We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102 (Newark Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good location, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

For the price of one night at a questionable hotel in Manhattan, we stayed two nights at a nice hotel in Newark. The location is great - walking distance to the arts center and Newark Penn Station. A free 24 hour shuttle is available also. One of our drivers, Terry, was especially helpful in giving us options for getting into Manhattan. The trains to Manhattan run 24/7, and are safe and reliable.

The hotel has parking available - our package included free parking, a huge selling point for us.

The staff are all quite friendly and helpful. Our room on the third floor had a view of the Manhattan skyline. It was clean and not too small, with a mini fridge, a coffee maker and complimentary water. Toiletries included shampoo, conditioner, lotion, shower cap and shoe mitt. Free wi-fi was strong and consistent. We could hear people talking - not what they were saying - in adjacent rooms. Soundproofing could use some improvement.

Free breakfast was available until 11:00am. The ladies working the breakfast were friendly, and Julia welcomed everyone who came in. (The coffee wasn't so great, but everything else was fine... Actually, the in-room coffee was very good.)

We typically stay with relatives in Manhattan! And this was our first experience in a hotel there. We would definitely go back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    332
    152
    58
    48
See reviews for
170
240
102
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here during my visit to NYC and from a logistics point of view the hotel is great, you can walk to Penn Station and the shuttle can pick you up if you come late at night. The rooms are OK, a bit outdated, but clean and beds are comfortable. There's two negative points that I saw which luckily didn't affect me too much; first, is that the walls are not soundproof; this means you can hear a lot of what your neighbors do and say. And second is the noise the elevators do, which I was glad I was very far from them (had luckily a room in the corner of the building). The service is OK and the breakfast is a bit simple, however the coffee was good! The area is a bit dodgy though, I went for a walk in the morning and didn't feel very safe but it might be that it has to do with fact that I live in a very quiet and safe area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

If in the Newark, NJ area to catch a show, concert or event in Newark proper, great location. If for any other reason look else where. Do not consider property to host an event. Poor service from catering staff, food fair quality but not much of it. Hotel restaurant not owned by hotel, very expensive. No where within easy walking distance to eat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ald isle, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I was born and raised in Newark,NJ. I never thought I would ever come back to stay at a hotel in this city. But the Robert Treat is special. It is close to New Yok with a more reasonable rate. Plus it is close to the "old neighborhood" of down neck. Nice to walk Ferry Street again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

the Robert Treat is a well run, 3 star hotel. Its biggest asset is it's location- less than a 10 min. walk to the hockey arena, fast, easy access to Manhattan at about half the price of a Manhattan hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnersville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel was ideal for what we needed. One night stay to watch the Flyers play at The Prudential Center. Center within a short safe walk to and from hotel. Don't expect much from their internet. Majority of the time limited or non-existent. Very clean environment and room though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a very busy Friday night for the Joseph Prince event. The parking was a little chaotic, but they were able to get us valet parked fairly quickly. Our room was very clean and was a decent size. We also had a nice view of Manhattan from our room. Staff were very friendly and helpful with all of our questions and needs. The ladies in the breakfast room were fantastic and "too blessed to be stressed". All in all, a very good experience and I would return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Address: 50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, Agoda, Best Western, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Robert Treat Hotel
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western
Robert Treat Newark
Robert Treat Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.