @ night or in the morning. The water was tepid at best. There was a big crack in the sink with white paint attempting to cover it.The food at the cafe was fine, but the aoccomodations were not so good. Rosalie Welty

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotelnewark, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I regret that our hot water wasn’t hot enough for you. I also apologize that we failed to meet your expectations in other ways. We’re always working to make this hotel better and to enhance the guest experience, and I hope you’ll make us your first choice for next year’s trip. We promise that the experience here improves with each passing day.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room could have used a little dusting. There appeared to be a layer of dust on all of the furniture, which I promptly began to write my initials in. There was also a large, unsightly stain on the carpet -- have no idea what it was.

My biggest issue, however, was the room service process: You order service, and if paying by credit card, the server takes your physical card back to the kitchen and out of your sight! My card was out of my possession for about 15 minutes, and I began calling the kitchen to find out what happened to the person who took my card! In these days and times, this is a ludicrous process -- why not have card swipers at the point of sale? Since returning home, I've constantly checked my bank statement to ensure there has been no unauthorized use of my card. In the day and age of identity theft, this process is just asking for problems. Very bad process, and one that the customer does not know about until it's time to pay for the delivered food. If I wanted to lose control of my credit card, I'd leave it in the middle of the lobby floor and let everyone have a turn with it. And, to put the icing on the cake, the food wasn't even that tasty; the reuben sandwich had one piece of corned beef on it that you needed a magnifying glass to even see. I've been to more pleasant Wyndhams -- hopefully, this one was an anomaly.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotelnewark, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that the room and the room service food didn’t meet your expectations. I also apologize that our carefully controlled credit card handling process caused you needless concern. We take pride in our security procedures and also in providing the best possible guest experience in every way. Despite our confidence in our processes, we’re always changing and improving.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 550 US Hwy 9, Rt 1-9 S / I-78, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport Hotel for your next trip and enjoy the results of our $10 million renovation. Located directly across from Newark Liberty Int'l Airport, our convenient location is 15 miles from NYC, 5 minutes to Jersey Garden Outlet Mall, NJ Performing Arts Center, Downtown Newark, and 12 miles to Meadowlands/Giants Stadium. We offer 349 well appointed spacious guestrooms, 3 richly decorated suites and 10,000 square feet of meeting/banquet space. Enjoy our top-of-the-line services and amenities including a newly renovated state of the art fitness center, business center, complimentary 24 hour shuttle service, 24 hour grab and go and more. Treat yourself to accommodations at the Wyndham Garden Newark Airport Hotel where our staff consistently strives to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newark
Newark Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.