We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beds are nothing to brag about!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 US Hwy 9, Rt 1-9 S / I-78, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    383
    241
    123
    84
See reviews for
241
356
139
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Pulling up to this hotel, I was sure it was going to be mediocre or worse, but the staff was cheerful and helpful, the restaurant was better than expected, and the bartender was fun. We are musicians, and they even let us rehearse in a conference room that was unoccupied.

All the amenities are of a basic three star hotel, but the fact that the staff was helpful and nice and that there is a restaurant made it a very good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I booked this airport hotel due to trip advisor ratings but after my experience I'm surprised it has a 4 star rating on here. At most, it's definitely a 3 star. Had a long flight with delays, connect flights, etc. and got to P4 station at EWR airport pretty late around 10 pm. I was sooo upset to find out that we had to wait 30 min (we had just missed a shuttle) for the complimentary shuttle to come around again. It was 10 min late so we actually waited 40 min. What makes it worse is seeing every other hotel shuttle pass by multiple times! Definitely not worth it. One of the biggest point in booking an airport hotel for me is knowing that there will be a quick reliable transportation from the airport to the hotel. When we finally arrived at the hotel, a couple in front of us was telling the check in person they had come from Australia. The check in person then gave them a free voucher saying they can just have it to use once at their restaurant. Then they talked forever with the couple saying how excellent the service is at the hotel. Meanwhile, everyone else was waiting in line to check in!! Of course, no free vouchers for the rest of us lol. The room itself was clean and nice. However, the shuttle was too long of a wait and killed it for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is the 4th time we have stayed at the Wyndham and I will not be back!

I was in a group of ten and we booked three rooms at the Park and Fly rate for our trip to Jamaica. We all checked in without any issues and will say that we were pleased with our rooms. We shared a room with another couple and had two Queen beds. The room was clean and had no issues with anything in there. The free wireless internet connection worked fine and had no problems staying connected.

We all ate dinner at the Starlight restaurant and enjoyed our food at a reasonable price.

We checked out the next morning and all got the shuttle without any problems. The driver dropped us off at the United terminal as we had some flight crew members getting off so that was nice. Be advised that the shuttle can get full so be prepared for that and allow enough time to make your flight.

Now comes the not so nice part. We returned into Newark 1/12/2012 and after a long day of flying and waiting in long lines we more more than ready to get on the road for home which was gonna take about 2 hours. Be advised that the Airtrain is not in service from terminal C due to construction. You must go to level 3, door 5 and take a bus down to P4 so you can get the hotel shuttle. Not the easiest thing to do as you must put your luggage on the bus by yourself. Would not be easy for someone with a disability or the elderly. Once back at P4 which was at 8:45 PM we went outside and waited for the shuttle. Knowing that the shuttle comes on a 30 minute cycle we called the hotel at 9 PM to let them know we were there and a group of ten waiting. The woman who answered said that she did not see the shuttle and that he must have left and should be there in a few minutes. Well we waited, waited some more and finally at 9:25 the driver arrives to a not so happy group who have seen other hotels pass more than once. Well of course there are more people who have arrived and the shuttle is totally full. We return to the hotel and than have to go inside to get our ticket so we can exit the parking lot. More time waiting as there are many people checking in including a flight crew from USAIR. Finally get the ticket and we are out of here.

I must say that have waited in the past but never for this long. This is a deal breaker for us and will be trying another hotel brand in the future on our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementewr, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your experience. What a disappointment it is for us to have not met your expectations consistently. I apologize for not being more helpful with the Newark Airport Air train (monorail) temporarily not servicing terminal “C”. Unfortunately, we do not have any control on the Newark Airport Air train. Our complimentary shuttle does operate every 30 minutes, after checking our logs the driver did stop to refuel which caused a delay in the terminal pick up in which you experienced. Your comments will be shared with our dispatch to assure a better scheduling for refueling. The hotel’s front desk team does their very best to try to quickly service the guests waiting on line, so wait time is at a minimum. According to your opinion, it appears you arrived during an airline crew group arrival. Once again I do apologize for any inconvenience, and for not delivering a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked this hotel through Stay123.com for one night before the cruise and got free parking for 9 days. The hotel is a bit dark, old but clean and comfortable. We got two double beds as requested. The food at the restaurant was good at reasonable price. The service was good. The staff was nice and friendly.

