We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel! Great Front Desk!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 US Hwy 9, Rt 1-9 S / I-78, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
“Great Hotel! Great Front Desk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Wyndham Gardens is truly a great stay. Above all my review is in regards to the Front Desk Staff as I truly have not had such hospitable, and gracious customer service in a very long time. A special thank you to Jose who everyday greeted me with a warm smile, a how are you, and is there anything we can do to make your stay better. Above all he would go out of his way to call me every night and ask if I would like a wake up call the next morning without me evening having to ask anyone. He went out of his way to find directions for me and actually was a reason that I chose to extend my stay with Wyndham for a few extra days as I was needing to stay longer in the Newark area.

I highly reccomend this hotel as the rooms, location, and again staff truly make it one of the best in the area. The personal touches really make a difference. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    357
    218
    110
    75
See reviews for
228
324
128
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I first stayed here when the hotel was known as RAMADA. Since it has been rebranded by Wyndham the hotel has had a complete makeover. The foyer entrance is warm and inviting, leading you straight to reception area. The staffs are always polite, courteous and professional and check me in with speed and efficiency. The rooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable and clean and the bathroom stocked with plush white towels and amenities. Every room has a safe, iron and ironing board and coffee maker. However, what makes me return time and time again is the warm reception that I receive from every staff member, many of whom has been with the hotel from the very beginning.
As if to reinforce this commitment that the staffs have for their customers, I recently accidentally left my credit card at reception upon checking in. Fortunately, receptionist Val rang my room to say she had found it and was keeping it safe for me and would ensure it was returned personally.
Having stayed in many hotels around the Newark Airport area over the years, this is by far the best value for money, location and comfort.

Chris, UK

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are close to the business and fitness room.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights with my boyfriend, and it was a pretty nice stay. One of the best parts of the hotel was the food ! All I can say is wow ! The food was amazing, only bad thing was that it took a while for the food to come out. The rooms where an adverage stay. The bed was good, the pillows where awesome. This hotel is a good place to go for a night or two, it's not a luxury hotel. If that's what you are looking for I would not recommend staying there. Other then that would I stay there again, the answer would be yes.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great price point, but really not worth the save if you need to travel to the city. However this review is not about the city pricing or tolls, but the hotel itself.

The shuttle service is unreliable in terms of timing, too small to run every 30 minutes as there are more people and luggage than the bus can take. Additionally though, if it actually ran on the 30 minutes then maybe it would be OK, it is more like 45 minutes. Thanks to the location (off a highway) of the hotel, it is an absolute nightmare to find. Despite looking out at the runway, it takes 20-30 minutes to get from the airport to the hotel.

The hotel amenities are OK, they do have a pool, though outdoors. You have to pay to use the business center which is a first for me. $3 minimum for credit cards and 25c a page for printing!

Bar has a nice feel to it, but the restaraunt is more like a diner style, cheerful, but not overly cheap!

All in all the hotel will not see me back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementewr, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest thank you for your opinion. It is always disheartening when we don’t meet a guest’s expectations. Our complimentary shuttle busses' are 24 passenger vehicles. That runs every 30 minutes. It is on very rare occasions that the shuttle cannot accommodate everyone. When this occurs the bus makes a double trip. The ride form the hotel to the airport and vica versa is only 5 minutes unless there is traffic. We apologize for any delays. We also offer 100% FREE Complimentary WIFI to all our guests and the business center does have a nominal fee, but boarding pass can be printed complimentary. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 550 US Hwy 9, Rt 1-9 S / I-78, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport Hotel for your next trip and enjoy the results of our $10 million renovation. Located directly across from Newark Liberty Int'l Airport, our convenient location is 15 miles from NYC, 5 minutes to Jersey Garden Outlet Mall, NJ Performing Arts Center, Downtown Newark, and 12 miles to Meadowlands/Giants Stadium. We offer 349 well appointed spacious guestrooms, 3 richly decorated suites and 10,000 square feet of meeting/banquet space. Enjoy our top-of-the-line services and amenities including a newly renovated state of the art fitness center, business center, complimentary 24 hour shuttle service, 24 hour grab and go and more. Treat yourself to accommodations at the Wyndham Garden Newark Airport Hotel where our staff consistently strives to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newark
Newark Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.