We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about the Staff: Service - Hospitality - Warmth - Humor - accommodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 US Hwy 9, Rt 1-9 S / I-78, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newark
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All about the Staff: Service - Hospitality - Warmth - Humor - accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

My stay was great on all counts, however, on my way out was where it became exceptional.

As I was leaving, I became stranded in the hotel lobby for hours when my scheduled transportation failed to materialize.

Jennifer and Terri made every accommodation to make my very long wait much more than tolerable - actually enjoyable, with Terry even singing a pitch perfect Al Green impression!

Stranded with a dead iPhone, and a lost power adaptor, I was unable to work my way out of my situation. Witnessing my predicament, Jennifer offered me her charger to get my phone back up - allowing me the ability to make other transportation plans.

While I waited for my phone to regain connectivity, Jennifer made calls on my behalf from the house phone until mine was up again. She also was very charming with a great, and witty, sense of humor - and yes, I did develop a bit of a crush on her by time I was able to leave with my ride :-)

The whole time Jennifer and Terri were exceptionally kind and doting around my every need - and, as I witnessed their interactions with other guest, their patience, grace and warmth were evident throughout every guest contact. They we not just "being" nice - they were genuinely caring for each individual.

if I were a local resident of Newark, I would poach both of those gracious ladies away from the Wyndham to work with my clients - and I can promise you my client loyalty would double within a month!

My hats off to you amazingly ladies!

Johnny Miano

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    357
    217
    110
    75
See reviews for
228
324
127
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I booked for a Park,Sleep, Fly room with 14 days parking. Got to the hotel they said it was not booked properly by GetARoom.com and it was for a regular room only. I asked manager if he could help correct the situation. He said no but I could pay 25.00 per day for parking at the hotel plus the 131.00 I already paid. That would have added $350.00 on to the bill to total a one night stay plus parking to $481.00. I sad I would like to cancel the room. He said, NO go back to get a room. I went out in the parking lot and called get a room from my cell phone, they tried for over 15 minutes to work something out. They said the hotel was completely un cooperative and there was nothing else left to do but dispute the charge. I left got a room at Country Inn and Suites by the airport paid 140.00 for the room and 14 days of parking with no problem. I suggest you use them instead. They were took a nightmare and made my evening my better. Just received a notice from get a room .com that the Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport continues to refuse to refund the money. I have disputed the bill with American Express.

Can only imaging what the hotel service is like if the front desk treats there customers in this manner.

Room Tip: Use Country Inn and Suites by the Newark Airport for Park, Sleep Fly instead much better customer re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

First time to stay near Newark airport and overall was good. We waited quite long for the free shuttle in the airport. The restaurant has various options.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I was on business in New Jersey and stayed at another Wyndham property for work. On my way out I became stranded at the airport because of my flight cancelling. From my past experiences with the Wyndham brands, I chose to stay at Wyndham Garden and the stay was just amazing. Not only were the front desk agents friendly but they were extremely efficient. This may not be the most updated property at Newark Airport but for the price, it definitely was above and beyond. The rooms were more than sufficient considering I just needed a place to rest.

Thanks Wyndham Garden!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was actually my second home for a while because my old place's lease ran out and I was still waiting for the dumb bank to close on my apt.

It's a bit more pricey but still cheaper than NYC. This is actually an upgrade from the Red Roof Inn in Edison which is half the price. But after seeing an actual bed bug from Red Roof Inn, I decided its not worth the price. Plus, here is much closer to the city and about 15 mins drive depending on traffic.

The hallways are quite drab and depressing but the rooms are not too bad. The only thing I hate are the cable channels. No ESPN or CNN but they have that at the bar.

The bar is great and a good hang out. You meet all sorts of people as some are just there to wait for their connecting flights. I eat here most of the time because its so convenient and bartender Eric is quite a character.

I actually enjoyed staying here so much I decided to stay an extra week after my apt have already closed. But I'll miss this place and it was fun while it lasted.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 550 US Hwy 9, Rt 1-9 S / I-78, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport Hotel for your next trip and enjoy the results of our $10 million renovation. Located directly across from Newark Liberty Int'l Airport, our convenient location is 15 miles from NYC, 5 minutes to Jersey Garden Outlet Mall, NJ Performing Arts Center, Downtown Newark, and 12 miles to Meadowlands/Giants Stadium. We offer 349 well appointed spacious guestrooms, 3 richly decorated suites and 10,000 square feet of meeting/banquet space. Enjoy our top-of-the-line services and amenities including a newly renovated state of the art fitness center, business center, complimentary 24 hour shuttle service, 24 hour grab and go and more. Treat yourself to accommodations at the Wyndham Garden Newark Airport Hotel where our staff consistently strives to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newark
Newark Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.