Cons: the fan/heater in the room is noisy but after 8 hours driving, it did not bother us that much. It would be nice if it's quieter. The next morning, we bought a muffin, a danish and coffee at the counter in the lobbly, the danish was so dry I thought is was from the day before.

We did not use the free shuttle service, so can't comment on it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREENVILLE
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It is an OK hotel. Is closer to NYC and affortable. It is not a brand new hotel but it's clean and the people are friendly. The internet access sucks. The walls are thin so you. Can hear noises. But you should be tired by then after all its just a place to rest temporarly. I will not suggest for business trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

There are quite a few hotels right around the airport and they are fairly similar. I actually chose this one based on tripadvisor reviews. If I have an early flight, I take the train in the night before and stay in a hotel. I was here in late October and had a positive experience. This time when I arrived at P4 and tried to call for pickup, no one answered the phone on numerous occasions. I learned the policy is pick up every 30 minutes. I waited longer as did someone who came in earlier. In fact, the other hotels had 2 shuttle pickups before the wyndam picked up once. They had only one driver working even though they have 2 vans. That's one for all of the pick ups and drop offs regardless of how many people. And that is only every 30 minutes. In the morning the 7 am shuttle was so full the entire aisle was lined with people. The driver's solution was not to take us to our terminals. He drove to P4, the hotels' pickup location and told everyone, but crew, to exit. We then had to take the rail link to our individual terminals. Too bad if you had a lot of luggage and planned on doing curbside. Too bad for the family with the little kids. No other hotels were dropping off at P4 just the wyndam. The actual hotel experience is typical, however the heaters in the room are so noisy it is impossible to get an uninterrupted night's sleep. When the fan motor kicks on, it's like having a Mack truck in your room. On and off all night. Another couple complained of no sleep for the same reason so it was not just our room. (We didn't use the heater during our previous stay.) Oh, and while you and the crowd are waiting in the lobby for the shuttle to the airport, don't expect any complimentary coffee. It is for sale only. So the result is with so many other chains to choose from, I am going to pick one with shuttles that run continuously, like double tree, Fairfield, Hampton, but not Wyndam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementewr, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your opinion. We apologize that your experience with the complimentary shuttle service was not convenient. All airport hotels offering shuttle service are required to pick up and drop off at the P4 Newark Airport Air Train stop. This system has been in place since 1991 and mandated by Port Authority who governs Newark Airport. This procedure was put in place to reduce traffic in and out of the terminals, and for safety. The Newark Airport Air train/ monorail runs every 3 minutes and takes less then 5 minutes to the terminals. I disagree with your report that other hotels run a constant shuttle to/from the terminals or from the P4 station. Our every 30 minute complimentary shuttle runs 24 hours a day 7 days a week, perhaps in the future we can consider running it more frequently. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 550 US Hwy 9, Rt 1-9 S / I-78, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport Hotel for your next trip and enjoy the results of our $10 million renovation. Located directly across from Newark Liberty Int'l Airport, our convenient location is 15 miles from NYC, 5 minutes to Jersey Garden Outlet Mall, NJ Performing Arts Center, Downtown Newark, and 12 miles to Meadowlands/Giants Stadium. We offer 349 well appointed spacious guestrooms, 3 richly decorated suites and 10,000 square feet of meeting/banquet space. Enjoy our top-of-the-line services and amenities including a newly renovated state of the art fitness center, business center, complimentary 24 hour shuttle service, 24 hour grab and go and more. Treat yourself to accommodations at the Wyndham Garden Newark Airport Hotel where our staff consistently strives to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newark
Newark Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.