We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 US Hwy 9, Rt 1-9 S / I-78, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Not a bad place to stay for a visit to the area. Near the highway exit and within easy drive to downtown Portland for sightseers. The Restaurant has a decent selection but service is really slow; we think they had some new staff that were just starting out. Otherwise not a bad stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    383
    243
    123
    85
See reviews for
242
357
139
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Short shuttle ride back to the airport, Hotel is very nice for a airport hotel. Friendly staff, clean well maintained. Bar / restaurant has great food at a fair price. Bed could have been more comfortable but after a long flight from Europe and missing my connecting flight I slept just fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick,NJ
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We try to stay here when our travels leave from EWR. This hotel has always been clean and a great value with a friendly staff. I have filled out their surveys in the past and I mentioned their rock hard beds. With this stay, they fixed the problem with a memory foam matterss topper. Brilliant! Now you can get up for your flight and feel you had a great nite sleep. Their shuttle to and from the airport is timely and comfortable. Definately will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just stayed here for three nights while we were visiting New York. The shuttle to the airport runs every 20 minutes so that is helpful. Once you get to the airport in Newark, you have to take the AirTrain to the NJ Transit train which takes you to Penn Station in NY. For us,it was a 60 to 90 minute trip each time we went into NY ($25 per person round trip). This was costly in both time and money, but still beat paying NY hotel prices. The room was clean, plenty big enough, pretty quiet (air conditioning noise helped block out other noise) and the bed was very firm (too much for me, but my husband loved it). My only disappontment was the towels--very thin and small. The onsite restaurant was very good and everyone on staff was friendly. The elevator is super slow, but some things you just overlook.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've stayed here 4 times now. We stayed twice this year, one night in July and one night in August. We park and fly, we find it's so much better than getting up at 3:00 am rushing to get ready and worrying if we're going to make it to the airport on time. (We live about 1 1/2 hrs. away) We book thru "stay123.com" It costs about $125. plus taxes for a one nights stay plus 14 days free parking in their lot. It winds up costing much less than if we hired a car to take us to and from the airport. Now about the hotel, when we stayed in July, we were in room 281 and the air conditioner kept us awake all night - it would turn on and off every 10 minutes or so and the fan sounded VERY loud. We mentioned this and when we came back in August we had a much nicer room. A very nice desk clerk by the name of Eddie put us in room 314. It was an end room away from everything and it was nice and QUIET. We had a great nights sleep. While the hotel is nice and clean and the staff is friendly the hotel is kind of on the darker side, how to explain this would be to say we've also stayed at the Fairfield Inn just down the road and it is very bright, nice light colors and it seems more up to date.(exact same price). This might seem like a complaint, but it's not. It's just an observation, we don't stay long enough for it to be a real concern. The Fairfield is MUCH harder to get to, don't even try it without a GPS. Also when we stayed there the free shuttle didn't come for about 50 minutes when we were coming home from vacation and they didn't care, so that killed it for me. I might try them again in the future. Back to the Wyndham, The parking lot seems very secure, it's fenced and has a guard gate when going in and out. That's very important to me as Newark is not the best of places. In 4 times we've never had any problems with the car. (we do take our older car just in case) To sum it up this hotel is a fine place to stay if you are looking for a place to park and fly. You will notice that a lot of the airline personnel stay here, so that also tells you something. I was going to give them a 4 rating but I still remember room 281 all too well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

You will be very surprize with this hotel quiet plus good food . Their was no need to go out of this hotel has a small store plus a restaurant and bar . Very clean room housekeeping was very good and friendly

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg Pa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed only one night because we were cruiising the next day. They have a "Park & Fly" plan, so you can leave your car there up to14 days. The hotel was clean, comfortable and every member of the staff was very pleasant and helpful. They have a restaurant, lounge, 24 hour snack bar and a well-equipped sundries shop. We will stay there again when the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 550 US Hwy 9, Rt 1-9 S / I-78, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport Hotel for your next trip and enjoy the results of our $10 million renovation. Located directly across from Newark Liberty Int'l Airport, our convenient location is 15 miles from NYC, 5 minutes to Jersey Garden Outlet Mall, NJ Performing Arts Center, Downtown Newark, and 12 miles to Meadowlands/Giants Stadium. We offer 349 well appointed spacious guestrooms, 3 richly decorated suites and 10,000 square feet of meeting/banquet space. Enjoy our top-of-the-line services and amenities including a newly renovated state of the art fitness center, business center, complimentary 24 hour shuttle service, 24 hour grab and go and more. Treat yourself to accommodations at the Wyndham Garden Newark Airport Hotel where our staff consistently strives to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newark
Newark Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.