We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102 (Newark Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Newark
Sindelfingen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Solid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A hotel with history. Some things are a little worn, but everything is clean and well kept. Rooms on the upper levels have a great view (with almost skyscraper-feeling). Walls are quite thin, you can hear loud TVs or door activity in neighboring rooms. Very nice and helpful staff, especially in the breakfast room where the choice is good and food and drink is plentiful. Small lobby store and room service provide you with food and drink, especially since there is little around the hotel.
Penn Station with PATH is a 10-minute walk away. If you want to go to Manhattan, calculate in 45 minutes "door-to-door". Keep in mind that PATH trains do not run frequently after 11pm, it might take a while back to the hotel. Hotel offers a shuttle service to/from Penn Station and Newark Airport.
I can absolutely recommend this place as an inexpensive alternative for New York tourists!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    345
    139
    56
    46
See reviews for
139
204
89
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay here, although there were some issues mainly with the other guests. First the price was great compared to a hotel in New York City. The reception was friendly and fast, and for the first time ever we were given a ticket for storing our luggage and it was put in lockup and we could not get our luggage back without the ticket, very secure. Breakfast was great with a large selection, hot and cold. The only problem was the small breakfast room and limited seating, we went later the next few days and it was better. The rooms were standard Best Western, except the bed was a little lumpy. Great access to New York City. A ten minute walk to the train station, buy the train passes, and you are in the city in no time. The free shuttle to and from the airport is fantastic, great money and time saver. Our only complaint was the other guests. The noise was insane, but they were dealt with promptly after a call to the front desk. The other guests are not the problem of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hotel was overpriced for its service. I arrived 1 AM in the night and turned on Heating as it was 50 F outside and my parents were from overseas shivering. I realized AC was running from half an hour. Called front desk who told they don't have heating in 50 F. Asked for portable heater - they did not have. Asked for blankets at least. After 2-3 follow ups and half an hour around 3 AM they said they don't have blankets too! I asked to get it from a different room atleast to pass a night. They said it is against our policy. I finally asked that you want us to shiver here for whole night? And the guy said they don't know what to do. Asked for manager Royes, they said you cannot speak with him now (What is the use of him then??) Asked for manager call back in the morning at least - never called back. Informed to front desk the same story next morning. Nobody called back. I woke up with sore throat and cold next morning and messed up whole travel plan. Either I will take full refund or publish these details on public blogs and convey it CEO's desk in written.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yehud, HaMerkaz, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is located in Newark 10 minutes walk from the Newark Penn station where a train can be taken to NYC in 20 minutes time. For the crazy cheap price you get a spacious room with Flat screen TV + fridge and a good bathroom. you can go to the station by foot, shuttle or by light rail. enjoyed my week long stay very much and definitely be back if i'm in NY again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel is a little confusing getting into if you are driving. Staff are nice. Room we are in is clean, the bed is very comfortable but the age of the building is showing. Elevator is very load and slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good location, but not as nice looking and clean as other Best Western standards. But would stay again if I needed to. Was close enough to walk to Penn train station, and beat the price of staying in NYC. So that is why we stayed there. Breakfast was ok, but parking attendants werent very polite. At least my car was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Building is old, although rooms are just fine, but still need some facelift or renovation. Some of amenities in our room like the mini-fridge is not working, light bulbs in one of the lamp shades need replacement. I find the rooms not well sound-insulated because I can hear the next room's door opens and closes and it is bothersome! The lady front desk in the evening (I think her name is Jessica) is lazy and not courteous enough to help guests, she doesn't care about finding help for hotel guests. She must not be doing customer service work. The parking attendant is good and a helpful guy. The breakfast lounge attendant, Miss Crosby, is a very good and hardworking staff. She is friendly and enthusiastic towards the guests. The free daily continental breakfast is great and I like the pancakes! The hotel facilities like the business room, fitness room are good for a budget hotel like this. Location is good --walking distance to Newark Penn Station. Free coffee 24 hrs is offered at 11th floor which is awesome. And parking for hotel guests is free which is a plus!

Room Tip: Non smoking rooms in mid-floors are better if you want to get rid of noises coming from machine room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Address: 50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Robert Treat Hotel
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western
Robert Treat Newark
Robert Treat Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.